map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

The food was lovely and the service was amazing, Muhammed, and Andrea (please forgive any misspelling) were very friendly and made every effort to make the meal special.

Charlie 08 August 2018
from London

View all 755 reviews

Found in the historic, 5-star London Marriott Hotel County Hall, Gillray’s Steakhouse & Bar is best known for its stunning panoramic views, as well as its delicious Aberdeen Angus steaks, aged for 35 days from O’Sheas Butchers. With its prime location on the Southbank, diners can tuck into their steak while taking in views of the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye.

The Gillray’s menu begins with the like of hand-chopped steak tartare, followed by an array of steak cuts for mains. Bone-in fillet, prime rib or t-bone are joined by bones options of fillet, sirloin or ribeye, as well as special butcher’s cuts of skirt and rump steak.

Gillray’s London also offer a range of sides and steak toppers, including-triple cooked chips, Lyburn dauphinoise, tenderstem broccoli, toasted almonds and chilli. Sauces include red wine, Oxford blue, peppercorn and béarnaise.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 755 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (515)
  • views (473)
  • lunch (351)
  • romantic (232)
  • luxury (211)
  • value (180)
  • business (178)
  • private dining (137)
  • afternoon tea (116)
  • large parties (103)
  • trendy (88)
  • child friendly (49)
  • breakfast (39)
  • entertainment (33)
  • al fresco (13)
  • ((((* 11 April 2018 by Janette from Egham

    Delicious food. Only slight problem was the staff seeming unable to serve our dessert (Crumble) hot, even after it had been returned it was still only warm.

  • ((((( 9 April 2018 by Veronica from Croydon

    Fabulous welcome from the doorman all the way through the meal and bar service. Great value for money and nice view ove4 the river. Even able to change booking from a table for two to a table for four just a few hours before we were due to dine,

  • (**** 5 April 2018 by John from London

    How on earth this place achieved 2 AA Rosettes I cannot imagine. This description offered by Bookatable gives the impression of a premium dining experience in the capital, but the actuality is far from the promises made.

    We dined after the theatre and were looking forward to old-school ambience and top notch food. To begin with the ambience is very disappointing. 1920's architecture is usually very appealing but any authenticity has been surgically removed by the owners. The lighting, the placement of what looks like an oversized modern serving station and the unremarkable views add up to an atmosphere that is a cross between a 1960's school dining room and a 3* hotel breakfast buffet room.

    While to begin we got a glass of something bubbly that we took to be prosecco there was no bread offered or given. We ordered two rib-eye steaks after being told the rump was unavailable. The set price menu did not include any sauce for the steak or any vegetables - these were extra and we opted for fries at £5 per portion! Our steaks arrived and we were immediately crestfallen by their small size, their apparent dryness and the amount of fat contained within them - this did not appear to be the fare of a restaurant sourcing meat "fresh from local producers and carefully prepared by our team of Steak Chefs". Alongside there were three vine tomatoes and a piece of bone containing marrow. As we expected the steaks were only 70% edible and were not juicy at all, in fact they gave the impression of having been reheated. Similarly the tomatoes were cool and did not seem freshly cooked.

    Our desserts continued the downward trend. My wife's fruit crumble was a thick layer of biscuity something laying over a smearing of red stuff. My sponge pudding was heavy and solid at the bottom - again reheated food served without care. I returned it and received an apology.

    There are a hundred better places to eat in London than Gilrays. Choose one of them instead.

  • ((((* 3 April 2018 by Frazer from London

    The meal and staff were excellent, good views across the Thames. Watch out for the extras Chips £15??? Sauce £3, Veg each £5

  • ((((( 3 April 2018 by Craig from London

    Apart from the amazing Easter display that greets you as you first enter the hotel, lunch was amazing, food was sensational and service was excellent. Great experience and not bad views either.

  • (**** 2 April 2018 by Debbie from London

    The food experience was poor and the offer misleading and if I had time I would refer to Trading Standards.The menu was limited and everything that you would expect to accompany a main course was extra money. So we ordered steak but had to pay an additional £10.00 for peppercorn sauce and chips .We ended up paying £50.00 per head for food which was poor. The chips were like bullets and the steak was very tough.We could have had a genuine fine dining experience for the price we paid and I will not be booking via your site again because you should check this sort of deal out before you upsell to customers .

  • (**** 2 April 2018 by Alexandru from Didcot

    Not very happy about my experience there. Took over 2 h for 3 course meal to come out, starter and main pretty good times but for pud we had to wait over an hour and the restaurant was not full been 9.30 allready. The people next to us very loud, nobody made anythink in thr last hour at our stay there. Very disapponted overall.

  • ((((( 1 April 2018 by Nick from Lincoln

    Good very well presented and tasted great. Excellent service. Nice atmosphere.

  • ((((( 31 March 2018 by Jules from London

    Attentive and helpful staff made the lunch choices easy and enjoyable

  • ((((( 26 March 2018 by Catherine from Corby

    lovely meal with very attentive staff.Lovely experience and would highly recommend ?

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant