map placeholder

CSons

8 Milk Street, Shrewsbury, SY1 1SZ

((((( International
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
  • CSons - Shropshire
Opening hours
Monday to Tuesday: 09:00 - 15:30
Wednesday to Saturday: 09:00 - 22:00
Sunday: 10:00 - 15:00.

Excellent breakfast as always and great service. The pancakes are an absolute hit every time! My favourite place in Shrewsbury.

Beth 10 September 2019
from Shrewsbury

View all 162 reviews

Run by four brothers, CSons is a homely cafe and restaurant in Shrewsbury, serving a superb selection of large and small plate dishes. Diners can also stop in for a slice of cake and cup of coffee, perfect to enjoy in the tranquil al fresco patio area.

Locally sourced produce from carefully chosen suppliers goes into the CSons menu. An international selection of breakfast dishes start off the day, including Mexican eggs with spicy tomato on toast, and fluffy American-style pancakes with Shropshire honey and praline. Later on there are small plate sharers like salt beef croquettes with fennel and blood orange, or try one of the hearty mains, with options including cod cheek and chermoula tagine.

The selection of cakes at CSons in Shrewsbury includes gluten-free varieties, while coffee comes from Square Mile Roasters. There is also a range of loose leaf teas, while stiffer drinks include local ales and ciders, and a concise wine list.

An inviting spot for all-day dining, be it a sit-down meal or casual cup of coffee and slice of cake, CSons is a 10-minute walk from Shrewsbury Rail Station.

CSons

8 Milk Street, Shrewsbury, SY1 1SZ

Contact +44 1743272709
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Shropshire

See all restaurants in Shrewsbury

Customer reviews for CSons

4.8 ((((( (based on 162 reviews)
99% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (122)
  • lunch (113)
  • trendy (79)
  • breakfast (73)
  • value (71)
  • romantic (39)
  • child friendly (35)
  • afternoon tea (20)
  • large parties (19)
  • al fresco (15)
  • business (14)
  • private dining (11)
  • entertainment (10)
  • luxury (6)
  • views (2)
  • ((((( 17 August 2019 by Mark from SHREWSBURY

    Great food. Best in Shrewsbury

  • ((((( 13 August 2019 by Fleur from Shrewsbury

    Fantastic vegetarian food as always, and efficient, friendly people. My favorite lunch place in town.

  • ((((( 10 August 2019 by Jane from Shrewsbury, Shrooshire

    Fabulous as always

  • (((** 8 August 2019 by Tim from Ludlow

    Rather disappointing and expensive overall. The menu was rather eclectic and I am sure that it would appeal to some people but we found the choice rather limited.
    The pudding and coffee was fine and the staff were lovely.

  • ((((( 4 August 2019 by Peter from Coalbrookdale

    This restaurant is a favourite for lunch when meeting up with friends for the farmers market. Service is very good, as is the ambience and layout of the place. For summer there is courtyard dining which is a good option. The food, the most important bit, is very good indeed. The most common choice for us is the steak sandwich on sourdough. The steak is cooked with care and is always tender, the sourdough is grilled to a nice crispness, but for us it's the salad leaves mixed with herbs and the dressing contained in the sandwich which make this a very satisfying and good flavour filled lunch choice. We have had other choices from the menu and have been equally delighted but the steak for those of us that don't eat much meat these days, has real allure. I also had the VERY best baked apple pudding here. It was baked al dente ( not easy to achieve) and dressed with clotted cream and a delicious caramel sauce akin to ones I'ver had in Portugal and South America. I've tried to recreate it at home a few times with no great success. I'm waiting for it to reappear ( a plea to the excellent chefs) on the menu in the autumn as it was wonderful. Overall a superb place to eat and enjoy what is evidently well sourced and good food.

  • ((((( 30 July 2019 by Lucy from Shrewsbury

    Restaurant is located in the centre of town over two units. The decor is quite modern with lots of natural woods and nods to the age of the building with wood panelling etc.
    The menu was really interesting with something for every dietary requirement. We did have to get some things explained but that added to the experience. The food itself was outstanding and the staff were attentive and engaging. They also made sure to wish the husband a happy birthday and we'd definitely go back for something special again. Also special mention to the Hereford Mojito - thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Some constructive criticism could be focused on the lighting. We were in quite a small area yet there were 5 bulbs shining on us which for an evening meal felt a little bright.

  • (((** 23 July 2019 by Sarah from Shrewsbury

    Nice restaurant, very relaxed. I was a little disappointed with the food overall in all honesty but the staff were incredibly helpful and changed my meal for an alternative. I wasn't as blown away as i'd hoped to be, but overall i will definitely consider it again.. particularly for the breakfast/ lunch options which i would imagine would be very well done.

  • ((((( 22 July 2019 by Deborah from Shrewsbury

    Lovely meal - great atmosphere, prompt and friendly service, delicious food and drink!

  • ((((( 22 July 2019 by Paula from Tibberton

    Superb lunch, great service delicious, flavoursome food which is a bit different, love it here

  • ((((( 21 July 2019 by Howard from Shrewsbury

    Excellent as ever. Possibly best food we have had there-but it’s always great

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant