map placeholder

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

The Sugar House, Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol, BS1 2NU

(((() French
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
  • Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol - Bristol
Average
Main course: £18
Food spend: £35

Superb waitress. Ambience lovely. Bread Amazing

Alison 22 August 2019
from Bristol

View all 151 reviews

Housed in the magnificently restored Sugar House, Hotel du Vin Bristol has an award-winning bistro, specialising in stunning French specialities. Close to the upmarket waterfront area, there is an intimate private bar and a sophisticated secluded courtyard.

The Hotel du Vin menu celebrates elegant French bistro-style dining, using fresh, premium, locally sourced ingredients. Delicate starters such as tiger prawns in garlic and pastis butter give way to bold mains, which include a hearty classic cassoulet with white beans and confit duck, sole meuniere or a baked aubergine and halloumi parmigiana. A Sunday lunch menu and range of superb desserts also feature.

The Hotel du Vin wine list is a highlight of the restaurant, featuring a huge variety of carefully selected bottles. Dark leather chairs and stained-wood tables sit alongside the colourful, bustling bar area, ensuring an elegant yet relaxed ambience.

Bristol Hotel du Vin occupies an elegant collection of Grade II listed houses from the 1700’s. The epitome of elegant French dining, the bistro at Hotel du Vin offers exquisite French cuisine with subtle Mediterranean accents.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

The Sugar House, Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol, BS1 2NU

Contact +44 1174032979
Website

Make a booking

See all Hotel du Vin Restaurants

See all restaurants in Bristol

Customer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro Bristol

4.4 (((() (based on 151 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (111)
  • romantic (75)
  • lunch (58)
  • luxury (55)
  • private dining (47)
  • afternoon tea (33)
  • value (33)
  • business (32)
  • trendy (28)
  • large parties (23)
  • al fresco (12)
  • breakfast (11)
  • entertainment (8)
  • child friendly (4)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 31 July 2017 by Shelley from Bristol

    Thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The waiting staff were extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Our 3 courses were prompt with no waiting in between. It's not our first visit here and we chose Hotel du Vin to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday as we love the restaurant and it's Georgian feel. The only slight niggle was the vegetarian mains choice which none of (4 vegetarians) were very keen on. With hindsight we wish we had ordered the salad without the pancetta. But this was a set menu through an online offer to be fair. Otherwise a truly fab experience and we look forward to our next visit :)

  • ((((( 21 July 2017 by Donna from Bath

    We had the summer special menu and it was excellent quality and good choice

  • ((((( 5 July 2017 by Valerie from Bristol

    Couldn't fault it, the staff were very good and even explained options on special menu deals. The service was prompt, attentive but not intrusive and the food was excellent. We used the set menu option and couldn't believe how good it was, extremely good value and quality for the money.

  • ((((( 16 June 2017 by Alex from Bristol

    It was most enjoyable. Good food, great service and a lovely ambience. A wonderful experience

  • ((((( 16 June 2017 by Gabrielle from bristol

    Wonderful location, beautiful food, a wonderful anniversary treat

  • ((((( 8 June 2017 by Linda from Bristol

    We have been here at Hotel du Vin in Bristol several times before. From the off we were looked after & made sure we comfortable. We had a drink in the bar , cosy seats & w we're not rushed to go to our table. Once at our table, we were offered menus which we chose the fixed menu, 2 course for £17.95 or 3 course for £20.95 this is with a glass of wine of your choice. The starters was excellent, soup, the main course was huge, black & blue burger & a Caesar salad which was altered slightly to fit my partners needs, both was excellent & the service was impeccable. I decided to opt out of a pudding, I was full by then but my partner had a tart with custard ice cream, he just wished the tart was warm but it was still delicious. The ambience was very warm & cosy with candles lighting every corner, immaculately clean including the loos. We enjoyed our evening very much & will be visiting again sometime in the near future.

  • ((((( 27 April 2017 by Keith from Bristol

    Was a little unsure what it was going to be like but we absolutely loved the 'cote de porc'. The flavours were superb and it was cooked to perfection

  • ((((( 29 March 2017 by Claire from Bristol

    Great restaurant - but had no idea we were coming. Second time I've used bookatable and they don't actually appear to talk to the restaurants - so why have such a service?

  • ((((( 30 January 2017 by George from Bristol

    Food was good, Staff were friendly, pleasant evening

  • ((((* 27 January 2017 by Jason from Bristol

    Friendly and relaxed. Good quality food and drinks.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant