map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

The food was delicious, everyone said they would come back. The tuna cigar was the favourite starter. The bill was reasonable considering the amount of wine drunk and the number in the party.

Linda 15 April 2019
from Haywards Heath

View all 511 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 511 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (395)
  • lunch (297)
  • romantic (213)
  • luxury (149)
  • private dining (133)
  • al fresco (120)
  • business (80)
  • value (73)
  • trendy (34)
  • child friendly (25)
  • large parties (25)
  • entertainment (24)
  • views (15)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 19 March 2019 by Tamzin from London

    It was a real treat to eat English's. It was only the second time I had eaten here, and I think we were sat at the same table! It was a Monday night so very quiet, but the ambience was comfortable, and the staff were friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the food - I had a wonderful main of sole, mussels and beurre blanc, and my partner devoured a plate of fish and chip. We did eat too much, but we agreed it was a night to savour, while all around us danced Toulouse-Lautrec-inspired characters!

  • ((((( 9 March 2019 by Christopher from Manchester

    A very pleasant Birthday meal experience. With lovely fresh seafood (the mussels were excellent!) and good attentive service and a wine list that completed the food but did not go over budget!

  • ((((( 26 February 2019 by MR from Brighton

    Loosely tagged as a University Reunion, the evening we spent at English's was superb. Great food, great service and great that they tolerated our mild raucousness..! Only minor [and it is minor] gripe was that there was only one bottle of Viognier to select [First World Problemo], but ordering three of them fro the table certainly made me forget that on the night..

  • ((((( 22 February 2019 by George from London

    Overall we enjoyed our meal and dining experience. We ordered oysters lightly battered. My husband loved them although I thought the batter was a little heavy.
    Both of our starters were delightful
    Lobster & prawn croquettes and lobster bisque.
    our mains were both of a high standard although my dish was slightly dryer than I had expected
    The staff were very polite and professional.
    We did enjoy our meals and will be back

  • ((((( 19 February 2019 by Claire from Brighton

    Amazing food and the correct portion sizes, staff were attentive without interrupting the atmosphere

  • ((((( 15 February 2019 by Anthony from Hove

    As good as usual!

  • ((*** 14 February 2019 by James from Brighton

    So, the service was great and every member of staff was friendly but the atmosphere and quality of the food wasn’t great I am afraid. We were placed upstairs in a room on our own. The food we felt was also quite heavy where certain ingredients overpowered other flavours on the dish. Given the price that we paid, overall we weren’t delighted by our experience.

  • ((((( 8 February 2019 by Dennis from Brighton

    Excellent food, excellent service, overall would recommend it if you are in Brighton one of the best restaurants.

  • ((((( 8 February 2019 by Clive from London

    Great

  • ((((( 24 January 2019 by Angela from Hove

    Service attentive throughout our dining experience experience. Employees knowledgeable in their suggestions of wine selection and food choices. One should not miss trying the fish pie. If a fish pie can be artfully presented this is it. The fish pie arrived topped with a large tiger prawn surrounded by mussels and clams in their shells, underneath creamy mashed potatoes and buttered peas and a beautiful selection of fish in a creamy sauce. Also recommended is the rum baba with chestnuts and Chantilly. A truly memorable dining experience.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant