map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

Fab service and delicious food

Jane 25 September 2019
from London

View all 598 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 598 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (461)
  • lunch (342)
  • romantic (247)
  • luxury (173)
  • private dining (149)
  • al fresco (142)
  • business (90)
  • value (85)
  • trendy (38)
  • child friendly (28)
  • large parties (27)
  • entertainment (26)
  • views (21)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((((* 30 September 2019 by Christopher from sussex

    good food good service good value

  • ((((( 25 September 2019 by Jane from London

    Fab service and delicious food

  • ((((( 22 September 2019 by Ronald from fareham

    What can I say? Everything was superb. The food was perfect, the service was excellent even giving us a choice of tables and location. We were guided towards a wine we didn't know and we loved it. We will be back next time we visit Brighton.

  • ((((( 21 September 2019 by sara from Brighton

    The service was great and the food excellent.

  • ((((( 20 September 2019 by Malcolm from Cowfold

    Super lunch time meal. Great food , well presented .Dined outside in the September sunshine. First class service and food

  • ((((( 20 September 2019 by Fran from HAYWARDS HEATH

    We have been visiting English's for the past 6 months and it is one of our favourite restaurants in Brighton, the staff are always welcoming and cheerful. They are always able to provide recommendations on food choice and wines. My husband's favourite dish is the oysters and the lobster, myself I will try various different dishes but you do the best fish and chips. I like the quaintness of the restaurant and we have always received excellent service. Thank you

  • ((((( 18 September 2019 by Nick from Bury St Edmunds

    The whole ambiance of the restaurant is wonderful from the moment you enter the door. The entire menu is mouth-watering and you know that whichever dish you choose, it will have the most amazing, yet subtle flavours and be served in the most enticing manner.

  • ((((( 18 September 2019 by Marco from Hameenlinna

    Excellent experience, great service! Recommend

  • ((((( 18 September 2019 by Robert from Vrysoulles

    Excellent our special go to place many happy returns

  • ((((( 18 September 2019 by Sheila from Brighton

    Food delicious and excellent service from the staff

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant