map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

As good as usual!

Anthony 15 February 2019
from Hove

View all 496 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 496 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (383)
  • lunch (290)
  • romantic (208)
  • luxury (143)
  • private dining (128)
  • al fresco (120)
  • business (78)
  • value (70)
  • trendy (34)
  • child friendly (25)
  • large parties (25)
  • entertainment (24)
  • views (15)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((((* 19 November 2018 by Tim from brighton

    We had a fantastic evening everyone very attentive. The mussels starter was a little bland and under seasoned but the halibut and dover sole main courses were excellent. We have been before and will certainly visit again.

  • ((((* 18 November 2018 by William from Frant,Tunbridge Wells

    Good atmosphere, we could hear each other speak, sometimes tricky in large places. Interesting decor, clean and good food well prepared and served.
    Staff vy attentive and friendly. Also good value which is key to me

  • (((** 12 November 2018 by Suzanne from West sussex

    We all had an amazing meal, food was e trembly good and we weren’t rushed for another sitting which happens at a lot of restaurants these days. Will definately recommend to friends and will go again very soon

  • ((((( 12 November 2018 by Ingrid from Brighton

    lovely food and excellent service

  • ((((( 10 November 2018 by Susan from Hove

    We were recommended English's by a friend. It was mid-week so was not particularly busy. We were given a lovely private table by the window and were pleased that there was no background music playing as you get in so many places. Background music coupled with wooden floors make restaurants very noisy. It was lovely to be able to have a conversation and hear each other speak. The food was excellent, good choices and very tasty. Good selection of wines to choose from too. The service was also excellent. Our waiter was friendly and attentive, but not overly so. It all made for a very enjoyable evening. We will definitely be back.

  • ((((( 9 November 2018 by Delia from Hong kong

    As always good service. Oysters are the best.

  • ((((( 5 November 2018 by Sue from Worthing

    Best meal we've had since the last time we went there. Food great, staff lovely, atmosphere relaxing, what more could you want.

  • ((((( 25 October 2018 by Michael from Cranleigh, Surrey

    My wife enjoyed her excellent lobster - "so fresh"
    I had my usual wonderful fish and chips!

  • ((((* 19 October 2018 by Sally from Seaford

    A lovely restaurant with delightful staff. Wonderful food, however, the Sea bass was tiny and served without potatoes. A pudding was necessary to complete the evening.

  • ((((* 16 October 2018 by David from Fareham

    Good food, well cooked and presented. Good portion size. Excellent wine list and extensive food menu. The pudding menu was limited.
    Whole plaice slightly over-cooked, the steaks perfectly cooked and the fried fish excellent. Staff very friendly, the service a tad slow.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant