map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

Excellent service and recommendations - made our anniversary really special.

Marina 02 June 2019
from Brighton

View all 535 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in East Sussex

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.4 (((() (based on 535 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (412)
  • lunch (311)
  • romantic (222)
  • luxury (155)
  • private dining (137)
  • al fresco (127)
  • business (83)
  • value (76)
  • trendy (34)
  • large parties (26)
  • child friendly (25)
  • entertainment (24)
  • views (17)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 5 April 2019 by Joe from Brighton

    We loved the seaside-bistro kind of atmosphere. The food was inexplicably good. Especially the potted shrimp starter. And the wine was excellent.

  • ((((* 21 March 2019 by Adam from Chichester

    A friend and I had a pleasant lunch at this restaurant one Saturday. A well-seasoned lobster bisque made a good starter. The catch of the day, a brill, that followed it was perfectly cooked and expertly filleted. On the down side, the chips, though tasty, were not quite freshly-fried and there was an excess of parmesan and balsamic vinegar on the rocket salad. An accompanying Austrian wine was well-balanced, but a touch too full-bodied and sweet for the fish; however, I didn't ask for a recommendation and must bear responsibility for my choice. We didn't have puddings, but finished with coffee, also good. Service was swift, polite and unobtrusive. The price was fairly high, but I thought it reasonable for what we ate. The decor was very Brighton, but perhaps a little louche and tired; my companion, who sat facing the wall, didn't care for it. Subject to minor reservations, I'd recommend English's and gladly lunch there again.

  • ((((( 19 March 2019 by Wanda from brighton

    Great service

  • ((((* 19 March 2019 by Cathy from Meopham kent

    Lovely meal from beginning to end , couldn’t fault anything

  • ((((( 19 March 2019 by Tamzin from London

    It was a real treat to eat English's. It was only the second time I had eaten here, and I think we were sat at the same table! It was a Monday night so very quiet, but the ambience was comfortable, and the staff were friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the food - I had a wonderful main of sole, mussels and beurre blanc, and my partner devoured a plate of fish and chip. We did eat too much, but we agreed it was a night to savour, while all around us danced Toulouse-Lautrec-inspired characters!

  • ((((( 9 March 2019 by Christopher from Manchester

    A very pleasant Birthday meal experience. With lovely fresh seafood (the mussels were excellent!) and good attentive service and a wine list that completed the food but did not go over budget!

  • ((((( 26 February 2019 by MR from Brighton

    Loosely tagged as a University Reunion, the evening we spent at English's was superb. Great food, great service and great that they tolerated our mild raucousness..! Only minor [and it is minor] gripe was that there was only one bottle of Viognier to select [First World Problemo], but ordering three of them fro the table certainly made me forget that on the night..

  • ((((( 22 February 2019 by George from London

    Overall we enjoyed our meal and dining experience. We ordered oysters lightly battered. My husband loved them although I thought the batter was a little heavy.
    Both of our starters were delightful
    Lobster & prawn croquettes and lobster bisque.
    our mains were both of a high standard although my dish was slightly dryer than I had expected
    The staff were very polite and professional.
    We did enjoy our meals and will be back

  • ((((( 19 February 2019 by Claire from Brighton

    Amazing food and the correct portion sizes, staff were attentive without interrupting the atmosphere

  • ((((( 15 February 2019 by Anthony from Hove

    As good as usual!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant