Reviews of English's of Brighton

4.5
(based on 621 reviews)
English's of Brighton 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL
621 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Bernadine B from Brighton
    23 January 2020

    We had a really lovely evening at English's celebrating a special birthday. The service was very attentive, without being over-bearing. Very friendly atmosphere. The food was amazing, the best dover sole I have ever eaten! Little touches like a glass of celebratory fizz on arrival and 'Happy Birthday' on the pudding plate all made a very positive difference to the overall experience. Thank you!

  • By Deborah K from Brighton
    19 January 2020

    Excellent service Good choice of fish on menu, unfortunately no fish of the day or fish stew available but plenty to choose from. Reasonable prices for very good food.

  • By Paul B from Bournemouth
    11 January 2020

    Easy to book online and, oysters Kilpatrick are out of this world, great wine and the staff made us very welcome. The lobster was stunning.

  • By Jason F from Brighton
    4 January 2020

    A really warm welcome and taken straight to our table, menus provided really quickly along with chilled water. Left to review the menus with no pressure, all questions around the menu answered in a clear and polite manner. Wine was superb and the fish of the day was the best I've had. Cannot recommend this venue highly enough

  • By James K from Arundel
    2 January 2020

    Over the years I've often dined at English's, which is a traditional fish restaurant in the Lanes. While my fresh oysters and Dover Sole were good, my wife selected the fixed price lunch menu. Her main dish (seabass) a supposed specialty was lukewarm and over-cooked. On mentioning this to a waiter his comment was "Sorry about that". We will not return

  • By Sally S from Herefordshire
    24 December 2019

    Delicious fresh fish very well cooked. Friendly staff who gave us a glass of bubbly as a birthday treat. Rather old fashioned decor and atmosphere but that suites people like us who cannot cope with the noisy modern gastro restaurants!

  • By Debs M from London
    22 December 2019

    We had the festive set menu. Food was good, good choice on the menu and staff were helpful and attentive. We will definitely be back!

  • By CM D from Warlingham
    22 December 2019

    Thoroughly reliable and excellent value; as usual and as expected. Competent kitchen. Excellent front of house staff

  • By Gary A from Sevenoaks
    21 December 2019

    Lovely ambience with friendly efficient service and wonderful food.

  • By Marie-Alix M from Brighton
    20 December 2019

    Delicious - roasted sharing platter was fabulously fresh.