map placeholder

Chiquito - Colchester

Tollgate West, Colchester, CO3 8RH

((((* Tex Mex
  • Chiquito - Colchester - Essex
  • Chiquito - Colchester - Essex
  • Chiquito - Colchester - Essex
  • Chiquito - Colchester - Essex
  • Chiquito - Colchester - Essex
  • Chiquito - Colchester - Essex
  • Chiquito - Colchester - Essex
  • Chiquito - Colchester - Essex
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £20
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 09:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:30

All good but please make sure you serve the children's desserts before the adults. Our three year old grandaughter was not amused that her icecream came after the adults and her 8 year old brother got theirs!

Pauline 28 April 2019
from Eye

View all 93 reviews

On the Tollgate Retail Park, Chiquito Colchester offers delicious Mexican food in a relaxed setting. On the edge of the historic town, the restaurant is close to both the town and the surrounding Essex countryside.

Packed with authentic dishes from both sides of the border, the Chiquito menu captures the essence of all things Tex-Mex. Spanning from mild to wild, a range of crowd-pleasing offerings includes the likes of sizzling fajitas, juicy cheese burgers, bursting burritos and tender, fall-off-the-bone ribs.

Chiquito also offers a popular brunch menu, lighter bites for lunch, sweet-tooth favourite desserts, plus a gluten-free menu. At the bar, delicious thirst-quenching options are served alongside famed margaritas, and other classic cocktails.

Just a 15-minute drive from Colchester town centre and 6 minutes from Marks Tey Train Station, Colchester Chiquito is a welcome haven for shoppers.

Chiquito - Colchester

Tollgate West, Colchester, CO3 8RH

Contact +44 1206562237
Website

Make a booking

See all Chiquito's Restaurants

See all restaurants in Essex

See all restaurants in Colchester

Customer reviews for Chiquito - Colchester

4.0 ((((* (based on 93 reviews)
84% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (73)
  • child friendly (42)
  • large parties (42)
  • lunch (39)
  • value (31)
  • trendy (27)
  • breakfast (10)
  • entertainment (10)
  • romantic (8)
  • private dining (4)
  • views (4)
  • al fresco (3)
  • business (3)
  • luxury (3)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • (**** 14 November 2017 by Lianne from Colchester

    The service wasn’t that great we had to ask twice for drinks then the wait for food was rather long. Won’t be back in a hurry.

  • (((** 12 October 2017 by Shirley from Colchester

    I haven't been for a couple of years, The menu is much smaller and not much of a choice now, I used to have the chicken on skewers but they had all gone. Not enough waiting staff so service slow , although all were friendly. Took 45 mins from entering before we got our meal. Husbands chilli con carne looked like a load of slop, not appetising at all and I wont describe what I thought it looked like!!

  • ((*** 21 August 2017 by Caroline from Colchester

    Very very slow service. Some people waited so long for a waiter to take their order that they gave up and left. Took us 30mins to get the bill.

  • ((((( 20 August 2017 by Frankie from Harwich

    Was a very lovely evening, starter and main was beautiful. Best place to eat. Staff was very friendly and helpful

  • ((*** 11 August 2017 by Matthew from Neuss

    Although I mentioned to the waiter we had a ferry to catch he seemed to laugh this off and the service was even slower.
    A real shame because as always the food and drinks were good but we think again if we are a little tight for time. Sat down at 19:00 mains came at 20:15

  • ((((( 6 August 2017 by Chris from Colchester

    Nice staff quick service good food

  • ((*** 27 July 2017 by Elaine from Colchester

    Disappointing. Dine here often and normally good but last night was very poor. Slow service (Took 50 minutes to get another diet coke and then only after 3 reminders).
    My dining companion ordered the coconut sea bass and salmon which is very poorly described on the menu. Please look at this and ensure it makes it clear that this comes in a pot and is not plated fish with a sauce covering but more like fish stew.

  • ((*** 17 July 2017 by Emma from Colchester

    Food was good, but service was not great at all. Our mains were not ordered after our we had finished our starters. It was only when we asked how long our mains would be our waitress realised. She did give us a free round of drinks. But it did ruin the meal.

  • (**** 11 July 2017 by Shirley from Colchester

    My son chose this restaurant as it was his birthday treat. The food was not to my taste but everyone else seemed to enjoy theirs. Being vegetarian I opted for the five bean chilli. It was cold and stodgy, with huge lumps of onion and pepper, which made it look like the chef couldn't be bothered to chop them, so I had to cut up the vegetables myself. Because it was my son's treat I didn't make a fuss, but I wouldn't choose to eat their again. The dessert was nice but the prices overall were much too high for what you were getting and the sevice was slow.

  • (((** 23 June 2017 by Sharon from Colchester

    Had to wait a long time to order our drinks. No fizzy drinks available which wasn't great as I had 2 16 year olds with me.
    Food was lovely but definitely needed more staff as service was rather slow...

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant