Guide MICHELIN 2020

HRiSHi at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House

(11 Reviews)
Crook Rd, Windermere, Lancs., LA23 3NF
British, Afternoon Tea
A la carte menu

Average

Main course: £18
Food spend: £38

Opening hours

Monday to Sunday: 18:00 - 21:00.

Restaurant description

With 3 coveted AA Rosettes and a Michelin star to its name, HRiSHi restaurant offers relaxed fine dining amidst stunning Lake District scenery. Packed with traditional British flavours, quality local ingredients make up the exquisitely presented dishes.

The HRiSHi menu showcases an array of refined but wholesome choices. Each dish is carefully matched with a wine and guests can browse the walk-in cellar of over 200 wines from 13 countries.

Afternoon tea at the Gilpin Hotel and Lake House oozes the timeless elegance of its tranquil, rural setting. A selection of finger sandwiches, cakes and scones, are joined by champagnes, sparkling wines and infusion teas.

HRiSHi restaurant in Windermere offers an imaginative celebration of some of the finest Lake District produce and West Coast seafood. Lake Windermere is just a 5-minute drive whilst Kendal is 20 minutes away.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for HRiSHi at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
4.8
(based on 11 reviews)

100%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (4)
  • al fresco (1)
  • dinner (7)
  • lunch (4)
  • luxury (7)
  • private dining (3)
  • romantic (7)
  • trendy (1)
  • value (1)
  • views (1)
  • By LIANA P from LONDON
    13 April 2019

    Excellent food and impeccable service in a beautiful setting

  • By Pam P from London
    3 July 2018

    Excellent food and wine in a very relaxed atmosphere

  • By JB B from California
    17 April 2018

    Excellent service, cuisine and wines.

  • By Rachael H from Rochdale
    27 August 2017

    Absolutely fantastic

  • By Caroline H from Liverpool
    21 May 2017

    Exceptional on every level!!!

  • By pam F from Carlisle
    18 May 2017

    We had a fantastic evening. We have eaten in some top restaurants over the years both at home and abroad, but last night was one, if not the best ever. The food, from the canapes right through to the dessert was just AMAZING - beautifully presented, clever mixes of ingredients, often with subtle spices running through, but always letting the main ingredient shine through. The service hits just the right balance of efficient but friendly and relaxing. Best thing we ate? Really hard to say as it was all so good, but the little "shepherds pie" served with the lamb main course probably take the prize. They were just bursting with intense lamb flavour. Each dessert was picture perfect and tasted every bit as good as they looked. A fine end to the meal. Great wine list too and not silly mark up. Thank you all at The Gilpin. We will be back for sure.

  • By Christine W from Poulton-le-Fylde
    27 April 2017

    Four of us enjoyed delicious afternoon tea in beautiful surroundings and would gladly recommend this experience to anyone. The service was superb and attention to detail second to none.

  • By M from Zürich
    18 April 2017

    Food was very good. Rather small portions for a 3 couse dinner.

  • By Patricia T from Holmfirth
    28 November 2016

    A very different dining experience, when I booked lunch at the Gilpin I expected to be in the main restaurant but just 2 weeks before our booking I received a call to inform me that lunch was now only available at the "very new" Gilpin Spice. As we were keen to sample the Gilpin's delights on our sojourn in the Lakes, I of course said yes! This restaurant delights all of the senses from the dramatic garden design through to the restaurant and finally the oh! so! tempting menu. With friendly, informative guidance from the staff, we enjoyed the most flavoursome meal which was all about taste and not heat! Will consider returning even though after leaving positive comments and a generous tip we had to find our own coats!!!!!! Would have given 5 stars but for this, please remember service is everything, if the chef has an off day tomorrow may be be better, but poor service is inexcusable! You are not McDonald's!!

  • By RoCo C from London
    15 August 2016

    Excellent dinner

Restaurant Location Map
HRiSHi at Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Crook Rd, Windermere, Lancs., LA23 3NF

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse
    809m
    The Wild Boar Grill & Smokehouse
  2. Gilpin Spice

    Gilpin Spice

    Asian
    (84 Reviews)
    6m
    Gilpin Spice
  3. The Lakeview Restaurant

    The Lakeview Restaurant

    British
    (0 Reviews)
    2.8km
    The Lakeview Restaurant
  4. Low Wood Bay

    Low Wood Bay

    European
    (42 Reviews)
    7.5km
    Low Wood Bay
  5. Waterhead Bar & Grill

    Waterhead Bar & Grill

    British
    (50 Reviews)
    9km
    Waterhead Bar & Grill