map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

Fab service and delicious food

Jane 25 September 2019
from London

View all 598 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 598 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (461)
  • lunch (342)
  • romantic (247)
  • luxury (173)
  • private dining (149)
  • al fresco (142)
  • business (90)
  • value (85)
  • trendy (38)
  • child friendly (28)
  • large parties (27)
  • entertainment (26)
  • views (21)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((*** 13 September 2019 by David from Leamington

    Food average. Nothing special and over priced

    Wine very expensive

  • ((((( 10 September 2019 by Penny from Brighton

    The restaurant was very accommodating when changing the number of diners in our party. The food was delicious and the set menu was well priced for the quality of the food. Overall a very pleasant evening with old friends in a good quality fish restaurant in Brighton.

  • ((((* 5 September 2019 by Cindy from Sheffield

    All of us love seafood platter , which is very delicious. We enjoyed the good service from handsome waiters and we were very happy. But the salmon is too salty for us.

  • ((((( 30 August 2019 by Annalice from London

    Revisited English's after a few years. Lunch menu was excellent value , great whole plaice. Courteous and friendly staff.

  • ((((( 27 August 2019 by Peter from Brighton

    A favourite location for lunch al fresco.

  • ((((( 26 August 2019 by Carl from Brighton

    Fish dishes amazing

  • ((((( 26 August 2019 by Patrick from London

    I have been going to English's over the years for forty years about. It is better than ever. On Saturday we got, as usual, a ready and warm greeting, our table - generous - was ready, we had drinks, starters, middles - the Dover sole on or off the bone, is tremendous, pudding, coffee, everything is just right. It is a gem, we cannot wait to go again, especially now that grand-daughter Holly is going to the University of Sussex this autumn for at least three years - we can take her to English's regularly to be sure she is eating properly!

  • ((((* 26 August 2019 by Robin from Brighton

    Lively location in the town centre. Service impeccable with proper napkins! Set menu very good. Starters & desserts superb but mains could be refined. For example toast with fried sea bass was slightly incongruous. The rump steak was served with garlic butter which was a very cold lump of liquid looking like cream. A handful of rocket was also on the plate. Wine was expensive but very good. The bill for 2 was over £100!

  • ((((* 25 August 2019 by Ray from Worthing

    Returning to an old favourite last visited in the 1970's was not a disappointment. The lunch menu was good- tasty, well cooked and, of course, well-presented. Being able to sit outside in good weather was a bonus. The old slight downside was the repeated plea for 'donations' to music further down the street that we were barely aware of!

  • ((((( 25 August 2019 by Rodney from London

    The first time I had been there for over 10 years. As good as always. Great food and service, good atmosphere and not overpriced!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant