map placeholder

Gallery Mess

Duke of York Square, London, SW3 4LY

((((* European
  • Gallery Mess - London
  • Gallery Mess - London
  • Gallery Mess - London
  • Gallery Mess - London
  • Gallery Mess - London
  • Gallery Mess - London
Average
Main course: £18
Food spend: £30
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 10:00 - 19:00
Friday & Saturday: 10:00 - 21:00
Sunday: 10:00 - 18:00.

Great lunch. Exquisite rolled lamb breast beyond expectations. Excellent service.

Simon 22 September 2019
from London

View all 103 reviews

Gallery Mess is a stunning dining space inside the Saatchi Gallery, serving a variety of menus all through the day, including champagne afternoon teas. Inside there are vaulted ceilings, exposed brickwork and fine art on display, while the tranquil al fresco terrace overlooks The Green.

The Gallery Mess menu starts the day with a variety of options, ranging from hearty full English breakfasts through to freshly baked pastries. Saturday brunches feature unlimited bloody Mary and Champagne options, while the afternoon tea menu offers up a selection of British sandwiches, scones, cakes, and even mini afternoon tea options for kids.

Enjoy seasonal British flavours on the main menu at Gallery Mess in Chelsea, starting off with English asparagus with crisp hen's egg, followed by Spring lamb rump with wild garlic and rissole potatoes. There is a diverse wine list full of international vintages, and all kinds of colourful cocktails from the bar.

A true step above the usual gallery dining options, Gallery Mess is a beautiful restaurant in London that sits just 3 minutes' walk from Sloane Square Tube Station.

Gallery Mess

Duke of York Square, London, SW3 4LY

Contact +44 2077308135
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in South West London

Customer reviews for Gallery Mess

3.9 ((((* (based on 103 reviews)
77% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (53)
  • dinner (35)
  • al fresco (34)
  • afternoon tea (30)
  • trendy (25)
  • value (22)
  • views (19)
  • business (18)
  • romantic (12)
  • breakfast (9)
  • private dining (9)
  • large parties (8)
  • luxury (8)
  • entertainment (6)
  • child friendly (5)
  • (((** 29 April 2019 by Julie from London

    I took my niece for afternoon tea. Overall the experience was good but our waiter was very inattentive and didn’t make our visit as good as it could have been. For the price charged for the afternoon tea I would’ve expected the whole experience to be of a much higher standard and more of a special moment.

  • ((((* 22 April 2019 by Andreas from Frankfurt

    We spent a lovely afternoon there with quality high tea and perfect champagne - awesome outside seating

  • ((((* 9 April 2019 by Wesley from Devizes

    Excellent service, the table we asked for, fish and chips were excellent, gnocchi disappointing, good wine list, altogether great success

  • ((((( 6 April 2019 by Felicity from London

    Good atmosphere, spacious allowing for privacy, delicious gnocchi.

  • ((((* 4 April 2019 by Lady from London

    Booking service was fine. A table for four in the inside room. Service was very friendly, but very slow. My two male guests had to get up to find a waiter at two different times. The restaurant was not unduly crowded, but at times we felt forgotten. A pity, as they had not been to the restaurant before.

  • ((*** 29 March 2019 by Michael from LONDON

    the 4 main courses came separately and 1 was wrong... The first 2 together, then literally no staff in the restaurant for 5 mins. Then waiter back with the 3rd which was a salad starter not main, so sent back. A larger one came, no apology until we complained about not being served together - answer "oh yes sorry, the 4th is coming" - which it did... Previously service has been fine, hopefully, this was a one-off.

  • ((*** 21 March 2019 by Kieren from Warwickshire

    The food was lovely, but felt it was over-priced for the amount of food supplied.

    Being a managing director or a restaurant myself, could see that your dish mark up was disproportionate to say the least. Therefore Was very disappointed, and sadly would not recommend it to my family and friends.

  • ((((* 5 March 2019 by Simon from Abergavenny

    Very pleasant and tasty.

  • ((((* 14 February 2019 by Beverly from London

    We had afternoon tea for 4 for my partner’s 50th birthday and it really was lovely! Service was very attentive and friendly but never intrusive and the food was delicious. Beautiful surroundings and a lovely treat for us all.

  • ((((( 25 January 2019 by Michael from London

    Quality of food, service and location makes it a treat to visit.Was straight forward, have booked before.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant