map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Great location overlooking the Thames, the bar has a wow factor and the service was very good.
The meal was well presented and tasty! would recommend this to friends and tourists.

Gary 30 April 2018
from London

View all 723 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 723 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (493)
  • views (453)
  • lunch (334)
  • romantic (223)
  • luxury (204)
  • value (173)
  • business (171)
  • private dining (130)
  • afternoon tea (111)
  • large parties (101)
  • trendy (84)
  • child friendly (46)
  • breakfast (37)
  • entertainment (32)
  • al fresco (12)
  • ((*** 6 February 2018 by Julie from Cheshire

    Service excellent.
    Had set meal at £30, went with
    3 other friends, starters good, sweet good, but the main courses very poor my husband had the pork, which he said was very dry, my son and I had the
    Steaks, which to be honest saying this was a steak house,
    They were terrible, very fatty, my son even said his steak looked like it had a tumour on it,
    We did tell the waiter about the
    Steak, and he agreed with us.
    To be fair they did take off the
    Price of one steak off the bill.

  • ((((( 4 February 2018 by Adelina from London

    The food was good and the service impeccable. The first 2 dishes (starter and main) came quite slow, but we managed to finish in time (2 hours for a 3 course meal).

  • (**** 2 February 2018 by Robin from London

    Disappointed

  • ((((( 25 January 2018 by Alan from Dunmow

    Dined from the set menu which was good value. The steak and chips were delicious. It was also appreciated that you could buy decent wine by the 500ml size. Service was attentive and friendly although the restaurant was quiet when we were there.

  • ((((* 23 January 2018 by Sally from london

    We were late and they were very accommodating. Food was good. Lovely environment

  • ((((( 22 January 2018 by Julia from Burgess Hill

    Excellent food and service

  • ((((( 9 January 2018 by Paula from Basingstoke

    I visited Gilray's Steakhouse and Bar on Sunday 7 January 2018 for a close friends Evening Dinner Birthday Treat. The service was impeccable and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The meal was lovely I had the Mackerel for starters and the Steak for Main followed by the Sticky Toffee pudding and ice cream. The portion sizes were just right and the view of the London Eye and Embankment from the table window was great too.

    I made a special request to have Happy Birthday piped on my friends dessert choice... The chef went one better by creating a separate beautiful dessert of a pecan pie served with fresh fruit at no extra charge with Happy Birthday piped on the plate. I was very impressed with this touch which made the occasion even more special.

    I would recommend this venue and would visit again. It is very close to Waterloo Station so perfect if you want a venue close to this location. I would book again if I was visiting London on a Theatre or shopping visit as I go quite regularly for this type of activity.

  • ((((( 9 January 2018 by Bill from Guildford

    Me and my partner had a wonder experience at Gillrays. The location is amazing, with a wonderful view of the Thames from our table and the hotel it self is lovely. Our waiter was wonderful and very attentive, it made the evening very special.

    Now for the food. To start I had the soup of the day which was butternut squash and to my surprise it came with a slice of cheese in the bowl before the soup was poured, it was a good soup. For main I had the steak(medium) and it was wonderful, boasting incredible flavors as you might expect from a rib-eye cut, but I would honestly say this was one of the best rib-eyes I've ever had. For desert I had the chocolate mousse, which was average but you would expect the main attraction of a 'steakhouse' to be the beef and I was not disappointed.

    Overall a wonderful place, perhaps a bit of a hidden gem as its tucked away in the Marriott hotel.

  • (((** 7 January 2018 by Alison from Carshalton

    Overall it was a pleasant occasion, with warm and welcoming staff and the usual lovely ambience. My meal - cod in lobster sauce - was okay, but could have been hotter, and the sauce could have done with thickening. But one of my three guests had a very poor meal of chicken that was dry and overcooked, about which she has complained. She also asked for the mashed potatoes to be replaced with dauphinoise potatoes, which were on the menu, but her meal came with mash, and she was told the kitchen couldn't do the switch. They took £4 off the bill in respect of her complaints..

  • (((** 7 January 2018 by Tracey from London

    We visited same time last year & had wonderful food & excellent service..... not sure what has happened in a year but we were a bit disappointed. Staff were still friendly & helpful but the overall feel of the restaurant has gone downhill. The steaks weren’t anything on our last visit & presentation was also quite poor. Shame as we were joined by friends & had highly recommended the restaurant.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant