Reviews of Gillray's Steakhouse & Bar

4.2
(based on 849 reviews)
Westminster Bridge Road Entrance via Marriott London County Hall or Queen’s Walk, London, SE1 7PB
849 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By S. G from Manchester
    8 September 2019

    I dined at Gillrays with three friends, we had the 3 course special menu and it was excellent. Each course was prepared and served beautifully. The flavours were delicious, the steaks succulent and tender. The service was at all times outstanding. Our table overlooked The Thames and made our dinner even more special.

  • By Neil H from Crawley
    7 September 2019

    Lots of promise but didn’t deliver i’m afraid! Location is great overlooking the Thames and the decor and ambiance has a real vibe. Unfortunately we (myself, wife + 2 teenage sons), didn’t get off to a great start. We had pre booked a 3 course lunch with a cocktail and the choice of cocktails were just 3. We went for the bellini and had the waitress drop the tray over our table, so had to be relocated. They were very apologetic, but still not a great start. We ordered 3 fillet steaks and all medium rare. One came out medium and the other two medium to well! The manager came over and agreed they were not right and offered to cook new ones. We had waited a bit of time for the food plus my wife was now eating her fish dish, so we declined and ate what was a very dry meat when you like it to be pink and juicy. As an aside, the same waitress who dropped the cocktail also poured our bottle of water and with about 1/4 left in the bottle had taken it away. When I asked our food waitress for the rest of our water and told her what happened, she was very surprised and immediately brought another bottle over, this time leaving it on the table! The last experience was an incorrect bill where we were charged for items we did not order and prices off the standard menu when we had booked the bookatable set offer. This got resolved and the manager apologised for the experience before we left. Our main waitress was excellent and we may just have been unlucky, but when you eat at a steak specialist restaurant, you expect it to be cooked to perfection. On the menu is a Tomahawk steak at £75. I would love to try it as not very common, but would I risk it after the experience we have had? Possibly not.

  • By Samantha Harris-Walford H from Kidderminster
    7 September 2019

    Lovely setting but service was poor asked for medium to well done steak was told it would be tough recommended medium. It came I sent it back as too red for me as I expected had to ask for the accompanying chips and half eaten meal before they arrived. Soup starter was tepid. Steak was delicious though. Sticky toffee pudding mediocre.

  • By Terry B from London
    7 September 2019

    It was wonderful it made our anniversary celebrations special

  • By Michelle K from Dorset
    7 September 2019

    We arrived and were welcomed & taken to a table at the far end of the restaurant next to a section that had been partitioned by a curtain.The lady said that table by the window was yours but it wasnt made up so is this one okay? We sat down in the table next to the window table & asked the waitress if it would be possible to make up our original table which she did & we moved. We ordered some water, were given our menus and did not see anyone for slightly longer than I would of thought normal but we were chatting so it was fine. The waitress approached us & I asked about the cocktail which was included with our booking. She said we could have a gin & tonic, a glass of sparkling wine or a Bellini. We chose gin & tonics & sparkling wine which was delicious. As we started to place our food order, the waitress apologised for not being able to answer some of our questions for example does the vegetarian option & the steaks come with anything included or did we need to order sides? The waitress did go and find out and the steaks came with chips & the vegetarian option a garden salad. The starters were delicious. We all had something different and were all pleased with our choices. I would definitely recommend the hot smoked salmon it was lovely. I really enjoyed my steak however my friend was a little disappointed with what she called her cheesy mash but it was tasty & I think she was expecting more aubergine & mushrooms in it! The wine we ordered went nicely with the steak and the sticky toffee pudding was gorgeous. During our main course the staff were preparing the area adjacent to our table, carrying tables in and out of the area curtained off. It was a little off putting and although we were next to the curtain we were pleased we had moved as we would of really been in the way of all the traffic going in & out of the room next to us. We soon realised it was being prepared for a party as the guests began to arrive. We had finished and I was about to ask for the bill

  • By Leanne A from London
    1 September 2019

    Wonderful restaurant. Lovely calming atmosphere with relaxing background music for ambience. Absolutely stunning steak - cooked perfectly and exactly how I requested for it to be cooked. Lovely staff with good knowledge and recommendations. Thoroughly enjoyed choosing my own knife for the dinner!

  • By Karen E from Croydon
    31 August 2019

    Good value for money. We had the 3 course meal with complimentary drinks for £28. We had salmon salad and the chicken for starters which are both good and filling. For mains we had fillet steak well done and rump steak medium well which looked like medium rare but they had provided me with new steak to replace it. For desserts we had the vegan chocolate and the panna cotta which are both excellent. The waiters very polite, attentive and professional.

  • By Francesca Kotze-Rudd K from LONDON
    29 August 2019

    Horrendous bar service and sky high prices. Bar staff more interested in chatting than serving customers. Restaurant was again great, with good service and food throughout.

  • By John F from Sussex
    22 August 2019

    Beware the cost of extras, eg veg, fries, side salads etc. If you go for a fixed price you might expect these to be included.

  • By Emma S from Southbank
    21 August 2019

    Great food and very friendly staff and made my mums birthday very special thank you