Reviews of Gaucho - Piccadilly

4.5
(based on 283 reviews)
25 Swallow Street Piccadilly, London, W1B 4QR
283 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Andreas H from Fürth
    5 January 2020

    A nice dinner at the gaucho, delicious meat ??... recommended ... not for small money but really good

  • By Ash R from London
    22 December 2019

    The reception at first refused to give us the Bookatable offer menu, saying that we hadn't booked via the site and they had no notification as such. Even after showing them the email confirmation they were not happy about it and only grudgingly gave in when I continued to insist they honour the booking terms.Otherwise we had a nice evening here. The food was very good. The service was good but a bit slow as the restaurant was busy.The bottled water ordered never turned up, but was included in the final bill.

  • By Robert R from London
    22 December 2019

    Standards have fallen a little since the last time we visited. Service felt a bit rushed and the steak was OK rather than excellent as on previous visits. The chimichurri sauce was very poor. This is by no means a bad restaurant, just not as good as it used to be.

  • By Hedley S from London
    22 December 2019

    Steaks a bit too salty; no steak knives provided

  • By Jayne H from London
    18 December 2019

    Delicious foods, nice atmosphere

  • By Alan D from Shenfield
    17 December 2019

    An excellent lunch as usual. We’ve dined there several times and love the food, wine, service and ambiance. Great value too.

  • By Nicki W from Cambridge
    17 December 2019

    Lovely atmosphere and the service was much better than previously experienced The sea bream was excellent and the steak perfect we will definitely go back!

  • By Ray M from London
    17 December 2019

    Service was very rushed, as soon as we sat down we were expected to order all three courses at once. Starter came out within a few minutes which was good on one hand, but made us feel as though we really had a time limit. We were put in the corner next to some kind of cupboard/the restaurant entrance so didn't even get to see the rest of the restaurant but it looked nice from our sad hidden corner table. Food was good but the steak wasn't as tender as it could have been. Desserts were very small but can't complain for the price we paid. Drinks however, were good and surprisingly strong. Overall I wouldn't go back and would not recommend. Not sure if the service would've been better had we not booked a deal, but I'm not in a hurry to return and test that theory.

  • By Petula H from London
    15 December 2019

    Lovely settings great food friendly staff. This was my 4th time and never disappointed just keep getting better and better. Thanks to all the team

  • By Eva P from London
    12 December 2019

    Good morning Upon our arrival at the restaurant yesterday we were greeted and shown our seats. We were then given a menu and I informed the waitress, who I later found out was the manager that we booked the set menu. This was met by a patronizing remark that yes that is the lunch menu and I will get that one. In an establishment they should be aware of what the customer is there for and not be made to feel uncomfortable. We then proceeded to order our food which came and it was very nice. We ordered wine to accompany our steak but it took a very long time for it to arrive and thus we did not enjoy it with our steak as is accustomed. We were then compensated with a glass of prosecco which we did not want. We then ordered mint tea which came in half filled pot which did not even cover the mint leaves. No sugar or spoons and we had to physically get up and find someone to top up the pot and get us some spoons and sugar. We would like to express our disappointment in the service which was reflected in us refusing to pay for service charge. We would not of expected this treatment at an establishment such as Gauchos. We were there at 6.30 and it was not busy. Please comment. Kind regards Eva