map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

The food was delicious, everyone said they would come back. The tuna cigar was the favourite starter. The bill was reasonable considering the amount of wine drunk and the number in the party.

Linda 15 April 2019
from Haywards Heath

View all 511 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 511 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (395)
  • lunch (297)
  • romantic (213)
  • luxury (149)
  • private dining (133)
  • al fresco (120)
  • business (80)
  • value (73)
  • trendy (34)
  • child friendly (25)
  • large parties (25)
  • entertainment (24)
  • views (15)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((* 24 January 2019 by Louise from Cambridge

    First time there as a toursit. Really good meal and service. A very enjoyable evening. Slightly cold in the restaurant but it was 0 degrees outside.

  • ((((( 23 January 2019 by Peter from Brighton

    Once again English’s never fails to deliver. Friends joined us and we had a wonderful meal. The “French Salon” is a beautiful dining area and the quality of all the seafood was exemplary. All staff are helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. This is not a stuffy restaurant, as so many are with this pedigree. Relaxed and amiable. Love you English’s.

  • ((((( 22 January 2019 by Michael from Hove

    Excellent evening- food and service exceptional

  • ((((* 17 January 2019 by Ruth from Brighton

    very good pate and lobster, lovely table in the window, nice atmosphere and charming service. One glaring exception. Why can't a waiter move water from bottle to glass without splash-sploshing it in such a careless manner? Utter nonsense. A terrible start to lunch.

  • ((((( 7 January 2019 by Sally from Brighton

    The staff are excellent and the food delicious. It was a shame there were two young children dining at a nearby table.

  • ((((( 2 January 2019 by Paul from Newport Pagnell

    Excellent service and food quality!

  • ((((* 2 January 2019 by Perin from Paris

    Nice meal, huge sea food plateau, good wine

  • ((((( 2 January 2019 by Matt from Nottingham

    Great food, great service and a lovely atmosphere and environment.
    The front of house team are attentive and friendly and make you feel welcome and comfortable very quickly.
    A great meal and experience and would love to return again.
    If I was local, this would be a regular place to visit for me.

  • ((((( 20 December 2018 by Ken from Brighton

    Kudos and thanks to the good people of @EnglishsoB for a rip roaring evening last night. Great food, booze and cheerful friendly efficient service from Antonio and his colleagues.

  • (((** 20 December 2018 by Andrew from Brighton

    The food and wine were excellent. The service by a Spanish waiter was charming and professional but there were some long waits - that was hardly surprising since we were the lone diners upstairs! I was surprised to find we were placed there as I had booked some time in advance. I was even more surprised that, given we were alone our entire meal we had been placed at a table tucked in the corner when we could easily have been given a table with pleasant window views.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant