map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

Fab service and delicious food

Jane 25 September 2019
from London

View all 598 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 598 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (461)
  • lunch (342)
  • romantic (247)
  • luxury (173)
  • private dining (149)
  • al fresco (142)
  • business (90)
  • value (85)
  • trendy (38)
  • child friendly (28)
  • large parties (27)
  • entertainment (26)
  • views (21)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((((( 8 October 2019 by Clive from London

    Great

  • ((((( 8 October 2019 by Caroline from Brighton

    Enjoyed everything.

  • ((((* 8 October 2019 by Michael from Brighton

    Good service and food

  • ((((( 6 October 2019 by Antony from London

    Excellent service. Very good food. Comfortable and pleasant surroundings.

  • ((((( 4 October 2019 by Chris from Hove

    Excellent service, excellent food, just a great place to eat at.

  • ((((( 3 October 2019 by Lizzie from Newton Abbot

    Wonderful evening - it was my birthday so there was some extra touches! We had the seafood platter which was delicious. Dined outside - truly memorable.

  • (**** 2 October 2019 by Robin from Hayward’s Heath

    Meal was very ordinary
    bordering on poor
    Service was very stereotyped
    Ordinary again , not worth 12.5 % already added to bill .
    Starter potted shrimp , nothing special
    Main course Mussels , Good
    Main course Scallops very poor
    Sent back because Luke warm
    4 very small scallops , Haggis balls the size of peas , consequently tasteless.
    £20 absolute rip off, as was extra bread , two slices £4
    v ordinary and not worth cost at all
    Should have had fish and chips

  • ((((( 1 October 2019 by Martin from Berkshire

    We booked on a recommendation from a friend, We had Wonderfull meal to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, we received a complimentary glass of fizz , food was superb & the service was excellent, would highly recommend this establishment
    Martin & Lucy

  • (((** 1 October 2019 by Fiona from Plaistow

    Lovely staff very helpful but I had the king prawns meant to be in slightly spicy sauce. There was no heat at all and prawns had no depth. I also had the fish risotto which could have added samphire or mullet row to bring out the flavour of the fish. It was a bit bland. Sauce under the rice was good. My husband enjoyed his mussels. My mother found the Dover sole a bit over cooked.

  • ((((( 30 September 2019 by Joanne from Worthing

    On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and given a complimentary drink as it was my friends 40th birthday. We ordered the roasted seafood platter with fries and bread,along with a lovely bottle of white wine. I have visited English’s several times before and the quality of service and the delicious food is always excellent. We will be back.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant