Reviews of English's of Brighton

4.5
(based on 606 reviews)
English's of Brighton 29 - 31, East Street, Brighton, BN1 1HL
606 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jeremy C from Hitchin
    25 November 2019

    Good menu and good wine list reasonably priced I think the main chef must have had a night off because the cooking was disappointing. Thin sauce and overcooked fish in my stew. Waiting staff friendly and keen so the food issues a surprise.

  • By Ian W from lindfield
    20 November 2019

    Very good food indeed.wonderful oysters.only criticism was the size of the fish portion in the fish and chips.It was vast.Far,Far too big.

  • By TL L from Brighton
    16 November 2019

    The restaurant was very welcoming, the service was excellent. I had the avocado soup with crab meat to start - which was very interesting and lovely although it could possibly of done with a touch more crab meat and maybe a swirl of balsamic reduction or something. My wife had the lobster and prawn croquettes, they too were lovely. I had the whole Plaice for my main which was cooked to perfection, I liked the hazelnuts with it and also thought that was an interesting and nice addition although I would have preferred it if they were finely chopped as they were quite fiddly to eat. I also felt as though the endive could have been charred to add extra flavour. My Dauphinois potatoes which came with my main were not the highlight, they needed more liquid in them during cooking and as a result they were quite dry, they had also been over seasoned with nutmeg which didn’t compliment the rest of my food. I think garlic dauphinois would have been better. I would have served them on a separate dish also as they didn’t really fit on the plate with the whole Plaice. My wife had the lemon sole fillets with mushroom risotto which was very nice and had an amazing flavour, she felt the risotto rice was under cooked but I thought it was fine - I think that that is more the result of us British preferring our rice and pasta more cooked than those from the continent! The wine selection was excellent and the Brazilian white we had went very well with our food. I felt also that parts of the decor could do with updating however I did like the vintage feel to it. I also felt that our dinner was priced perfectly for the food and service, at about £130 I was very happy to spend that for what we had received. These are very small things and overall we had an excellent evening, I have already recommended to friends!

  • By Paul M from Brighton
    16 November 2019

    Beautiful lobster, great steak. My sister had marvellous, generous prawns and my girlfriend enjoyed a huge and wonderfully cooked plaice. A nice selection of wines and local beers, and a table with a view. A splendid evening. Thank you. Will come again!

  • By Helen P from Farnham
    16 November 2019

    Lovely atmosphere, delicious food and great service.

  • By Sue B from Brighton
    14 November 2019

    Amazing food as always

  • By Carol Mason M from Brighton
    12 November 2019

    Food was delicious & service excellent have already booked for next week

  • By Mary H from Pevensey
    9 November 2019

    Excellent meal. Seafood platter was out of this world. Friendly staff and excellent service.

  • By Alan D from Seaford
    8 November 2019

    Brilliant calamari starters followed by moules, lobster with garlic butter, and bottle of muscadet! Beautiful food and absolutely lovely staff.

  • By Richard G from LONDON,
    8 November 2019

    We went for the oysters and were delighted to find lobster on the menu too. Simple (but very good) food, well presented by friendly and helpful staff.