Reviews of Oulton Hall

4.5
(based on 149 reviews)
Rothwell Lane Oulton, Leeds, Yorkshire, LS26 8HN
149 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jack G from Leeds
    23 November 2019

    It was pretty good. The starter (black pudding) was lovely and different, main (sirloin steak)was good, if a little tough and chewy. However it was a very good portion and the wine was decent. No room for desert however did have a port and Irish coffee (which was a little watery). Service decent and quick although there was a queue to get in the place. Overall it was good, the cost does impact your view a little bit (£150 for 2), for the price you’d just say it was good, not amazing.

  • By Margaret S from Leeds
    15 November 2019

    80th champagne afternoon tea. Efficient and attentive staff and the food was lovely and fresh. Oulton hall has a very relaxed atmosphere, perfect for afternoon tea.

  • By Lorraine W from Hull
    3 November 2019

    I went with my husband to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The waiter was very polite and attentive and soon bought the wine that we had ordered. However there apparently had been a problem with the computer system and the food orders had not reached the kitchen. The waiter relayed this information after half an hour but we still had to wait an extra half an hour for our starter to arrive! As the starters were pate I wasn't impressed that I had to wait a further 30 mins after the error had been discovered. On top of that a table of 8 who had arrived after us were served their starters before us. The meal itself when it finally arrived was very good but by this time it was 10 o clock at night so couldn't fully appreciate it. Waiters apologetic but really think a hotel of this grade should have got their act together. Not the best way to celebrate a wedding anniversary.

  • By Fiona B from Wakefield
    31 October 2019

    Tea with friends was great, the "butler" was attentive and friendly and very accommodating with our food choice. The food was fantastic, I had coronation chicken I artic bread with a few sneaky ones from my friends- they had cheese, egg, ham and tuna. The warm quiche was delicious, the scones were sooooo fresh! the teeny tiny cakes were yummy. but I am not 100% certain cream should be served in a sauce boat. Our only hicough of the visit was a discrepancy with the bill- we were charged the weekend rate which was £4 each more, not happy about that but it was sorted out promptly. The Halloween theme around the hotel was lovely we enjoyed the sweeties and the oranges, many thanks to the staff for that.

  • By Lynne C from Leeds
    25 October 2019

    Afternoon tea at Oulton Hall. I have been to this venue lots of times so knew what to expect. The venue is beautiful. Service and staff first class. The scones as usual are delicious. However, I feel the sweet selection has been scaled down and I now feel the overall experience is very expensive. Disappointed as I love the venue.

  • By Debbie A from Leeds
    25 October 2019

    Afternoon tea with my daughter, Mum & sister was amazing!

  • By Peter A from Bury St Edmunds
    2 October 2019

    Good starter (Torched Mackerel), OK Mains (Ribeye), Reasonable dessert (Cheese). Service could only be described as adequate - lacked charm.

  • By Karen W from Mirfield
    20 September 2019

    Staff were helpful and considerate to customers needs. However on arrival at the ‘Claret jug’ we were told it was carvery. This wasn’t advertised or mentioned on booking. Then the choices on the carvery were a bizarre mix: beautiful roast pork, pork chop, chilli, macaroni cheese, new potatoes, mixed veg etc. For £28 felt like a mix up of all left overs. I didn’t expect this from such a place.

  • By Tatjana C from Leeds
    15 September 2019

    When I was booking our visit online, everything was so easy to follow through, I did ring up a day before to sort out the bill and person on the phone was so polite! It was absolutely beautiful from start to finish, we were celebrating my partners birthday! Nothing was too much trouble, we had an amazing afternoon tea with plenty of options, tea was delicious and atmosphere was so warm and inviting, almost didn't want to leave. All staff are well presented and concierge was very helpful. Overall it was excellent

  • By Lisa W from Stockton-on-Tees
    9 September 2019

    Helpful, attentive service, above and beyond service, warm welcome, very much disabled friendly, good choice of food and beverages, impressive presentation, comfortable seating, decor showed attention to detail