map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott London County Hall or Queen’s Walk, London, SE1 7PB

((((* British
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Great food, good service, good views!

Rishabh 13 May 2019
from london

View all 832 reviews

Found in the historic, 5-star London Marriott Hotel County Hall, Gillray’s Steakhouse & Bar is best known for its stunning panoramic views, as well as its delicious Aberdeen Angus steaks, aged for 35 days from O’Sheas Butchers. With its prime location on the Southbank, diners can tuck into their steak while taking in views of the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye.

The Gillray’s menu begins with the like of hand-chopped steak tartare, followed by an array of steak cuts for mains. Bone-in fillet, prime rib or t-bone are joined by bones options of fillet, sirloin or ribeye, as well as special butcher’s cuts of skirt and rump steak.

Gillray’s London also offer a range of sides and steak toppers, including-triple cooked chips, Lyburn dauphinoise, tenderstem broccoli, toasted almonds and chilli. Sauces include red wine, Oxford blue, peppercorn and béarnaise.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott London County Hall or Queen’s Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 832 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (567)
  • views (512)
  • lunch (381)
  • romantic (246)
  • luxury (226)
  • value (198)
  • business (191)
  • private dining (145)
  • afternoon tea (130)
  • large parties (108)
  • trendy (91)
  • child friendly (55)
  • breakfast (40)
  • entertainment (35)
  • al fresco (13)
  • (**** 2 January 2019 by Andrea from London

    Very bad service ! Food was not great ! Steak over cooked and at d back ! Starter had main ingredient he oate missing! Warm champagne served ! Complaint many times waiter ignored !!
    Very disappointed!!!

  • ((((( 1 January 2019 by Chris from London

    .

  • ((((( 26 December 2018 by Natalia from Surrey

    Good food, fab presentation and great service, location was making it special

  • ((((* 24 December 2018 by Kimberley from London

    Had a lovely Christmas meal here. Location is perfect, beautiful hotel with a lovely view of Big Ben (shame it was still under scaffolding). The food was absolutely gorgeous, great value and good quality. We did have a slight issue, where my steak was over cooked, but the staff were very kind and took it back and made me a fresh steak which was much better. Staff were very attentive and lovely. Drinks were nice, if a little over priced. We had a great deal, 3 courses and a glass of sparkling wine for £28, would definitely recommend.

  • ((((( 23 December 2018 by Patricia from Hornchurch

    Very good. Great value for money, staff v attentive and lovely surroundings are lovely..

  • (**** 20 December 2018 by Anne from London

    I started seated at the bar- had trouble getting served- bar understaffed. Excuse was ‘we’re really busy’. After being neglected at the bar we sat down to dinner. Food was ok- meat was nice. But service and ambience were both awful. We didn’t order starters, and our mains didn’t arrive until an hour after we were seated. Waiter and floor manager both apologised for the delay individually- but damage done. Dining room was super noisy And our table was just opposite to the scullery/dumbwaiters which are located in the middle of the restaurant. Yuck. We were served and billed for a side we didn’t order. Overall impersonal service- won’t be going back. Not a great dining experience.

  • ((((* 18 December 2018 by Magda from London

    We went for the set menu offer of 3 courses and a cocktail for £28/head. Myself, my husband, two daughters and my mother all enjoyed the meal. The atmosphere was lovely: special without being stuffy. The food was delicious and the red wine (a Malbec) was excellent too. We were a little surprised at the bill as 5 x £28 = £140 plus about £40 for the wine makes £180 in my head but we were charged £225. Unfortunately, we didn't spot this until later so not a lot to be done now which is a shame. That's why my value rating below is 2 stars instead of 5. If the bill had been correct I would say it was definitely great value for money especially with such a gorgeous location and setting.

  • (((** 17 December 2018 by Robert from Guildford

    Underwhelming. Arrived early so decided to have a drink in the bar beforehand. All tables were reserved as a party was due for afternoon tea. Eventually we were offered a table and the bar person said someone would be over to take our order. We waited for 15 minutes no one came, so we opted to go to our table and order drinks from there.The three course fixed price menu had limited choice, but everyone found something to their liking. Starters of soup, duck pate and mackerel were ok but quite small. Mains of fillet steak tail (£5 supplement) and rib eye steak were quite dry. Medium rare was requested but arrived medium well. Gammon was nice but had a sinew running through it. All of the meals were warm at best perhaps due to the fact that they had arrived via dumb waiter from a remote kitchen. The lemon meringue pie dessert had a very thick casing which was difficult to break but tasted good. Chocolate torte and lemon posset were excellent. Service in the restaurant was quite good - shame about the bar service on our arrival.

    In summary, we were underwhelmed by the experience.

  • ((((* 12 December 2018 by Neil from London

    Smart but relaxed environment. Polite, attentive and smiling staff. Food is very good but not exceptional. The cutlery needs changing/sharpening, even the prongs of the forks are blunt. This gives the impression of tough food and difficult to cut, though this is not actually the case!

  • ((((( 11 December 2018 by Debbie from London

    Fabulous food and staff
    Just did not get the lovely view that was on the main picture!!!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant