Reviews of Garden Room at The Principal York Hotel

4.5
(based on 86 reviews)
Station Road, York, N Yorkshire, YO24 1AA
86 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Rob C from Fareham
    7 February 2020

    Excellent, table was ready on arrival and we all had an enjoyable afternoon tea.

  • By Samantha F from York
    2 February 2020

    I went here for afternoon tea and it was wonderful service, amazing food and the Garden Room was a lovely venue. Would definitely recommend this place for an afternoon tea experience in York

  • By Kirsty B from Manchester
    23 January 2020

    Lovely setting. Enjoyed the plate of starters, especially the soup. Lovely presentation but I was disappointed by the sandwiches, bread was tasteless and not much filling. Also the scones were suppose to be 3 different flavours but we could taste any difference. Cakes were ok but nothing special.

  • By Ruth W from Durham
    15 January 2020

    Lovely room and setting, good service, friendly and helpful, unrushed, well presented and tasty food, excellent quality tea. Having happy birthday written on the cake plate was a lovely touch. We love the idea of a tiny cup of very tasty soup.

  • By Kate K from Bolton
    14 January 2020

    Whilst the overall experience was positive I do not think I would return here for afternoon tea. We enjoyed the leisurely way we were allowed to enjoy our tea. However staff, whilst extremely helpful and friendly, were not always present and therefore we were having to wait around and look out for them. The savoury element to the tea was delicious as were the scones however I did find the cakes a disappointment and would not order them again. I was also very disappointed to find we had to pay for parking and that this charge was not knocked off our bill.

  • By Lorraine W from York
    23 December 2019

    Beautiful venue, really nice service. Not at all rushed.

  • By Ali G from York
    21 December 2019

    Beautiful setting and very comfortable surroundings. The food served for the festive afternoon tea was superb. However, the English tea that was served tasted dreadfully smokey and was not at all the same taste that I have experienced before when drinking the English Breakfast tea. I feel it may have been muddled with the Keemun tea that is also served. My party queried the flavour of the tea, but were told it was English Breakfast.

  • By Jane B from Darlington
    20 November 2019

    Surprise 70th for my sister Delay in serving and disappointing afternoon tea

  • By Karen H from Leeds
    15 November 2019

    Loved the relaxed setting to enjoy a lovely afternoon tea and a champagne cocktail with my friend on our girls treat , , staff were really helpful

  • By Ann S from Beverley
    15 November 2019

    A birthday gift for myself I went with a very close friend as my guest. The room is beautiful. A charming young man was our meet & greet & showed us to a lovely table by a window overlooking the garden with York Minster in the back ground . My friend is gluten free & this was not a problem as she had the alternative menu. The pumpkin soup was with the sourdough cracker & mackerel pate & the beetroot muffin were the outstanding things for us as most unusual but the rest of the afternoon was delicious. The selection of teas was a very nice touch my friend had earl grey & I had the lemongrass.