map placeholder

Harry's Bar Newcastle

77 Grey Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 6EF

((((* International
  •  - Tyne & Wear
  •  - Tyne & Wear
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £28

The 4 of us came on Saturday night and the food and service was tremendous. As always I had the haggis scotch egg which is my absolute favourite starter. My other half had the steak with the Diane sauce which was cooked in front of us. Perfection! Thank you. See you again soon xx

Joanne 29 April 2019
from Newcastle

View all 48 reviews

A lively venue with a cosy but quirky interior, Harry’s Bar Newcastle serves an exciting menu that pairs British classics with dishes from around the world. From the wooden bar spanning the length of the restaurant, sample an array of glamorous cocktails and draught ales.

From the Harry’s Bar menu, try a mouth-watering steak, cooked in the charcoal Josper oven and served with smoked garlic butter, onion rings and chunky chips. Other timeless favourites include Harry’s fish and chips, rustic pizzas, and pork belly and crackling served with bubble and squeak and candied apple purée. For more international flavours, opt for the lobster risotto, duck breast cooked with Chinese spices, or roasted blackened cod marinated in miso.

The classic cocktail menu is befitting of the chic surrounds. Blending rustic brick walls and wooden pillars with plush leather seating and an extravagant bar, Harry’s is full of both colour and character.

Next to the Theatre Royal, Harry’s Newcastle sits in the heart of the city. Monument Metro Station is a 2-minute walk away whilst Newcastle Rail Station is just 10 minutes from the restaurant.

Harry's Bar Newcastle

77 Grey Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 6EF

Contact +44 1912612621
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Tyne & Wear

See all restaurants in Newcastle

Customer reviews for Harry's Bar Newcastle

4.1 ((((* (based on 48 reviews)
81% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (25)
  • lunch (25)
  • trendy (24)
  • large parties (14)
  • romantic (13)
  • value (9)
  • private dining (8)
  • business (6)
  • luxury (6)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • child friendly (3)
  • entertainment (3)
  • al fresco (2)
  • (((** 3 May 2016 by Elizabeth from Sunderland

    Have eaten here a few times now, food always good, however, was dissapointed this time with the service, was a busy night, but we waited over an hour for our main course after we had eaten starters, not good!! Also had to ask the waiter for parmesan cheese, as not offered.

  • ((((( 11 April 2016 by Lorraine from Ashington

    Food and service first class , dinning area very spacious accommodating parties of all sizes .....

  • (((** 6 April 2016 by Shirley from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Service excellent. Food ok nothing I would class as outstanding. We did have the special however. ambience good.

  • (**** 1 April 2016 by Lynn from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Arrived on time for booked meal at 2.30 pm only to be told they thought it was 2.00 pm. Kept waiting then shown to a table that wasn't ready. Waited ages between starters & main meal ie an hour. One person had to miss desert & leave as took too long! Complained & was given meal at discount price to compensate. However the whole experience was not enjoyable.

  • ((((( 15 March 2016 by Jennie from Durham

    Excellent good service, fab food had a fantastic day and Sunday lunch was spot on. Would recommend and visit again.

  • ((*** 10 March 2016 by Karen from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Realise it was Mother's Day and busy but waited over an hour for main course and staff were not overly concerned

  • ((((* 7 March 2016 by Carly from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Lovely food and drinks. Really good atmosphere and could hear yourself and friends speaking. We did wait a little while for our main course after starter but was probably better there was a good gap between so we didn't feel too stuffed.

  • ((((( 7 March 2016 by Jane from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Fantastic food and buzzing atmosphere

  • ((((( 7 March 2016 by David from Gateshead

    We visit Harrys on a fairly regular basis
    And generally we are happy with the experience, however I am amazed that
    nobody has thought of putting a sign at the side door entrance area to tell would be Diners that they need to go to the opposite side of the restaurant to get a Table, this results in groups of people standing around looking puzzled until some staff happen to be passing by to tell them they are in the wrong place!!This has been going on since we first started visiting Harrys .It also means that more people than necessary use that Door making the Restaurant area quite cold ..
    Our food yesterday was ok apart from My fish and Chips being very greasy compared to what I've had in the past and bearing in mind the cost I feel it should be much better than it was yesterday ..My Wife had the same meal and hers was fine so maybe it was a one off.It hasn't put me off going back but did spoil it a bit yesterday ..
    I do like Harrys and had my 60th
    birthday celebrations there last year and I'm sure will be going back many more times in the future ..

  • ((((( 7 March 2016 by Lesley from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Beautiful restaurant fantastic service and superb food. A little gem.x

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant