map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
  • English's of Brighton - Brighton
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

Fab service and delicious food

Jane 25 September 2019
from London

View all 598 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.5 (((() (based on 598 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (461)
  • lunch (342)
  • romantic (247)
  • luxury (173)
  • private dining (149)
  • al fresco (142)
  • business (90)
  • value (85)
  • trendy (38)
  • child friendly (28)
  • large parties (27)
  • entertainment (26)
  • views (21)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((*** 25 October 2019 by John from Pitstone bucks

    Food too complicated
    Let fresh fish speak for itself
    Disappointed

  • ((((* 22 October 2019 by Susan from Brighton

    Lovely evening. Have not been here for a very long time I was very impressed with food and service . Have been to most of fish restaurants in Brighton this is now my favourite very traditional welcoming atmosphere will be back

  • ((((( 21 October 2019 by Tina from Stockholm

    Exellent!

  • ((((( 21 October 2019 by Sharon from London

    I felt as if I was stepping back in time. Wonderful food and perfectly cooked. Very tasty oysters! Absolutely loved the art on the walls - particularly upstairs. Waiters friendly and professional.

  • ((((( 21 October 2019 by Satinder from Redhill

    I was with 2 girl friends. We all loved the food and the recommended wine choice. We decided to go for the set menu which was very good value. Food was served in good time. The servers were attentive.

  • (**** 18 October 2019 by Freddie from Brighton

    Reasonably ok unfortunately the food isn’t up to standard the rump steak was grisly this is the second time I have experienced this at English’s restaurant. It’s also for what they deliver expensive out of 10 I would give 3 .

  • ((((( 18 October 2019 by Philip from Brighton

    Excellent food and service

  • ((((( 17 October 2019 by Heather from Eastbourne

    Excellent food and good value for money.

  • ((((( 14 October 2019 by Sue from Fareham

    Lovely food and ambiance

  • ((((( 11 October 2019 by Mark from Norwich

    We dined here on the second night of our stay in Brighton. It was a dinner booking based purely on having walked past during the day, checking out the menu and liking the look of it; only a cursory glance at the reviews on TripAdvisor! Not always the safest approach but we got lucky.
    Fantastic, absolutely fresh seafood, great service and a very pleasant atmosphere. Certainly not the cheapest restaurant around but firmly positioned in the "you get what you pay for" category. Excellent!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant