map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Fabulous food, fabulous setting and fabulous staff.

Sandy Lane 11 October 2017
from London

View all 636 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 636 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (440)
  • views (402)
  • lunch (296)
  • romantic (204)
  • luxury (185)
  • value (154)
  • business (153)
  • private dining (119)
  • afternoon tea (102)
  • large parties (87)
  • trendy (74)
  • child friendly (43)
  • breakfast (35)
  • entertainment (30)
  • al fresco (9)
  • ((((( 16 August 2017 by Jan Fox from London

    Good was amazing all 6 of us enjoyed the food. Presented beautifully

  • ((*** 14 August 2017 by Trish Dyson from London

    Overall rather disappointing. Venue difficult to find, not signposted from South Bank. We were seated at a reasonable table - the place was very quiet - and offered water. I asked to have the included cocktail straightaway before we ordered our food. After about 10 minutes the waitress asked if we were ready to order and I asked again for the cocktail, she smiled and said of course, and took our order then oddly asked if we would like to order desserts at the same time! Shortly after we were served a little nibble of a sort of Yorkshire pudding stuffed with cheese with a yoghurt dip (quite pleasant) then hurrah - the cocktail. It was nicely served on a little tray of crushed ice with raspberries, in a jam jar with two straws which were just a bit too short, and was, I think, a drop of fruit infused gin topped up with sparkling wine. For starters I had the crayfish cocktail which was very tasty, and my friend had the ham hock with butter beans which she said was nice but underseasoned and needed dressing, I would have expected both to be served with bread but neither were. For main course we both ordered steaks, one rare and one medium rare, both came what I would consider medium well done, my friend ate hers it mine was sent back and replaced with no quibbles, but a poor show from a so called Steakhouse! The chips, which we requested plain rather than salt and vinegar as on the menu, were good. Deserts were ok. Three scoops of icecream were served on top of each other in the same enamel vessel as the chips came in, which seemed odd to me, but apparently the salted caramel was very good. The bill was £52 per person with a shared bottle of Malbec - all in all ok but not really recommended.

  • (((** 14 August 2017 by Timothy Francis from London

    Really nice bar and dining room, with views of Westminster. Overall the food was not up to the standards I would prefer. Service was very good, the food very well presented, but I felt underwhelmed by it all. The flavours quite average, no wow factor. The location, ambience, cocktails and service pushes it into the fine dining category, but don't expect to have your taste buds tantalised or excited.

  • (((** 14 August 2017 by Connie from London

    Disappointing - I booked this deal for my boyfriends birthday and we were both really looking forward to the steak. Not only was it tough and chewy, but the starter and dessert portions were really small. The waitress also forgot about our complimentary cocktails until the end of the meal.

  • ((((* 14 August 2017 by Collette from London

    Excellent service and food. Fantastic view of the Thames and Big Ben.

  • ((((* 13 August 2017 by Justine Gooch from Milton Keynes

    Food was lovely, very friendly staff but bit awkward having to discuss what was in my deal as no drinks arrived, then had to chase drinks along as still not arrived after starter. Had to chase bill along too, took ages to get anyone's attention. Staff were lovely though

  • ((((( 12 August 2017 by Phillip Cookson from London

    Very good food and excellent value. Service was friendly helpful and relaxed - ideal balance between being too rushed and too slow.

  • ((((( 12 August 2017 by Nat Gray from London

    The food was delicious. The pork T-bone steak was highly recommended. Service was superb, we were really looked after

  • (**** 9 August 2017 by Eric Turner from London

    Great location in former, elegant County Hall on the banks of the Thames, with views across the River to the Houses of Parliament and Hungerford Bridge.
    Great food, service and ambiance and an excellent bar attached. Terrific value for money and a great place for impressing guests!

  • (**** 9 August 2017 by Daryl Herbert from London

    It was cold, air conditioning too strong, slow, waiters & waitresses young not really knowledgeable. Food mediocre price very high for what we received portions quite small for the price. My wife had the pear and it was the size of half a small egg. Steak small. Duck pate great taste but the design was for effect and portion small

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant