map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

Excellent service and recommendations - made our anniversary really special.

Marina 02 June 2019
from Brighton

View all 558 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in East Sussex

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.4 (((() (based on 558 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (431)
  • lunch (321)
  • romantic (230)
  • luxury (160)
  • private dining (141)
  • al fresco (134)
  • business (85)
  • value (81)
  • trendy (36)
  • child friendly (26)
  • large parties (26)
  • entertainment (24)
  • views (19)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 17 June 2019 by Sue from London

    Excellent food and service. Well worth the drive from London for lunch!

  • (((** 6 June 2019 by Robert from Brighton

    Little disappointing. Obviously on a Tuesday night we had the mussels. To be honest the sauce was far to watery with not much taste.
    The staff we’re very good.

  • ((((* 3 June 2019 by Michael from brighton

    we had a very enjoyable lunch. our waitress was friendly and efficient and the service couldn't be faulted. A nice menu and interesting wine list. My only criticism was the pairing of the whole plaice with the courgette parmigiana and basil pesto. The delicate sweet flesh of the fish was overwhelmed by the side dish which had been rather unattractively placed in part on top of the fish

  • ((((( 2 June 2019 by Marina from Brighton

    Excellent service and recommendations - made our anniversary really special.

  • ((((( 31 May 2019 by Kevin from Worthing

    Really good food and service

  • (((** 30 May 2019 by Peter from London

    It was with great disappointment having been in Brighton travelling from London especially for Lobster Night that it was not on and I believe we were not the only people that asked.... we were there on a relatively early table so I cannot see why such a restaurant would not be prepared even given any prior demand. It did not help that we heard the Maitre D whisper to a waiter that they were going to ''try to get away with it '', very unprofessional indeed. I am afraid it rather clouded our judgement of English's even though the meal we ordered was very nice. Had our expectation been met with your promise from your own website I am sure we would have been very happy and would return to try other things on the menu. We need eating out in the UK to be honest and deliver to customer expectations at the very least to promote an active clientele- one that keeps coming back for more, the excuse given was presented with little confidence and having heard the comment we know it was a choice on the night.
    I will answer NO to recommendation based on our experience and of course we will re tell the story which wont do you any favours.

  • ((((( 29 May 2019 by Richard from London

    Lovely restaurant, fabulous meal, sensational oysters and champagne, and in a lovely part of the Lanes in Brighton.

  • ((((( 29 May 2019 by Liz from Brighton

    Thank you so much to English's of Brighton & VisitBrighton for and amazing meal on Monday. Beautifully classic & refined seafood, with exquisite service. Although we were gifted this meal through a competition, we were made to feel as special as any paying guest. It was a fantastic night and the food was magnificent. Thank you everyone for a wonderful evening

  • (((** 28 May 2019 by Susan from leatherhead

    Love this restaurant when visiting Brighton, however, mussels were not good, although replaced immediately, sole, creamed potatoes and spinach also a disappointing dish. Not up to their usual standards

  • (((** 28 May 2019 by Sarah from Cuckfield

    Food was nice, perhaps a little over priced. Service was at times a bit slow, we had to ask for our wine to be topped up. There was nothing that made you feel really valued as a customer but overall it was a pleasant experience.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant