Coconut Bar & Kitchen

(172 Reviews)
62-63 St. Mary's Butts, Reading, Berkshire, RG1 2LG
Pan-Asian
View main menu

Top offer

2 dishes from Brunch Menu & unlimited prosecco £25 per person

Available for 2 hours

Average

Main course: £12
Food spend: £23

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 01:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 02:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 00:00.

Restaurant description

Serving inventive, eclectic Pan-Asian flavours in an intimate setting, Coconut Bar & Kitchen is a stylish eatery in the centre of Reading. The chic industrial interior features numerous contemporary touches, while the bar area boasts a selection of over 50 cocktails.

Exotic dishes from across the Orient feature on the Coconut Bar & Kitchen menu, kicking off with tempting starters like sticky Thai wings marinated in garlic and lemongrass, then wok-fried with honey chilli sauce. Traditional Korean bibimbap is made with fresh, crisp vegetables and choices like marinated steak, there are mouthwatering noodles specialities, and perfectly spiced Thai and Japanese curries too.

More exotic flavours can be found on the dessert menu at Coconut Bar & Kitchen in Reading, such as mango and coconut cheesecake. From the bar, inventive colourful cocktails include signature specials, fruity mixes, and dessert treats.

A vibrant, contemporary space to enjoy Asian flavours, Coconut Bar & Kitchen is moments from Broad Street Mall, and 8 minutes' walk from Reading Rail Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Coconut Bar & Kitchen
4.4
(based on 172 reviews)

96%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (2)
  • al fresco (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • business (14)
  • child friendly (1)
  • dinner (139)
  • entertainment (35)
  • large parties (56)
  • lunch (58)
  • luxury (16)
  • private dining (19)
  • romantic (34)
  • trendy (92)
  • value (40)
  • views (2)
  • By Charley P from Basingstoke
    13 March 2020

    Food, cocktails and atmosphere were perfect, staff are friendly however the see service is slow and not as attentive - meant we went else wear for more cocktails and food

  • By Jonathan P from London
    11 March 2020

    Great cocktails

  • By Catherine J from Reading
    7 March 2020

    I love Coconut. The prawn katsu curry is always fantastic. Great ambience and staff always friendly.

  • By Jenna C from Reading
    6 March 2020

    Food was fresh and delicious.

  • By Jenna B from Reading
    1 March 2020

    Great food

  • By GlP P from Reading
    28 February 2020

    Good food with excellent service.

  • By Laura B from Reading
    15 February 2020

    Fabulous food and cocktails The Indonesian Satay was superb Great service Thoroughly recommend

  • By Carolyn T from Reading
    8 February 2020

    This is a real party restaurant, it was incredibly busy and there were a lot of people just drinking. There are booths for large parties right next to tables for 2 so my friend and I struggled to hear each other over the incredibly rowdy groups. Food was average, certainly wouldn’t recommend unless you want to get drunk with friends. Absolutely not for couples, it was so packed when we left that we struggled to get out the building. Service was slow but polite.

  • By Leah R from Reading
    2 February 2020

    For the bottomless brunch, the drink options were very good and the cocktails were tasty. In my opinion there wasn’t quite enough food so we ended up paying for more food, but it was overall a nice experience.

  • By Julian P from cirencester
    31 January 2020

    Unfortunately the experience was not that enjoyable,i'd booked the slot earlier on in the week for 10.30,late but the slot clearly available.we actually arrived about 10.05,as the show we had been to see finished slightly earlier than expected.we were shown to our seats and basically told to hurry up and order as the kitchen would be closing by a certain time, this message was passed onto us about 3 times, so in the end we had just a main course, and a cocktail, this whole episode left us feeling rushed and so unable to enjoy the dining experience. Although i have to say the food itself was very good. I do not think establishments like this should advertise such late dining slots, unless they give you the time to enjoy the experience without being rushed. I do probably know the answer to this dilema, as with everything MONEY.

Restaurant Location Map
Coconut Bar & Kitchen
62-63 St. Mary's Butts, Reading, Berkshire, RG1 2LG

Available offers

  • 2 dishes from Brunch Menu & unlimited prosecco £25 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Real Greek - Reading

    The Real Greek - Reading

    Greek
    (253 Reviews)
    276m
    The Real Greek - Reading
  2. All Bar One Reading

    All Bar One Reading

    International
    (11 Reviews)
    279m
    All Bar One Reading
  3. COSMO Reading

    COSMO Reading

    Buffet
    (225 Reviews)
    218m
    COSMO Reading
  4. Browns Brasserie & Bar - Reading
    279m
    Browns Brasserie & Bar - Reading
  5. Crowne Plaza Reading

    Crowne Plaza Reading

    British
    (2 Reviews)
    1.2km
    Crowne Plaza Reading