map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

As good as usual!

Anthony 15 February 2019
from Hove

View all 496 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 496 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (383)
  • lunch (290)
  • romantic (208)
  • luxury (143)
  • private dining (128)
  • al fresco (120)
  • business (78)
  • value (70)
  • trendy (34)
  • child friendly (25)
  • large parties (25)
  • entertainment (24)
  • views (15)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • breakfast (3)
  • ((((( 2 January 2019 by Paul from Newport Pagnell

    Excellent service and food quality!

  • ((((* 2 January 2019 by Perin from Paris

    Nice meal, huge sea food plateau, good wine

  • ((((( 2 January 2019 by Matt from Nottingham

    Great food, great service and a lovely atmosphere and environment.
    The front of house team are attentive and friendly and make you feel welcome and comfortable very quickly.
    A great meal and experience and would love to return again.
    If I was local, this would be a regular place to visit for me.

  • ((((( 20 December 2018 by Ken from Brighton

    Kudos and thanks to the good people of @EnglishsoB for a rip roaring evening last night. Great food, booze and cheerful friendly efficient service from Antonio and his colleagues.

  • (((** 20 December 2018 by Andrew from Brighton

    The food and wine were excellent. The service by a Spanish waiter was charming and professional but there were some long waits - that was hardly surprising since we were the lone diners upstairs! I was surprised to find we were placed there as I had booked some time in advance. I was even more surprised that, given we were alone our entire meal we had been placed at a table tucked in the corner when we could easily have been given a table with pleasant window views.

  • ((((( 18 December 2018 by Mark from Tynemouth

    It had been a while since dining at English’s - probably 6 years. So glad we came back - the staff are delightful and the monkfish to share was perfect - excellent!

  • ((((( 17 December 2018 by Geoff from Brighton

    As always, a lovely place to have lunch. Good food, wine and friendly, professional service in a traditional Brighton setting. Recommended.

  • ((((( 14 December 2018 by Helen from London

    Wonderful top quality seafood restaurant. The food is all freshly cooked and not only is it tasty and well presented, but there are also some unusual choices on the menu along with traditional favourites. There are also meat and vegetarian choices on the menu for those who aren't so keen on fish. This restaurant is iconic and with superb customer service to accompany superb food and drink, it's a perfect choice. It isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for and the fixed price menus are excellent value.

  • ((((( 11 December 2018 by Graham from BRIGHTON

    The four of us had a great time. Food was very good. Recommended wine was nice. Waiter was friendly and fairly efficient.

  • ((((( 26 November 2018 by George from Haywards Heath

    Amazing eating experience and excellent service

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant