Reviews of English's of Brighton

4.5
(based on 642 reviews)
English's of Brighton 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL
642 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Andrew L from Brighton
    10 March 2020

    Good service in this old fashioned restaurant . Good value for very high quality fish dishes.

  • By Martyn B from Redditch
    6 March 2020

    Very attentive staff, beautiful food exquisitely prepared.

  • By John C from London
    5 March 2020

    On what had been a very wet and generally miserable day, we were made most welcome for a celebratory meal - my wife's birthday. The welcome was warm, the service attentive but not overly so and the food was top notch. A totally enjoyable evening.

  • By Zana M from London
    4 March 2020

    Set menu with a steak and the free house white wine was actually amazing hahaha steak was perfect but salty or was it chips or the peppercorn sauce :? Oyster great Croquettes was weird not enough lobster Bloody Mary oyster was strange far too spicy but liked the way the acidity from tomatoes Overall enjoyable experience and tasty but maybe a tad too much salt on mains!

  • By Kathryn Helen B from St. Albans
    23 February 2020

    Excellent service and the food Scallops and Lobster Thermidor a meal to remember

  • By Jo R from Chislehurst
    22 February 2020

    The food was excellent and the service sublime. Our waitress was so efficient and friendly with it.

  • By Vince M from Sandwich Kent
    22 February 2020

    Excellent as ever. We make a point of eating in Englishs whenever we visit Brighton because we love the food and ambience. It's a real treat that we first discovered 12 years ago and never fails to feel special.

  • By Nev K from Bromley
    20 February 2020

    Absolutely delicious!

  • By David W from London
    17 February 2020

    We were a little disappointed at the attitude of your waitress. She was supposed to be our hostess, but her attitude was cold and unfriendly. The food however was good and we generally had a good time.

  • By Lottie K from brighton
    15 February 2020

    This was such a lovely experience for us. Very friendly staff right from the off, accommodated my online request to be seated in a corner due to my hard of hearing mum. The restaurant was nicely laid out and had a nice atmosphere. The food was excellent, & service throughout was fantastic. We will certainly be back!