Reviews of Second Floor Bar and Brasserie, Harvey Nichols Manchester

4.5
(based on 919 reviews)
21 New Cathedral Street Exchange Square, Manchester, North West England, M1 1AD
919 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jenny B from Manchester
    14 March 2020

    Love the food and the portions are generous. We chose from the special offer menu , 3 courses for £23 plus cocktail. Bit disappointed that it was same menu as 3 weeks previously when visited but sufficient choice. Not impressed with cocktails they lack flavour and are a bit watery. However would recommend as food consistently good.

  • By Sue B from Glossop
    7 March 2020

    Relaxed atmosphere friendly & professional staff. Food was excellent, my partner particularly enjoyed the lamb shank which he said was delicious. My only minor complaint was that I didn’t think that the soup was flavoursome enough.

  • By Gaynor W from Middleton, Manchester
    22 February 2020

    Very slow service. Waitress didn't know the order and numerous times brought us some one else's order. Had to ask several times for water. Cold seating are. Disappointed overall.

  • By Jenny B from Manchester
    22 February 2020

    Booking service was efficient and we got the window table we requested. The service was pleasant. The food was upto high standard we’ve experienced before and very good value for money . We took advantage of the 3 courses and cocktail for £23. My only criticism is that the cocktail was rather watery and disappointing.

  • By Rhia C from Manchester
    19 February 2020

    Service was great and very friendly. But the food was so overpriced for what it was - even with the 50% off deal! My partner's lamb was fine, but I had the chicken breast on lentil stew. Chicken was overcooked, dry and tasted completely unseasoned. Lentil stew had absolutely no flavour - even with me adding salt and pepper. Espresso martini was nice but I've had better. Unless there's a deal on, I wouldn't bother visiting again. There's no way I'd pay full price for that. Far nicer places in Manchester for the same budget throughout the year.

  • By Arlene L from Manchester
    15 February 2020

    Winter dining menu starters and mains delicious. My friend and I had the baked Alaska for dessert and it wasn’t good. Extremely sweet and sickly - not to be recommended. We noticed other people had not finished theirs.

  • By Karen T from Manchester
    15 February 2020

    Fab atmosphere. Excellent service. Food was amazing. We had 2 corses and cocktail for £19....... we will be back.

  • By Christine W from Manchester
    8 February 2020

    Great night. Menu and food was excellent fir the money.

  • By Angela A from Manchester
    18 January 2020

    Fab food. People and staff kept banging into my chair as I was sat near cutlery /serving station

  • By Deborah R from Swansea
    19 November 2019

    Starter Goats cheese tartlet