map placeholder

Darwin’s Kitchen

15 St Mary's Street, Shrewsbury, SY1 1EQ

((((* British
  • Darwin’s Kitchen - Shropshire
  • Darwin’s Kitchen - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  • Darwin’s Kitchen - Shropshire
  • Darwin’s Kitchen - Shropshire
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday : 10:00 - 21:30
Sunday : 10:00 - 17:00

Friendly , good food , reasonable prices and excellent service

Eamonn 05 May 2019
from Shrewsbury

View all 34 reviews

Darwin's Kitchen is the latest addition to Shrewsbury-based company The DiTella Group, also comprising of The Loopy Shrew and Darwin's Townhouse. Head Chef Daniel Brearley has carefully created a wide ranging menu offering guests a social dining experience in a warm and inviting environment, perfect for any occasion any time of day. Cosy up on the sofas with your morning coffee and paper and watch the world go by, catch up with friends in their tropical, leafy conservatory or treat your nearest and dearest to dinner in The Dining Room, a firm nod to Charles Darwin's roots and style.

The Kitchen offers an eclectic choice of small and big plates including British favourites. Tuck into hearty dishes like sticky orange and garlic rump of lamb with crushed garlic heritage potatoes or trio of Wenlock Edge sausages with root vegetable mash. Mini crab cakes with sweetcorn and scallion salsa or pork gyoza with Thai mushroom broth provide lighter options. Vegetarians can choose from dishes like buffalo mozzarella with confit of heritage tomatoes or beetroot and goats cheese arancini with aged balsamic.

You could round off with pear and blackberry Eton mess or blood orange meringue pie. The wine list has been carefully selected from local wine merchants, offering a list with a difference. There’s more choice with an enticing array of cocktails, beers and spirits.

Darwin’s Kitchen is a 6-minute walk from Shrewsbury Train Station. It also boasts four boutique bedrooms, including one luxurious suite and 3 superior doubles. Perfect for a midweek treat or weekend getaway.

Darwin’s Kitchen

15 St Mary's Street, Shrewsbury, SY1 1EQ

Contact +44 1743358870
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Shropshire

See all restaurants in Shrewsbury

Customer reviews for Darwin’s Kitchen

4.0 ((((* (based on 34 reviews)
82% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (19)
  • lunch (16)
  • trendy (10)
  • value (10)
  • romantic (9)
  • large parties (6)
  • private dining (5)
  • business (4)
  • entertainment (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • child friendly (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((* 15 February 2017 by Kevin from Shrewsbury

    Really nice range of food and drink and very delicious

  • (**** 13 February 2017 by Spurling from Shrewsbury

    Service was poor. Waiter brought out 3 meals after a 45 minute wait, although we ordered for 4 people. Side order was also forgotten about. Drink for my daughter took ages.

  • ((((* 2 February 2017 by Juliet from SHREWSBURY

    Good food and helpful, friendly staff

  • ((((* 8 January 2017 by Hilary from Shrewsbury

    Friendly welcome - perfect steak, cooked exactly as requested, one of the tastiest I've had in Shrewsbury. This is our 2nd visit, & we are both finding the liquid desserts a bit irresistible! Perfect if you're too full for a normal dessert but want a bit of delicious, alcohol-laden indulgence to end the meal! Great buzz & background music- just one slight negative thing - it's a little cramped & some of the chairs are very wonky & feel unsafe - we had to swap 2.........& the cock-eyed mirror is maybe a bit more annoying than cool!?

  • ((*** 3 September 2016 by N.H from Shrewsbury

    I've visited Porterhouse before and wasn't impressed so I was hoping that it would have improved this time.
    We arrived at the time we booked our table to find it wasn't ready. After a while we were shown to out table and the food was good.
    Staff were very nice but I still feel this is a very overpriced restaurant for the quality of the food they serve.

  • ((((* 3 August 2016 by Jess from Oswestry

    The food was great, but the service was lacking.

  • ((((* 13 July 2016 by Will from Shrewsbury

    Lovely, new menu change is better than the previous one. Burger Monday's are very good value ! The only downside is that everytime we visit we can never finish the meal! Very generous portion sizes. Overall an enjoyable evening and we will be back again.

  • ((((* 2 July 2016 by Rosanne from Shrewsbury

    Very good as usual.

  • ((((* 28 May 2016 by Charlotte from Telford

    Good experience dining at SY1 Porterhouse
    Ate a vegetarian burger which was quite nice, not what I expected

  • ((((* 26 March 2016 by Rosan from Shrewsbury

    Lovely meal. A lunch special. Very helpful waitress. Will visit again very soon.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant