Reviews of Maxine's Restaurant at Bannatyne Health Club and Spa

3.6
(based on 46 reviews)
Kingsford Park Layer Road, Colchester, East of England, CO2 0HS
46 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Tina T from Hullbridge
    28 February 2020

    Good food would like to see the fish and chips back on the menu and maybe more simple alternatives on sandwiches. The desserts are not worth £8 each this an extortionate price and definately not good value

  • By Gemma C from Colchester
    17 February 2020

    Lovely food. Bit of confusion over the bill as our package included meals, but the manager sorted it all out without hesitation.

  • By Alessio M from Colchester
    14 February 2020

    I booked the Valentines special and I can't compliment the staff and venue enough. The food was delicious, the staff excellent and the atmosphere incredibly romantic thanks to the live saxophone performance. I'd highly recommend this to anyone wanting a truly special treat. My favourite dish had to be the chocolate fondant. The only negative of the experience was trying to book as the Bannatyne website is dreadful and didn't have much better luck getting through on the phone. Once you do manage to get booked in though you're in for a treat, just a shame about the initial hurdle which was almost enough to put me off.

  • By Emily S from Benfleet
    25 November 2019

    Third afternoon tea here this year and as always was lovely! This time it was the "festive afternoon tea" which wouldn't be to everyone's taste and was not our favourite but lots of lovely treats that we enjoyed!

  • By Claire M from Kings ford park
    25 October 2019

    Lovely airy and spacious restaurant. Sadly the food let it down hugely. Slow roasted lamb unfortunately looked like a tin of dog food, swimming in water, fatty, and just lukewarm. Sizzling chicken came out just warm - not the most appetising meal.

  • By Claire A from Essex
    28 August 2019

    Was disappointed in our dining experience. We ordered bread and oils to start with and bread was like a rock, then for mains we had the lamb and sizzling chicken. Lamb was so fatty and unedible and flat bread again was hard and not enjoyable. Disappointing experience .

  • By Emily S S from BENFLEET
    15 August 2019

    Second time having afternoon tea and just as delicious as before. Lovely sandwiches and cakes and generous with the clotted cream, always a winner - will definitely be back!

  • By Lorraine L from Chelmsford
    11 August 2019

    Initial service was awful. We were left waiting in the bar area where we were in the way of all staff carrying food & drink. With our rucksack and bags we could have easily bumped into someone and caused an accident. The young man was putting bills through the till and twice ignored our request to sit at our table. Finally we decided to move ourselves into the restaurant and a lovely young man called Connor( I think) showed us to our table. From there on everything was good...food/drink and service.

  • By Clare W from Colchester
    14 July 2019

    We ordered sandwiches and salad. The salad was plain and dull - just leaves and no dressing. The steak in the sandwich was gristly and inedible. The bread was dry and stale. Very disappointing. The dish was £12 so left feeling ripped off - v poor value. Would not recommend.

  • By Yemi N from London
    5 July 2019

    Lovely outdoor seating. We had the salmon and the pork belly and they were both delicious