map placeholder

Brasserie & Minerva Restaurants at Chichester Festival Theatre

Oaklands Park, Chichester, PO19 6AP

((((* British
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £26
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 17:30 - 19:30
Saturday: 12:30 - 14:30 & 17:30 - 19:30.

Food amazing and staff lovely

Wendy 03 June 2019
from Chandlers Ford

View all 3176 reviews

Housed in the Chichester Festival Theatre, Minerva Bar & Grill serves modern British cuisine using seasonal, local produce. The Minerva Lounge and Brasserie offer drinks and light bites for pre and post-performance refreshment.

Start with Brighton blue cheese, fig, radicchio, and chicory salad with hazelnut dressing, or smoked mackerel mousse with horseradish crème fraiche and focaccia thins. Mains on the Minerva menu include slow-cooked shoulder of pork with mustard sauce, and Sussex beetroot tatin with goats’ cheese. Lighter options include a Mediterranean meze sharing platter, quiche of the day and a British cheese board.

Desserts at The Minerva Bar & Grill also feature local produce and include Sussex summer berry mess and steamed vanilla sponge with sticky bourbon sauce. Local beers and an extensive drinks list including English sparkling wine are also available.

Open to theatregoers and the general public alike, The Minerva at Chichester Festival Theatre is a short walk from the city centre and a 7-minute drive from Chichester Train Station.

Brasserie & Minerva Restaurants at Chichester Festival Theatre

Oaklands Park, Chichester, PO19 6AP

Contact +44 1243782219
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in West Sussex

See all restaurants in Chichester

Customer reviews for Brasserie & Minerva Restaurants at Chichester Festival Theatre

4.0 ((((* (based on 3176 reviews)
86% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (2102)
  • lunch (1057)
  • value (514)
  • views (360)
  • private dining (284)
  • afternoon tea (190)
  • entertainment (160)
  • large parties (147)
  • trendy (91)
  • luxury (80)
  • child friendly (73)
  • business (71)
  • romantic (60)
  • al fresco (44)
  • breakfast (25)
  • ((((( 5 September 2019 by Janet from Bradford-on-Avon

    All aspects excellent. A lovely experience. Some issues with the noise level.

  • ((((( 5 September 2019 by Irene from Lovedean

    Excellent food and service

  • (**** 4 September 2019 by Jennie from Chichester

    We thought the meal was quite awful - the menu is quite inadequate - and the choices we made were so disappointing for the money. The salmon was small, and tasteless, my fish was overcooked, as were the potatoes left in their skins cut too small, there was NO potato to taste - the beans were good - pudding was a jelly smothered in cream tasting like something we had a school - long, ago - for what was charged we will not come again, and we do come many times to the theatre - I cannot tell you how our friends and we were disappointed.

  • (**** 4 September 2019 by Malcolm from Chichester

    Terrible. Wife could not finish chicken course. I had two pieces of lamb, one pure gristle. Told waitress. No response. Had wonderful family lunch with you 22 June my birthday.

  • ((*** 4 September 2019 by Catherine from Southampton

    Sadly we were disappointed with the standard of food. I had fish with tasteless sauce.
    Puddings were poor my daughter had a mouldy profiterole!

  • (((** 4 September 2019 by Eileen from Chichester

    Our first visit was quite enjoyable but some aspects were disappointing. Firstly the portion size of thé smoked salmon starter was laughable and the mozzarella starter did not live up to the elaborate description. The service was good but the 12% charge added to the bill is I feel excessive for this type of restaurant.

  • (((** 4 September 2019 by Caroline from London

    I booked the Brasserie having eaten there before and very much like the venue before attending the Theatre. I brought a friend for the first time so anticipation was great. We were very disappointed with our main course- my friend ordered dish of the day (salmon) and I the sea bass. The salmon dish was very dry and the sea bass was over cooked and lacked flavour along with the ratatouille. The dishes arrived within minutes of placing the order which was rather suspicious and we wondered whether they had been precooked.

    We followed with biscuits and cheese and sorbets and I have to say the cucumber sorbet was delicious and extremely interesting as part of a tasty dish.

    The ambience, wine and service were great so it was obviously very disappointing with regards to the major part of the meal.

  • ((*** 3 September 2019 by John from Dorset

    Convenient for theatre visit. Drinks (hot and cold) were excellent. Attentive service. Food not so impressive. Our varied choices were all disappointing. Recommend sauces are placed in small bowl rather than mixed into food prior to service. (Sticky chilli sauce spoiled the chicken salad).
    Brown leatherette seating felt disconcertingly sticky to touch.

  • ((*** 3 September 2019 by Howard from London

    The set lunch is no longer worth what you charge. Portions are much smaller than they have been in the past. We're a group that come every year to Chichester and I'm afraid, unless you can guarantee me that the food will be more sufficient, we will no longer book the Brasserie.

  • ((*** 3 September 2019 by Alice from West wittering

    Very disappointing service - what went wrong on Monday ?
    Also food was not up to standard

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant