Reviews of Hilton York, Tower's Restaurant

4.0
(based on 103 reviews)
1 Tower Street, York, Yorkshire, YO1 9WD
103 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Paula M from Essex
    30 August 2020

    I would just say do not eat here. It is overpriced, the toilets were dirty and the chef seemed unable to prepare a sauce that was on the menu (as they had ran out of tarragon) but neglected to let us know until the meal was ready to be served. The chef kept coming up with suggestions, but as the waitress did not speak good English she could not make us understand what was going on. The manager intervened as we were unsure whether we would get a meal together. The food served was average at best, but very expensive. We ordered wine and a bottle of water (the water was warm?) they charged £25 for two glasses of wine, they did adjust the bill but the damage had been done. I wonder whether this was the actual Tower restaurant, or whether they were just getting by with a stand in chef that usually did bar food, as I cannot accept that a restaurant of this status would produce this experience.

  • By Julie H from York
    20 August 2020

    Didn’t get a lot of food for the cost in my opinion.

  • By Michelle W from Durham
    19 August 2020

    Excellent food and superb waiters. Reviewed on trip advisor after a lovely visit

  • By John Rob R from york
    10 August 2017

    We had a lovely Afternoon Tea.Food was good especially the scones and cakes. The sandwiches especially the cucumber ones had rather meagre fillings.Considering you call it the Tower restaurant we expected to see at least part of the Tower but all we got was a full length view of a tour bus and the driver cleaning it outside. we asked the waiter on arrival if it would be moving and he said that he hoped so, but it didn't.Couldn't fault the restaurant its self.

  • By Louise W from York
    6 August 2017

    My partner arranged a day out in York and treat me to afternoon tea. I suggested the Hilton but I wish I had not bothered and dined at subway instead. For £17 each we got 8 sandwich fingers so 4 each 3 cakes a scone each and bottomless coffee and tea if we wanted. The bread was dry and for £17 nothing special at all. I know afternoon tea can be pricey but we were disappointed with the what seemed to be rashens of food and the presentation. The ladies toilets were dirty also and I didn't use them instead I paid to use the public toilets round the corner. I now wish we had paid a bit more and gone to Betty's or anywhere but there. I felt bad on my partner that he was trying to treat me at a cost of £34 for what lasted 2 minutes. Won't be going back that's for sure

  • By Andre B from Retford
    29 July 2017

    Fantastic. Although a couple o pieces of the bread on both afternoon teas were dry.

  • By Geraldine F from York
    22 July 2017

    Lovely afternoon tea in a beautiful setting

  • By Tina S from York
    18 July 2017

    Good service and great food. The warm scones with cream and jam were delicious and the dainty sandwiches just the right size so you are able to try them all

  • By Jude C from Sheffield
    8 July 2017

    Had the traditional afternoon tea here and would certainly recommend it to anyone. Service was really fast and tea came with a selection of sandwiches, hot fruit scones jam and clotted cream and selection of cakes. Would definitely go back.

  • By M H from Leeds
    20 June 2017

    Very enjoyable afternoon tea. We had a choice of traditional or vegetarian sandwiches which were delicious. The staff were very pleasant and attentive.