map placeholder

Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate

Walkergate, Durham, DH1 1SQ

((((* Tex Mex
  • Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate - County Durham
  • Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate - County Durham
  • Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate - County Durham
  • Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate - County Durham
  • Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate - County Durham
  • Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate - County Durham
  • Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate - County Durham
  • Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate - County Durham
Average
Main course: £13
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 09:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:30

My second visit within a week
As I'm in a wheelchair they were very accomadating had taken notice of my comments in my booking
Great service good food welcoming staff












L

Chris 03 December 2018
from Durham

View all 31 reviews

Housed in a modern building, Chiquito Durham Walkergate serves up an array of South American delicacies in this delightful riverside setting. The iconic Durham Cathedral is just 6 minutes’ walk away.

Packed with authentic dishes from both sides of the border, the Chiquito menu captures the essence of all things Tex-Mex. Spanning from mild to wild, a range of crowd-pleasing offerings includes the likes of sizzling fajitas, juicy cheese burgers, bursting burritos and tender, fall-off-the-bone ribs.

Chiquito also offers a popular brunch menu, lighter bites for lunch, sweet-tooth favourite desserts, plus a gluten-free menu. At the bar, delicious thirst-quenching options are served alongside famed margaritas, and other classic cocktails.

A bright, lively eatery, Durham Walkergate Chiquito offers a contemporary retreat in the heart of this beautiful historic town. Durham Rail Station sits 10 minutes’ walk away.

Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate

Walkergate, Durham, DH1 1SQ

Contact +44 1913706470
Website

Make a booking

See all Chiquito's Restaurants

See all restaurants in County Durham

See all restaurants in Durham

Customer reviews for Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate

4.1 ((((* (based on 31 reviews)
80% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (23)
  • large parties (13)
  • child friendly (12)
  • lunch (12)
  • value (8)
  • trendy (6)
  • breakfast (4)
  • private dining (4)
  • romantic (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • business (3)
  • al fresco (2)
  • entertainment (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((( 4 April 2016 by Teresa from Durham

    The menu selection is great. The atmosphere is always good with a mix of people and families. It is very relaxing. The staff are amenable and efficient. It is also very clean

  • ((((* 17 February 2016 by Sue from Durham

    The food was delicious - we all enjoyed our main courses. I had the coconut chicken for a change - it was a little lacking in temperature, but the spiciness made up for that). My niece enjoyed her cocktail, and the Malbec I had was very good. My nephew particularly enjoyed the brownie banana dessert - and my chilli choc fondant wasn't half bad either ;-) . The waiter was attentive but not overbearing - just right (sorry, didn't get his name).

  • (((** 17 February 2016 by Sarah from Durham

    Very slow service, nice food (bit burnt!) lovely cocktails.

  • ((((( 28 January 2016 by Helen from Durham

    We had a lovely night from start to finish, we were greeted by by a lovely young man, called Mathew, and he carried on looking after us all through our meal. The food was absolutely delicious, eps the mango cod. Our waiter Mathew even brought out a lovely little dessert with a candle on, as we were celebrating our sons birthday. We will definitely return, it's got a lovely warm atmosphere xxx

  • ((*** 21 January 2016 by Angela from Durham

    Not a good experience .. Poor service.. Food ok. Clearly problem with staff??.. People waiting way too long for food & drinks. Don't go on sunday afternoon! The restaurant was also very cold

  • ((((( 2 January 2016 by Carole from DURHAM

    CALM AND RELAXING ATMOSPHER DESPITE BEING AFTERNOON ON NEW YEARS EVE. STAF POLITE AND PROFESSIONAL BUT VERY FRIENDLY.SERVICE EXCELLENT. FOOD COOKED TO ORDER. DISABLED TOILETS ON GROUND FLOOR AND EASILY ACCESSIBLE. VERY ENJOYABLE MEAL = EXCELLENT QUALITY FOOD COOKED TO PERFECTION. GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY. HAD COCKTAILS WHICH WERE DELICIOUS. STAFF LOVED TO SEE US ENJOYING OURSELVES.

  • ((((( 31 December 2015 by Rebecca from Durham

    Friendly staff. Great atmosphere. Food divine!

  • ((((( 6 December 2015 by Tracey from Cumbria

    Lovely atmosphere and great food.

  • (((** 20 October 2015 by Daniel from Chester-le-Street

    This was the second time we have been to the restaurant. Our first experience was less than great. This visit was a different experience. The service was very good. We both felt though that it's very pricey considering the food. Two mains were over £30. An average overall price for a meal for 2 is approx £70 including drinks. Still if the price isn't too much and as long as the service levels remain high then you should enjoy it.

  • ((((* 8 September 2015 by Joanne from Durham

    Food was lovely, cocktails are amazing!! , bit on the pricey side for a family of four but will visit as an occasional treat.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant