map placeholder

Geales - Notting Hill

2 Farmer Street, London, W8 7SN

((((* Fish & Seafood
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
  • Geales - Notting Hill - London
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35
Opening hours
Tuesday to Thursday: 12:00 - 15:00 & 18:00 - 23:00
Friday to Sunday: 12:00 - 23:00.

Very relaxing but two items on the menu were not available.

Mary 08 June 2019
from KING'S LYNN

View all 167 reviews

Described as ‘pulling on the heartstrings of nostalgia’ by acclaimed critic Fay Maschler, Geales Notting Hill offers superbly fresh fish and seafood. A neighbourhood favourite established in 1939, Geales celebrates glorious Great British cuisine in a sustainable fashion.

Branded as London’s ‘posh fish and chippy’, the Geales menu offers hearty comfort food with a sophisticated edge. Sourcing from sustainable fish stocks, perfectly grilled fillets sit next to the nation’s favourite, cod in crispy batter. Specials come fresh from Devon and Cornwall, and favourites include dressed crab, salmon and leek fishcakes and oysters straight from the bar.

Continuing the British theme, classic desserts at Geales Notting Hill include bread and butter pudding with Baileys custard, all washed down with dandelion and burdock or cream soda.

Subdued yet chic, Geales London offsets glossy grey walls and black leather benches with glittering antique mirrors. Notting Hill Gate Tube Station is just 2 minutes’ walk away.

Geales - Notting Hill

2 Farmer Street, London, W8 7SN

Contact +44 2077277528

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Notting Hill

Customer reviews for Geales - Notting Hill

3.8 ((((* (based on 167 reviews)
78% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (92)
  • lunch (72)
  • romantic (31)
  • value (31)
  • child friendly (25)
  • business (24)
  • private dining (21)
  • large parties (14)
  • al fresco (8)
  • entertainment (8)
  • trendy (8)
  • luxury (5)
  • views (3)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((*** 2 January 2018 by Alan from Perth

    Sadly, Geales is not a patch on the namesake that I visited in the 1970s. I was looking to recreate an experience from the past! The range of seafood was extremely limited, the apologetic attitude not cutting it, the ambience ordinary and the price excessive.

  • (**** 29 December 2017 by Pascale from London

    Food is poor presented as dog food
    No taste
    Never again

  • ((((* 26 November 2017 by Sean from london

    .

  • ((((( 20 November 2017 by Gavan from Dublin

    first class ambience ,food and very friendly staff . Would highly recommend .

  • ((((( 13 November 2017 by Julie from Kent

    I took my Dad here for a meal before visiting the Ginstitute in Portabello Road. We both had a lovely meal. The staff were very friendly, the food was very good, and the atmosphere very relaxed. I would recommend and return.

  • (**** 27 October 2017 by Asscher from London

    Very poor service and rude staff (think it was the manager, which it makes it worst). At the time of paying the bill, we asked for split account, been told that she couldn’t put any decimals on the card machine so she should do £27 each (bill was £53.83), which we agree with no refound of the pennies left (what a nonsense, 20p!!!). Then she charged me £27 and my brother £27.83, charging even more than she was even charging, so we asked her, and VERY RUDLY, she grabbed my brother’s card and the machine and went to the till. After that we went there trying to explain that we were okay to be charged £27 each tho she was thinking we were asking to be charged the exact amount. Then NOT EVEN HERSELF gave us back the card and the receipt, as she look away and started attending new costumers entering the door. So another waiter of the restaurant had to give us back the card and the receipt.

    The fish was good.

    She was not.

  • ((*** 13 October 2017 by Pamela from Northwood

    We've been going to Geales for many years , because it was a smart " fish and chip " restaurant, with white linen tablecloths and linen napkins but we were extremely disappointed on Saturday night. Although the food was good and staff friendly, the ambience had totally changed. Bare tables, rubbish paper napkins and untidy staff. Also the level of the music noise was very loud and we constantly had to ask for it to be made quieter. We won't be going back which is a great shame as it was one our favourite restaurants.

  • ((((( 5 October 2017 by Peter from Ann Arbor,Michigan

    We go to London every five years. It would not be a complete trip if we did not eat dinner at Geales.When you walk that short block off of Bayswater it is like going to a different world. A beautiful Quiet neighborhood ! You will a happy sincere greeting. If just two get a window table. We always get Haddock Fish and Chips. Excellent ! There are many other great things on the menu but we only get there every five years. Great food, service , and atmosphere!

  • ((*** 12 September 2017 by Willem from London

    Food was amazing (except from the crumble which was the worst I ever tasted). However the service was poor and the staff unprofessional. Would recommend if you really crave for some fresh lobsters.

  • ((((( 11 September 2017 by Sanjay from London

    Geales is lovely. Terrific fish and amazing service.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant