Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

(866 Reviews)
Westminster Bridge Road Entrance via Marriott London County Hall or Queen’s Walk, London, SE1 7PB
British, Steaks & Grills
A la carte menu

Top offer

Star Deal - 3 courses & a cocktail £28 per person

Available lunch & dinner Mon-Sun until 31st January 2020, subject to availability. Dishes from a set menu & subject to change. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Average

Main course: £22
Food spend: £40

Opening hours

Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

Found in the historic, 5-star London Marriott Hotel County Hall, Gillray’s Steakhouse & Bar is best known for its stunning panoramic views, as well as its delicious Aberdeen Angus steaks, aged for 35 days from O’Sheas Butchers. With its prime location on the Southbank, diners can tuck into their steak while taking in views of the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye.

The Gillray’s menu begins with the like of hand-chopped steak tartare, followed by an array of steak cuts for mains. Bone-in fillet, prime rib or t-bone are joined by bones options of fillet, sirloin or ribeye, as well as special butcher’s cuts of skirt and rump steak.

Gillray’s London also offer a range of sides and steak toppers, including-triple cooked chips, Lyburn dauphinoise, tenderstem broccoli, toasted almonds and chilli. Sauces include red wine, Oxford blue, peppercorn and béarnaise.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar
4.2
(based on 866 reviews)

88%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (133)
  • al fresco (13)
  • breakfast (41)
  • business (194)
  • child friendly (56)
  • dinner (590)
  • entertainment (36)
  • large parties (111)
  • lunch (398)
  • luxury (231)
  • private dining (147)
  • romantic (251)
  • trendy (93)
  • value (211)
  • views (536)
  • By Deborah M from Hampshire
    9 November 2019

    Lovely ambiance Attentive staff Set menu good value for money

  • By Sophia C from London
    29 October 2019

    Had a brilliant time. A beautiful view out the window. Excellent service, one of the best I’ve had. So helpful and kind. Food was delicious. They have the best triple cut chips ever! Will definitely be visiting again!

  • By Kate P from London
    28 October 2019

    The set menu is very good value for money. Lovely setting and location for the price.

  • By Becca S from London
    28 October 2019

    Very good meals on the set menu. Celebrated our anniversary and gave us complimentary drink and dessert. Great food and had a wonderful evening. Even let me change to non alcoholic drinks like fresh juice.

  • By Sandra H from Porthmadog
    26 October 2019

    It’s a fantastic hidden restaurant, on the Thames with breathtaking views. This was my 9th visit and everything was first class as always. Staff can’t do enough for you we had Juergen, Silvia and Stijn looking after us and they made sure everything was as it should be. Food was amazing as always and plenty of it too. They serve the best steaks that I’ve ever tasted. Can’t wait until my next visit to London as I’ll will Definitely be visiting and it will be my 10th time at this first class restaurant.

  • By Deborah M from London
    22 October 2019

    Good service We booked a pre theatre offer advertised for £23 for 2 courses, the bill was presented for 3 courses and whilst we we discussing this a new bill for 2 courses was presented totalli g £83!! Even though we did order two side vegetables and glass of wine( a free glass should have been included according to the advertised offer). A bit of a rip off though the waiter was very attentive.

  • By Josephine M from Grantham
    17 October 2019

    Gorgeous meal lovely staff. Great location with views over the Thames. Plus they brought my daughter a plate of two delicious desserts with Happy birthday written in chocolate as a surprise treat.

  • By Linsey A from Derby
    13 October 2019

    Good Steak

  • By Christopher C from London
    11 October 2019

    I had my birthday dinner with the family at Gillray's. I have to admit that I was impressed by the food, service, the ambience, and the location having been to the Hotel many times in the past but not eaten. The attention of the excellent Dutch waiter was very good both in terms of his knowledge and attention to the needs of my guests. The price of the overall meal was surprisingly good value and the final arrival of the birthday brownie was the 'icing on the cake' during the near tropical downpour of the whole day!

  • By Cristina P from Lisbon
    4 October 2019

    The dinner was fine but nothing special for the price we have paid. I excepeted a better meat.

Restaurant Location Map
Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar
Westminster Bridge Road Entrance via Marriott London County Hall or Queen’s Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Available offers

  • Star Deal - 3 courses & a cocktail £28 per person
  • Free Flowing G&T Afternoon Tea £43 per person
  • Steak & chips £15 per person
  • Sunday Roast £22 per person
  • Theatre Menu - 2 courses and a glass of sparkling wine for £23
  • Christmas Day Carvery £89 per person
  • New Year’s Eve Gala Dinner - £550 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Tattershall Castle

    The Tattershall Castle

    British
    (3 Reviews)
    521m
    The Tattershall Castle
  2. GBK Waterloo

    GBK Waterloo

    Burger
    (18 Reviews)
    641m
    GBK Waterloo
  3. The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

    The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

    British
    (224 Reviews)
    656m
    The Terrace Restaurant and Bar
  4. Live at The Savoy

    Live at The Savoy

    British
    (0 Reviews)
    968m
    Live at The Savoy
  5. One Twenty One Two at The Royal Horseguards
    554m
    One Twenty One Two at The Royal Horseguards