map placeholder

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB +44 2035512096

((((* British
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
  • Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar - London
Average
Main course: £22
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 06:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30. Saturday & Sunday: 07:00 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:30.

The food was delicious. The pork T-bone steak was highly recommended. Service was superb, we were really looked after

Nat Gray 12 August 2017
from London

View all 607 reviews

Winner of 2 AA Rosettes, Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar at the London Marriott Hotel County Hall showcases classic English dishes and mouth-watering 35-day aged steaks from O’Sheas Butchers. Cutting-edge cocktails (featuring a stock of over 120 different gins) offer the latest in mixology trends, while bespoke furniture turns the South Bank restaurant into a contemporary haven. Dedicated to James Gillray, with caricatures and his artwork on display, Gillray's in London boasts stunning views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye.

The speciality at Gillray’s restaurant is undoubtedly steak. A huge selection of cuts is offered both on and off the bone, with an assortment of sauces to include red wine and bone marrow, or tarragon butter. For fish lovers, south coast lemon sole is served with creamy parsley butter. Home-cured pastrami sandwich is another favourite, served in a brioche bun. Sides and extras include truffle and Old Winchester chips, Heritage carrots in Fennel honey, creamed spinach, or the delicious Gillray’s house summer salad.

On the desserts side, Gillray’s award-winning cheese table features the finest artisan cheeses sourced from across England. Finish with the flourless chocolate cake, seasonal meringue pie, or the signature traditional sherry trifle.

Waterloo Train Station is a 7-minute walk from Gillray’s Steakhouse and Bar on the South Bank. Gillray's can be accessed via the main entrance to the London Marriott Hotel on Westminster Bridge Road. Alternatively, enter via the South Bank (Queen's Walk), above Shrek's Adventure. Valet parking is also available on site.

Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

County Hall, Westminster Bridge Road, Entrance via Marriott Hotel or Queens Walk, London, SE1 7PB

Contact +44 2079028000
Reservations +44 2035512096
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South Bank

Customer reviews for Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2 ((((* (based on 607 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (417)
  • views (387)
  • lunch (287)
  • romantic (195)
  • luxury (180)
  • business (148)
  • value (144)
  • private dining (113)
  • afternoon tea (98)
  • large parties (83)
  • trendy (72)
  • child friendly (43)
  • breakfast (34)
  • entertainment (30)
  • al fresco (9)
  • (**** 9 August 2017 by Daryl Herbert from London

    It was cold, air conditioning too strong, slow, waiters & waitresses young not really knowledgeable. Food mediocre price very high for what we received portions quite small for the price. My wife had the pear and it was the size of half a small egg. Steak small. Duck pate great taste but the design was for effect and portion small

  • ((((* 3 August 2017 by Devish Patel from LONDON

    Excellent value for money

  • ((((( 31 July 2017 by Keke Bhatoa from Wilmington


    Booked a table at Gillray's Steakhouse and Bar for our anniversary. Its not officially until tomorrow but we are both back at work. Located in the Marriott Hotel with views of the Thames, Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. I booked via Bookatable.com, £29 for 3 courses & a cocktail. Unbelievable value and the service is exceptional. The bar area as you will see from the pictures is a great place to have a drink even without food and we will come back here next time we come to London again. The choice of spirits especially Gin is like an enormous library with cocktails and fine wines. The food was of a very high standard and the humble chip was taken to new heights, the best chips I have ever had with my steak. Another great touch was a plateau of fine miniature cakes presented to us complimentary ahead of our deserts. I only mentioned the reason for booking online under additional comments that it was an anniversary so the attention to detail is second to none. Thoroughly recommend Gillray's for just a drink or food. Great location, great staff.

  • (((** 24 July 2017 by Sabina Jesys from London

    Very polite staff but service intermitten and not attentive, drinks were forgotten and had to remind them. Wine cooler was forgotten. Staff did not seem to know the dishes very well when asked what they were.
    Crayfish starter was ok. My steak was well seasoned but it was a huge disappointment. I ordered a medium rare steak but it was medium well. I thought maybe the waiter had taken the wrong order but there was a label which came with the steak, it said what I ordered but it wasn't I want ordered. Dessert was good but it was not enough to redeem the negatives. A steakhouse that can't serve steak.
    The cocktail of the set menu was awful. I could not drink it.
    The worst was at the end of the meal when we had paid and getting ready to go, we spotted a mouse under the table. Will not be going back.

  • ((((* 23 July 2017 by Ruth Mchale from London

    Lovely setting overlooking the River, Houses of Parliament and London Eye. Staff all really helpful and welcoming, happy to make recommendations on what to choose from the set menu. Food was of a good standard and nicely presented although have to say that the steak was not amongst the best I've eaten but was edible. Prompt service, would recommend.

  • ((((( 22 July 2017 by Jane Walters from London

    Had a lovely celebratory lunch for nieces graduation. Lovely location and staff were amazing

  • ((((( 21 July 2017 by Amine Benamer from london

    the service is fantastic.

  • ((((* 18 July 2017 by Shannon Palmer from London

    Delicious! Fantastic service. Great if you want a quiet dinner on a Monday.

  • ((((* 14 July 2017 by Sue Ringwood from London

    Lovely venue. Staff excellent. Drinks very pricey. We went for the Market Menu which was lovely. 3 course meal with a cocktail £29 p.p. Crayfish cocktail for starter was excellent and steak for main cooked just right. Finished off with delicious ice cream.

  • ((((( 10 July 2017 by Susan Hacker from London

    Service great and food perfect

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant