map placeholder

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

(((() Fish & Seafood
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
  • English's of Brighton - East Sussex
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £35

Excellent service and recommendations - made our anniversary really special.

Marina 02 June 2019
from Brighton

View all 535 reviews

Owned by the Leigh-Jones family since 1945, English’s of Brighton is the oldest restaurant in the city, found on a site with a rich 150-year history of seafood. Take a seat at the oyster bar and chat away to the head oysterman whilst your oysters are opened in front of you, and Prosecco flows from a tap. Alternatively, choose from 2 floors of dining rooms, or a table out on the heated terrace.

The English’s of Brighton menu reflects its heritage. Seasonal creations excite and inspire, while all the classics you would expect from a seafood restaurant are also on offer. The extensive wine list boasts over 100 wines, each handpicked by Simon Leigh-Jones.

For those not in the mood for seafood, English’s offer an exquisite meat menu, including steak and kidney pudding in the colder months, and plates that aren’t just for vegetarians.

Tucked away in the heart of The Lanes, a few minutes from the seafront and Brighton railway station, English’s of Brighton encompass everything you’re looking for in a seafood restaurant and more.

English's of Brighton

English's of Brighton, 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL

Contact +44 1273327980
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in East Sussex

See all restaurants in Brighton

Customer reviews for English's of Brighton

4.4 (((() (based on 535 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (412)
  • lunch (311)
  • romantic (222)
  • luxury (155)
  • private dining (137)
  • al fresco (127)
  • business (83)
  • value (76)
  • trendy (34)
  • large parties (26)
  • child friendly (25)
  • entertainment (24)
  • views (17)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • breakfast (4)
  • ((((( 2 June 2019 by Marina from Brighton

    Excellent service and recommendations - made our anniversary really special.

  • ((((( 31 May 2019 by Kevin from Worthing

    Really good food and service

  • (((** 30 May 2019 by Peter from London

    It was with great disappointment having been in Brighton travelling from London especially for Lobster Night that it was not on and I believe we were not the only people that asked.... we were there on a relatively early table so I cannot see why such a restaurant would not be prepared even given any prior demand. It did not help that we heard the Maitre D whisper to a waiter that they were going to ''try to get away with it '', very unprofessional indeed. I am afraid it rather clouded our judgement of English's even though the meal we ordered was very nice. Had our expectation been met with your promise from your own website I am sure we would have been very happy and would return to try other things on the menu. We need eating out in the UK to be honest and deliver to customer expectations at the very least to promote an active clientele- one that keeps coming back for more, the excuse given was presented with little confidence and having heard the comment we know it was a choice on the night.
    I will answer NO to recommendation based on our experience and of course we will re tell the story which wont do you any favours.

  • ((((( 29 May 2019 by Richard from London

    Lovely restaurant, fabulous meal, sensational oysters and champagne, and in a lovely part of the Lanes in Brighton.

  • ((((( 29 May 2019 by Liz from Brighton

    Thank you so much to English's of Brighton & VisitBrighton for and amazing meal on Monday. Beautifully classic & refined seafood, with exquisite service. Although we were gifted this meal through a competition, we were made to feel as special as any paying guest. It was a fantastic night and the food was magnificent. Thank you everyone for a wonderful evening

  • (((** 28 May 2019 by Susan from leatherhead

    Love this restaurant when visiting Brighton, however, mussels were not good, although replaced immediately, sole, creamed potatoes and spinach also a disappointing dish. Not up to their usual standards

  • (((** 28 May 2019 by Sarah from Cuckfield

    Food was nice, perhaps a little over priced. Service was at times a bit slow, we had to ask for our wine to be topped up. There was nothing that made you feel really valued as a customer but overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • (**** 23 May 2019 by David from Buckinghamshire

    All in all a pretty dreadfull experience. I pre booked for my wifes birthday and accompanied by 2 friends one of whom is an executive chef with an extremely well known hotel and restaurant group, travelled from Buckinghamshire for a weekend in Brighton. We arrived 15 minutes late due to various circumstances but my apologies were not accepted by an obnoxious member of staff who appeared to be in charge. This person informed us continually that we had to be off the table by 8.30 as it was re booked. We should have walked out then but bit the bullet and held my tongue and we were shown to our table. I noticed that the restaurant was not very busy for a Saturday evening, that should have warned me. We had oysters to start which were in fact very good, but as they were in the raw and very little effort made then why would there be a problem? We had four different main courses the details of which I wont bore you with apart from to say that the service was very slow, considering previous comments, the meals were extremely bland, poorly prepared and extremely expensive. My chef friend was to say the least very unimpressed with the whole thing but at my request held his counsel. We left the restaurant at 8.40 and noted that there were still a large number of empty tables. Needless to say we will not be returning and will be advising our numerous friends family and social media contacts to avoid.

  • (**** 22 May 2019 by Sue from Coventry

    Sorry but we were disappointed. We ordered half lobster with aioli and Margaret could not cut it as so stringy not enjoyed at all. I had Full lobster newburg and it was ok but not special. Only claw meat was tender

  • ((*** 22 May 2019 by Freddie from Brighton

    Very expensive for mediocre food unfortunately the experience wasn’t good. The menu was pretty pore .

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant