map placeholder

Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel

Station Road, York, YO24 1AA

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel - York
  • Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel - York
  • Garden Room at the Royal York Hotel - York
  • Garden Room at the Royal York Hotel - York
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 13:00 - 17:00.

Excellent setting with food to match. The service was very good and they made a special effort given it was my grandmas 91st birthday.

Chris 22 September 2019
from Cumbria

View all 71 reviews

Twilight tea at The Principal York Hotel is a unique, luxurious and quintessentially British treat. This stunning Grade-II listed building sits in the city centre, with diners given spectacular views of the hotel gardens.

The Principal York Twilight tea is an evening alternative to traditional twilight tea, a lighter, later afternoon tea experience including finger sandwiches, scone selection, jam and playful petit fours with a sharing cocktail tea pot.

The Principal York is a wonderfully luxurious British treat, and is just a one-minute walk from York Rail Station.

Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel

Station Road, York, YO24 1AA

Contact +44 1904688677
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in York

Customer reviews for Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel

4.6 (((() (based on 71 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((((
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (65)
  • luxury (21)
  • views (14)
  • romantic (13)
  • lunch (11)
  • value (10)
  • dinner (8)
  • private dining (8)
  • large parties (5)
  • business (4)
  • trendy (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • entertainment (3)
  • child friendly (2)
  • ((((( 14 June 2017 by Terence from York

    Lovely relaxed atmosphere and an added touch of an extra decorated brownie to go with our afternoon tea as it was our wedding anniversary.

  • ((((* 7 June 2017 by Rebecca from Nottingham

    Beautiful tea room. Lovely cakes. Polite staff but were a bit forgetful. Chairs were very comfortable. Weren't rushed at all. Ask for a table by the window.

  • ((((( 3 May 2017 by Sarah from York

    Afternoon tea was superb. The garden room is stunning and the staff are both knowledgeable and attentive. They were fantastic with my 7 month old.

  • ((((* 22 April 2017 by Judith from york

    afternoon tea was good the cakes and scones were lovely but the sandwiches were not to our taste at all this is twice we have been the same last time .So we ordered sandwiches of the menu egg and ham in bloomer my ham was not good at all fat and not lean left it so did my friend I would have thrown it out .The garden room is very pleasant it is a shame the food was not good .

  • ((((( 17 April 2017 by Sarah from Dagenham

    It was a very cold wet easter sunday we came into the hotel and the Staff were lovely, they showed us to our table with lovely comfy chairs. we were bought our tea and champagne. loved the butternut squash and chorizo veloute just what we needed to warm us. the passion fruit macaroons were both pretty and tasty. would definitely recommend this afternoon tea to friends and family

  • ((((( 14 April 2017 by Hardacre from York

    Absolutely fantastic afternoon tea

  • ((((* 8 April 2017 by Samantha from York

    Afternoon tea experience was average & a little over priced. Lovely venue though & excellent service.

  • ((((( 2 April 2017 by Gerald from Elloughton, EastYorkshire

    We enjoyed our visit to the Garden Room very much. Everything was just perfect. The food, service and ambience were excellent. We were celebrating our 61st wedding anniversary and nothing could have been more perfect for this iccasion. We will certainly be coming again.

  • ((((( 25 March 2017 by Michelle from York

    Fabulous! Love it. The seating arrangements were nice and the decor was lovely. We enjoyed all elements of the afternoon tea and the service was pleasant too. We will definitely visit again.

  • ((((( 22 March 2017 by Becky from Lancaster

    Best afternoon tea I've ever had! Loved the savoury dishes - a lovely touch.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant