map placeholder

Dastaan

447 Kingston Road, Ewell, KT19 0DB

((((( Indian
  • Dastaan - Surrey
  • Dastaan - Surrey
  • Dastaan - Surrey
  • Dastaan - Surrey
  • Dastaan - Surrey
  • Dastaan - Surrey
  • Dastaan - Surrey
Average
Main course: £11
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Tuesday to Friday: 17:00 - 22:30
Saturday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 17:00 - 22:30
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 17:00 - 21:30.

An absolutely superb meal - in fact stunning - those guys know their flavours and each person of the 4 party group was completely impressed by the quality of the food offered. Difficult to think there is anything in this part of SW London/North Surrey remotely equivalent. 10 out of 10!

Sean 26 September 2019
from Reigate

View all 367 reviews

Dastaan in Epsom is the proud holder of a Michelin Bib Gourmand, and serves a superb selection of exotic delicacies from across India, each made with inventive signature twists.

Time-honoured Indian recipes on the Dastaan menu are given modern updates, and feature the finest seasonal British produce alongside imported spices. Signature starters include the Achari venison chop with plum chutney and pickled onions, as well as the duck and quail seekh kebab with apple murabba. Aromatic curries feature spice levels for every palate, while a dedicated vegetarian menu is filled with gourmet treats.

A selection of freshly baked breads at Dastaan in Epsom make perfect accompaniments, while from the bar there is a diverse wine list, as well as an international beer list and selection of spirits.

Serving up award-winning Indian dishes in a relaxed, modern setting, Dastaan is a 6-minute drive from Tolworth Rail Station.

Dastaan

447 Kingston Road, Ewell, KT19 0DB

Contact +44 2087868999
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Surrey

See all restaurants in Epsom

Customer reviews for Dastaan

4.8 ((((( (based on 367 reviews)
98% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location ((((*
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (327)
  • lunch (111)
  • value (94)
  • large parties (49)
  • child friendly (46)
  • trendy (43)
  • private dining (34)
  • romantic (28)
  • entertainment (27)
  • business (24)
  • luxury (15)
  • al fresco (1)
  • (((** 8 July 2019 by Steven from Ewell

    We had dined here before (mid 2018), and raved about it to our friends. The atmosphere was intimate and rustic (but not a pretentious rustic). The food was excellent, rich flavours, spices filling our nose. And excellent service. Good value for money.

    We came back in July 2019, and the service again remained excellent. As was the setting, still rustic, still suitable for young families (without ever feeling noisy and unruly). Perfect. However, the food was more disappointing. The lamb Rogan Josh was a lot wetter than I am used to: the lamb was beautifully cooked, but when served, it almost resembled lamb meat in soup). My wife's Chicken Karahi tasted wonderful, but the chicken was quite dry. She wondered whether the chicken had been cooked separately form the sauce rather than cooked with the sauce. So, our most recent trip was a mixed bag. One that is a little less value for money.

    We will still come back, for one more meal, in the hope of repeating our first experience. As I want Dastassn to do really well.

  • ((((( 8 July 2019 by Marian from London

    Excellent food, fabulous service an overall great experience

  • ((((( 8 July 2019 by Nigel from Bournemouth

    Great evening with friends sharing some of the extensive range of Dastaan dishes. Great to try something new like Duck Chettinad and Aubergine Masala. Service was relaxed as always which added to the atmosphere which became buzzy as the evening progressed and was really good fun.

  • ((((( 8 July 2019 by Virginia from Epsom

    Fabulous quality, lovely fresh ingredients and very flavourful , you need to book well in advance to secure a table. Lovely friendly staff able to explain the menu and make recommendations.

  • ((((( 7 July 2019 by Neil from Epsom

    The lamb chops are dynamite!

  • ((((* 6 July 2019 by Wendy from Epsom

    Staff were very helpful explaining the menu thoroughly. The food was not the run of the mill curry, it was delicious with amazing flavours and smells. We were not hurried giving us plenty of time to sup several very good bottles of wine. The only not so much negative but perhaps a future positive is that the noise level was rather loud. Perhaps putting carpet down would muffle it?

  • ((((( 17 June 2019 by Lara from Sutton

    Excellent food, attentive staff and a lovely menu.

  • ((((( 17 June 2019 by James from Esher

    Our third visit and it is always a treat. The food is truly outstanding and we had a memorable experience. The popularity of Dastaan is evidenced by the need to book in plenty of time. As usual it was full but this did not detract from exceptional service. This was a Father's Day invitation by our sons and we were served a special starter of Baby Chicken cooked in the Tandor. The flavour was amazing. It was one of the best dishes we have ever tasted and all 4 of us agreed, If we had any reservations we would express them but it was simply brilliant. We were looked after by Sanjay and it was such a bonus as his enthusiasm was infectious. His passion for his work was so clear and he made our visit even more interesting when he shared his knowledge. For the benefit of those who may read this and have not yet visited you are in for a treat. Bearing in mind the exceptional quality on all counts it was outstanding value for money. The Michelin Star rating is richly deserved. Great atmosphere. "WOW".

  • ((((( 16 June 2019 by Daniel from Camberley

    Very welcoming and exquisite food.

  • ((((( 14 June 2019 by Kirsty from London

    Fantastic, as usual. It's our 5th or 6th time and was as good as ever. Great service and delicious food.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant