Guide MICHELIN 2020

Dastaan

(388 Reviews)
447 Kingston Road, Ewell, Surrey, KT19 0DB
Indian

Average

Main course: £11
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Tuesday to Friday: 17:00 - 22:30
Saturday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 17:00 - 22:30
Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 & 17:00 - 21:30.

Restaurant description

Dastaan in Epsom is the proud holder of a Michelin Bib Gourmand, and serves a superb selection of exotic delicacies from across India, each made with inventive signature twists.

Time-honoured Indian recipes on the Dastaan menu are given modern updates, and feature the finest seasonal British produce alongside imported spices. Signature starters include the Achari venison chop with plum chutney and pickled onions, as well as the duck and quail seekh kebab with apple murabba. Aromatic curries feature spice levels for every palate, while a dedicated vegetarian menu is filled with gourmet treats.

A selection of freshly baked breads at Dastaan in Epsom make perfect accompaniments, while from the bar there is a diverse wine list, as well as an international beer list and selection of spirits.

Serving up award-winning Indian dishes in a relaxed, modern setting, Dastaan is a 6-minute drive from Tolworth Rail Station.

Customer reviews for Dastaan
4.8
(based on 388 reviews)

98%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • al fresco (1)
  • business (25)
  • child friendly (48)
  • dinner (345)
  • entertainment (27)
  • large parties (50)
  • lunch (114)
  • luxury (16)
  • private dining (37)
  • romantic (29)
  • trendy (48)
  • value (98)
  • By Alex G from London
    14 November 2019

    Best curry restaurant bar none by far! Delicious tastes within every dish served. Service spectacular too! They should be very proud of their creation! Sanjay and team are extremely talented!

  • By Guido P from Epsom
    12 November 2019

    Ever since Dastaan opened its door we often find ourselves return to this little oasis in Ewell. We tried the new fish curry last night (sea bass) which was absolutely delicious and Date and Quince Kheer delightful. Service faultless as always.

  • By Janet E from Epsom
    9 November 2019

    The quality of the food was excellent. The type of dishes is so different to other restaurants. The staff were very professional and helpful. The booking system is very easy to use. The best Indian food we have eaten.

  • By Gary K from London
    9 November 2019

    A lovely place, central London Michelin guide quality out in the ‘burbs

  • By Jamie B from Ewell
    8 November 2019

    Amazing! Best curry in the country!

  • By Chris E from Epsom
    8 November 2019

    Been going here a few times now as very local, however, we as a party of four weren’t too impressed with the overall quality of food this time, added to the fact that if you are on the early sitting, you are almost ushered from your seats when your window is about to end.

  • By Yvonne R from Surbiton
    8 November 2019

    Wonderful food, beautifully cooked, friendly service and understandably very popular so a need to plan ahead and book. The methi chicken and malabsorption prawns were delicious!

  • By Kathy H from Epsom
    3 November 2019

    Always such a super meal , and lovely informed and friendly staff. They have no competition locally I’m sure . Just a great little place to eat.

  • By Kate M from Cheam
    3 November 2019

    We went as a family of 6 adults all new to this restaurant. The staff were all really helpful at explaining all the dishes and helping us choose. The food was excellent, we had a good variety between us all, I especially liked the broccoli dish and mustard pototo. Overall a really good evening, I will certainly be going back soon.

  • By Emma W from Epsom
    2 November 2019

    Dastaan is fabulous, a hidden jewel in Epsom. The staff are attentive and brilliant at explaining the menu, and the food is exquisitely prepared. It’s a real gem of a place, the menu is fabulous. If you want something more upscale than the Indian food you’re used to, and different and packed full of flavour, then I suggest you visit while it’s still a semi hidden gem. The waiting lists for the 8.30pm seating say all you need to know about how great it is. Having been twice now I already want to go back again and try other dishes from the menu. Go go go!

Restaurant Location Map
Dastaan
447 Kingston Road, Ewell, Surrey, KT19 0DB