Reviews of Fishworks - Covent Garden

4.5
(based on 52 reviews)
2-4 Catherine Street, Covent Garden, London, London, WC2B 5JY
52 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jason D from London
    8 March 2020

    I arrived 10 mins early and they didn't have my reservation. The hostess was lovely and sat me in spite of the lack of visibility in the res system. The ambiance was modern, inviting and clean. She explained they were out of several items and sat me in my preferred location. My dining companion and I ordered the Free Flowing Sunday menu, unfortunately, the server didn't know wines or what was on the preselected list and offered us Chenin Blanc, and came back with Chardonnay, which we do not drink. We decided on Processco and proceeded to enjoy the rest of our meals. The scallops starter was delicious and cooked well. Our fish n chips were hot, cooked well and presented nicely. The lemon tart for dessert was very nice but could have used some powdered sugar sprinkled over the top, just my preference, nothing imperative. Overall the experience was favorable and I would return and try the mussels that were unfortunately out of stock during my visit.

  • By Janet E from Guildford
    5 March 2020

    Friendly helpful staff . Excellent menu choices well cooked . Nice decor . Would return .

  • By Jayne R from London
    29 February 2020

    Well we arrived shown to table got asked about drinks / food , got starter before drinks arrived , glass of prosecco included but came together with wine should have had that when we sat down , food came rather small portion of sea bream , ordered sorbet for pudding got one between two which we never stated should have got two as also included then they added 12% service charge needless to say it wasn’t worth it

  • By Caroline C from London
    28 February 2020

    Nice atmosphere, food simple but tasty. I had the seared tuna, quite rare, which wasn’t the best quality and ended up with food poisoning. It may have been bad luck but I would stick to the well cooked dishes.

  • By Debra S from London
    22 February 2020

    We were on the star deal which was very good value for money. Limited selection but good choice. Really fresh fish. Excellent friendly service.

  • By C C C from London
    21 February 2020

    Very good offer. 3-course meal and a glass of bubbles for 25£. Nice food and wine selection. Excellent service. No pressure to leave after 2 hours.

  • By Peter S from London
    21 February 2020

    Bookatable deal of three courses and a glass of Prosecco for £25 per person sounds great, but once you've added some side vegetable dishes (which are needed) and a bottle of wine, it's easy to add another £20 per person. However it's a nice room, service was good and food was great.

  • By Anon W from London
    21 February 2020

    Lovely lunch. Delicious cod. Great service.

  • By Stan B from Weybridge
    14 February 2020

    We are from the £25 set menu. There was a good choice of dishes and the food was great. A nice, if busy, ambience with good service.

  • By Danielle L from Norwich
    12 February 2020

    We visited pre-theatre and had the star deal of 3 courses and a glass of prosecco each. The food was lovely and the service was great. We had scallops for starters, which were divine. Then my partner had the seafood linguine and I had the sea bream. I ordered a side of potatoes, which I would recommend doing on the mains as on it’s own the sea bream wouldn’t have been enough. Then for pudding I went for ice cream and my partner Eton mess. Overall the food, service and atmosphere was perfect for what we wanted (somewhere affordable, quick but nice) and we had plenty of time to head to the theatre as the location was perfect.