map placeholder

Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel

Station Road, York, YO24 1AA

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel - York
  • Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel - York
  • Garden Room at the Royal York Hotel - York
  • Garden Room at the Royal York Hotel - York
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 13:00 - 17:00.

Excellent setting with food to match. The service was very good and they made a special effort given it was my grandmas 91st birthday.

Chris 22 September 2019
from Cumbria

View all 71 reviews

Twilight tea at The Principal York Hotel is a unique, luxurious and quintessentially British treat. This stunning Grade-II listed building sits in the city centre, with diners given spectacular views of the hotel gardens.

The Principal York Twilight tea is an evening alternative to traditional twilight tea, a lighter, later afternoon tea experience including finger sandwiches, scone selection, jam and playful petit fours with a sharing cocktail tea pot.

The Principal York is a wonderfully luxurious British treat, and is just a one-minute walk from York Rail Station.

Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel

Station Road, York, YO24 1AA

Contact +44 1904688677
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in York

Customer reviews for Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel

4.6 (((() (based on 71 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((((
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (65)
  • luxury (21)
  • views (14)
  • romantic (13)
  • lunch (11)
  • value (10)
  • dinner (8)
  • private dining (8)
  • large parties (5)
  • business (4)
  • trendy (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • entertainment (3)
  • child friendly (2)
  • ((((( 9 August 2019 by Lee from Abu Dhabi

    Great food, ambiance and service!, amazing experience

  • ((((( 7 August 2019 by Fiona from York

    Incredible. The Garden Room is beautiful and I've never found a fully vegan afternoon tea that actered to my food intolerances before! My sister was actually jealous that the vegan one looks so much more colourful and exciting than the regular afternoon tea. It was my sisters birthday and they brought a birthday brownie and honeycomb platter out, hand messaged with white chocolate at no extra cost. Not rushed to leave at all, we sat for a few hours getting through the food and ordering mroe coffee. Would definitely go again.

  • ((((( 5 August 2019 by Rebecca from York

    Myself and 2 family members had afternoon tea here and it was the best we have ever had. The food was amazing and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • ((*** 16 July 2019 by Kirsti from Fredrikstad

    Overall we were not satisfied with the Afternoon Tea. The sandwiches had a strange taste which was not to our taste. The scones were dry and the cakes were too sweet. The tea and the soup was good.

  • ((((( 10 June 2019 by Dominique from Doncaster

    Loved the passion fruit eclair!

  • ((((( 4 June 2019 by Kirsti from Zoetermeer

    Wonderful setting, delicious food and the most friendly staff !

  • ((((( 1 June 2019 by Ruth from Scarborough

    The venue, quality of food, service etc were excellent.

  • ((((( 17 May 2019 by Helen from Thorpe Willoughby

    Booking was very easy.
    My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our twilight tea in the garden room. We sat by a window looking to the garden and the Minster. Service was efficient, friendly and informative. Sandwiches, scones and the cakes were lovely and I will certainly be booking again.

  • ((((( 21 August 2018 by Catherine from Newcastle upon Tyne

    Afternoon tea with family. Superb service and lovely selection of sweet and savoury food. Scones fabulous

  • ((((( 23 June 2018 by Angela from Auckland

    Excellent service and fabulous restaurant decorations. We had traditional afternoon tea with Earl Grey. They are warm and fresh. Definitely recommend to friends

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant