map placeholder

Harry's Bar Newcastle

77 Grey Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 6EF

((((* International
  •  - Tyne & Wear
  •  - Tyne & Wear
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £28

Me & my girlfriend love going to Harry's Bar in Newcastle. It's always lovely food ?? & drink at a reasonable price, great staff & atmosphere. We will always go back.

Mark 06 March 2019
from Newcastle upon Tyne

View all 46 reviews

A lively venue with a cosy but quirky interior, Harry’s Bar Newcastle serves an exciting menu that pairs British classics with dishes from around the world. From the wooden bar spanning the length of the restaurant, sample an array of glamorous cocktails and draught ales.

From the Harry’s Bar menu, try a mouth-watering steak, cooked in the charcoal Josper oven and served with smoked garlic butter, onion rings and chunky chips. Other timeless favourites include Harry’s fish and chips, rustic pizzas, and pork belly and crackling served with bubble and squeak and candied apple purée. For more international flavours, opt for the lobster risotto, duck breast cooked with Chinese spices, or roasted blackened cod marinated in miso.

The classic cocktail menu is befitting of the chic surrounds. Blending rustic brick walls and wooden pillars with plush leather seating and an extravagant bar, Harry’s is full of both colour and character.

Next to the Theatre Royal, Harry’s Newcastle sits in the heart of the city. Monument Metro Station is a 2-minute walk away whilst Newcastle Rail Station is just 10 minutes from the restaurant.

Harry's Bar Newcastle

77 Grey Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 6EF

Contact +44 1912612621
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Tyne & Wear

See all restaurants in Newcastle

Customer reviews for Harry's Bar Newcastle

4.1 ((((* (based on 46 reviews)
80% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (25)
  • lunch (24)
  • trendy (24)
  • large parties (14)
  • romantic (13)
  • value (9)
  • private dining (8)
  • business (6)
  • luxury (6)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • child friendly (3)
  • entertainment (3)
  • al fresco (2)
  • (((** 12 January 2016 by Ilene from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Ordered curry and prawns. Neither left. Had to change order. Waited an hour for main course.

  • ((((( 6 January 2016 by Faye from Newcastle upon Tyne

    My experience here as fabulous, the staff were so friendly and the food was gorgeous! It was my friends 21st birthday and the waiters brought out a chocolate brownie with a sparkler attached to it and all sang happy birthday. We would definitely dine here again!

  • ((((( 5 January 2016 by David from Newcastle

    For me one of the best features is the bar area where u can relax with a drink before u dine.customer serivce at bar area has always been to my satisfsction also.food can be abit pricey but u do know where your money has gone when u eat.

  • ((*** 31 December 2015 by Pamela from Blyth

    I think we hit an off day, plenty of people being turned away yet plenty of free tables, I think they had a staffing problem in the kitchen/waiting staff. We had booked for 1.30 but was told when we arrived at 1.20 we would have to wait 20 minutes. I was looking forward to the lovely king prawns to start and fish and chips but sadly we were told they were no longer available. The table next to me waited over half an hour between starter and main. We were asked if we would like to see the dessert menu and then waited fifteen minutes for it not to appear so paid the bill and left. I think the management hadn't staffed for what is actually a bank holiday for a lot of workers who don't work a Saturday and had this day off instead. What a shame as we normally enjoy dining here and had recommended it to friends. My ratings are on today's experience.

  • ((((( 8 December 2015 by Kathleen from Newcastle upon tyne

    Its the 2nd time here for sunday lunch the portions are great plenty vegetables i brought a friend who has booked us in for this sunday 13th for 8 of us thats how impressed we were the staff are friendly have chats and joke even on leaving walked us to the door to say goodbye amazing .Harrys bar dont change a thing you have it so right .

  • ((((* 30 November 2015 by Julie from Corbridge

    Great food good service fantastic atmosphere we went on a very busy Saturday.

  • (((** 18 November 2015 by Alison from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Very noisy even when large parties left

  • ((((( 11 November 2015 by Olli from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Had a lovely Sunday dinner at Harry's bar, pumpkin soup was lovely and a well presented main

  • ((((* 6 November 2015 by Allyn from Newcastle upon Tyne

    .

  • (((** 19 October 2015 by Tammy from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Food was delicious and we will definitely return. Only constructive criticism is that some of the staff (not all) did not come across friendly. For instance, when we paid the bill I gave the lady some cash and specifically said that was for a tip and the lady didn't even say thank you!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant