map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

As good as usual!

Anthony 15 February 2019
from Hove

View all 496 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 496 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (383)
  • lunch (290)
  • romantic (208)
  • luxury (143)
  • private dining (128)
  • al fresco (120)
  • business (78)
  • value (70)
  • trendy (34)
  • child friendly (25)
  • large parties (25)
  • entertainment (24)
  • views (15)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((((( 24 September 2018 by Samantha from Brighton

    The booking was easy and straight forward. We went to English’s for an occasion and the service was brilliant. Excellent food suggestions as well as unique touches to help us to celebrate. The scallops and sea bass are brilliant dishes.

  • ((((( 11 September 2018 by James from Hook

    Fantastic meal Really good service in a lovely atmosphere.

    Wine to die for!

  • ((((( 8 September 2018 by Blue from Brighton

    Superb as always....food ,service and ambiance couldn’t be faulted.Top class.

  • ((((( 4 September 2018 by Tess from Brighton

    I hadn’t visited this restaurant for many years but wasn’t disappointed at all. The staff were friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food was better than I had remembered. The scallops were big and juicy and the tuna steak was cooked to perfection. We loved every minute and hope to be back soon. Thank you for a lovely anniversary dinner.

  • ((((( 3 September 2018 by Delia from Hong Kong

    Always good. The best oysters in town! Beautiful seafood platter. Big wine list. Fantastic service :)

  • ((((* 1 September 2018 by Kevin from Gävle Sweden

    VERY GOOD food way above expectations and service was extremely good and friendly

  • ((((* 31 August 2018 by Zaki from Dammam, Saudi Arabia

    I loved the atmosphere, the service and the food

  • ((((( 29 August 2018 by Sally from East Grinstead

    Food & Service was fantastic. One of our party was Coeliac and required gluten free food. The staff dealt with this brilliantly.

  • ((((( 25 August 2018 by James from Arundel

    Good food, good service, an outdoor table in the sunshine and all very reasonable - what could be better?

  • ((((( 21 August 2018 by Maria from London

    I loved having lunch here. We had a table outside because we have a dog. The server was great, he brought water for our dog and was very attentive. The food was amazing and very abundant portions.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant