Reviews of Hot Stone

4.3
(based on 78 reviews)
9 Chapel Market Angel Islington, London, N1 9EZ
78 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Michael S from London
    14 March 2020

    Excellent service at Hot Stone in Islington. We were seated very fast and had a nice table by the bar. The waitress who was serving us helped us navigate the menu and recommended our 4th dish as she thought our choices wouldn't be enough between 2 people. I am glad we took her recommendation with the Aubergine dish as that was very tasty and filled us up together with our other orders. Overall, we had a great time and would love to come again/recommend to friends.

  • By Coco L from London
    20 February 2020

    Amazing service and exceptional food! Highly recommend A5 wagyu!!!

  • By Kate P from London
    19 February 2020

    Delicious

  • By Vladimirs C from London
    18 February 2020

    The atmosphere is amazing. Stuff is welcoming and chef sometimes would come and ask every visitor how was the food. And don't start me witht the food. Food is amazing.

  • By Fiona H from London
    18 February 2020

    £80 for 2 and I was still hungry afterwards. That is a con. The 3 courses and cocktail were all delicious but consisted of 2 small sliced scallops and 1 small wagyu steak plus a tiny slice of cheese cake and the cocktail. No carbs or veg. The waitress recommended that we upgrade to wagyu something which would have cost an extra £81, and looked very scornful when I told he that wasn’t possible. The food was all delicious and the decor is quite fun but it was nonetheless disappointing. That said, the lychee martini was divine. I think they need to be more honest about their offer pricing.

  • By Elizabeth G from London
    16 February 2020

    A relaxed restaurant, with nice decor - boughs of cherry blossoms on the ceiling. Delicious food, but very expensive - be warned! We loved everything. The rolls were outstanding.

  • By Francesco C from London
    16 February 2020

    great food, great experience, Elisa gave us a very friendly and personalised service. Chef was friendly and funny, I wish it wasn't closing time and we would have stayed longer one minor suggestion: colder beers please

  • By L from London
    14 February 2020

    I had a reservation for 6.45pm. However, due to transport issues I rang the restaurant and informed them i will probably be 10-15 mins late. The man who answered the phone sounded reluctant to accommodate my request initially and reminded me that he will still need the table back at 8.45pm to which I said it was fine. When I arrived at the restaurant at 6.53pm and gave my name to the front of house manager (a man) he said "you're quite late" to which i replied "I rang ahead to inform you". He then told me that they will be needing the table back at 8.15pm which surprised me. I told him i was just told on the phone that it was 8.45pm (i.e. 2 hours from my booking). He proceeds to check his computer and then says "no, no your booking is at 6.15pm". At this point, I was starting to be annoyed and whipped out my phone with my email confirmation clearly showing it was 6.45pm. He stares at it for awhile without saying a word then proceeds to ask one of the waiters to seat us. He didn't even apologise for the mix-up. Refusing to allow this to mar our evening, my wife and I proceeded to have a lovely dinner. The food was excellent. Out of all the dishes, my highlight would have to be the Wagyu beef but it's really difficult to pick a favourite because everything was lovely. Midway through the meal, the same man approaches our table with one of our dishes. As he was about to place it on the table, he notices that we had two pieces of maki roll left on one of the plates and asks us if we wanted to finish the remaining two pieces (I think this is the first time I've ever had a waiter ask me that!). To which, my wife replies "no, i would like to slowly enjoy it". I don't think he got the hint that we were annoyed and once again he didn't apologise. To cut a long story short, I thought the food was excellent but was disappointed down by the service. I think you can do better on the latter, Hot Stone. Especially when you are charging Michelin star prices for your food!

  • By Johnny E C from London
    14 February 2020

    The food quality does not match the price requested. The atmosphere was average and not very cozy.Staff is nice but you can feel their need to up-sell. I won’t go again just because what i saw online is not happening in there. Best of luck!

  • By Luis T from Sevilla
    9 February 2020

    Just fantastic, although so expensive