map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
Main course: £22
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Pre theatre dining trip with tremendous service and a beautiful restaurant hidden from the strip. The apple mash, pork steak and spinach was lovely and highly recommended.

Chris Iddles 16 February 2018
from Crawley

View all 705 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 705 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (486)
  • views (447)
  • lunch (325)
  • romantic (221)
  • luxury (204)
  • value (171)
  • business (169)
  • private dining (128)
  • afternoon tea (111)
  • large parties (100)
  • trendy (83)
  • child friendly (46)
  • breakfast (37)
  • entertainment (32)
  • al fresco (12)
  • ((((( 24 November 2017 by Dawn Newton from essex

    great location, views were ok but not amazing, depends on where you are seated in the restaurant but we were happily moved to a window seat that was vacant. portions were plentiful and the choices were really good. couldve eaten anything on menu

  • ((((* 23 November 2017 by Keith Davis from CHIPPENHAM

    Very pleasant experience nice staff good food

  • ((((( 21 November 2017 by Nita Patel from Bexley

    When we came into the restaurant we were greeted quite promptly, and seated. Great service by our very helpful waiter, who was Aldo very entertaining,. Nothing was to hard for him to our every needs,. The food was excellent and delicious, and the sticky toffee pudding, was the best I’ve ever tasted , and I have traveled a lot. Will definitely will going again and have recommended to everyone I’ve met since going. Definitely 5 star restaurant. Though it was child friendly, which I have no problem with, there was one child in particular there screaming intimitently, and staff did not ask the parents to keep her quite, she was about 8 years old,other children there were well behaved

  • ((((* 20 November 2017 by Keith Parish from Wallington

    Very enjoyable night, food was very good and service excellent.

  • ((((* 20 November 2017 by Beverly Gauntlett from Orpington

    Booked a table for 6 here on a Saturday night and met first in the bar for cocktails and mocktails. The bar service was very efficient and the drinks nicely presented. I would say the prices are comparable to any high end establishment in London. The restaurant was buzzing with a lively atmosphere but service here was very slow; 1 hour + before receiving our starters! However the food was worth waiting for! I can’t describe all courses for six people but suffice to say the flavours were amongst the best I have ever had! I had the poached pear with caremelised salted walnuts with a Stilton cream which was superb, followed by the spatchcock chicken which was extremely succulent with intense flavours. Sides were an extra cost, which is the case in a lot of restaurants, and makes an inexpensive course quite pricy. Wine was mid price for London, our Verdejo was £35. The restaurant is situated in the Marriott Hotel, County Hall and is a fabulous building with beautiful Thames side views. A great place to go for a special occasion ....... or any occasion if you dont mind paying that little bit more!

  • ((((* 19 November 2017 by Janette Rees from London

    Treated a friend who had a special birthday to a 'BookaTable deal' dinner prior to a visit to the National Theatre. Given a table overlooking the river as I had requested so very pleased. The food was delicious and well presented and we enjoyed our meal. The service was ok but could have been better and a bit of a rush to get to the theatre on time. Although our waitress was very pleasant, got the impression she was new to the job or unaware of certain 'etiquettes'. Thought the 12.5% service charge a bit steep in the circumstances compared to, for example, a similar deal we had enjoyed at the Savoy where service was impeccable but overall good value for money.

  • ((((* 15 November 2017 by Shannon Palmer from London

    Lovely setting and the food on the deal menu was excellent for the price

  • ((((( 15 November 2017 by Barbara from Ipswich


  • ((((( 14 November 2017 by Mandy Gray from Essex

    Friends a party of 6 booking for the Star Deal after visiting London. Arriving in good time for our table reservation we were asked if we would like a drink at the bar lounge first. It was a friendly and exceptional lounge with a mixture of furniture and well stocked bar. It was cosy and the scenery from the windows was amazing nightlife view of the Thames. After we dined in the large well lit wooden panelled restaurant. The service was very good and the food on the star deal was delicious though we did need to order extra veg sides. Service was friendly and promt. Well presented and fair portions, only issue we had eating on the latter part of the evening the food of the day had sold out, but we were offered an alternative of salmon.
    The starter and main were not rushed salons steak and chicken succulent. The restaurant was full to capacity yet we had a very smooth service. Only one small blip was the apple mash was only warm when it was delivered.
    Desert to round off the evening and a free cocktail of Cava mixed with Gin liquor and a blueberry.
    Once we asked for the bill we were shocked to fin a service charge of £47.50 for the 6 of us. We challenged this as this was 12.5%
    Please note that the spirits were quite expensive a single basic spirit and mixer was between £11.50- £13.
    So 3 drinks each during our meal did work out quite a lot so be aware before predrinking!
    We had the drinks added to our table tab as they suggested so we were not aware of prices. Otherwise it was faultless and a lovely evening with knowledgeable staff.

  • (**** 14 November 2017 by Wendy Baker from Shripshire

    Won’t be visiting again. Overpriced, worst steak my partner has had for 10 years! My fish was only partly cooked. Would definitely not recommend.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.


Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant


There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant