map placeholder

Chessington World of Adventure Resort - Zafari Bar & Grill

Leatherhead Road, Chessington Safari Hotel, Chessington, KT9 2NE

((((* International
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
Average
Main course: £15
Food spend: £25

wonderful meal, great atmosphere, excellent and speedy service

Nick 19 March 2019
from Hastings

View all 78 reviews

A safari-style eatery, Zafari Bar and Grill sits within the Chessington Safari Hotel in Chessington's World of Adventures Resort. Zafari serves African cuisine from the lively open kitchen.

A diverse selection from the Zafari menu foregrounds a host of international flavours. African influences include a classic Cape burger, or aromatically-spiced freshwater tilapia. For a flash of excitement, diners can choose a tasty skewer from the fire, or the Wanyama banquet is loaded with tasty meats and falafel. Tantalisingly tropical flavours feature for dessert, as well as rich, chocolate-filled options.

Littered with plush, animal-print upholstery and exotic plants, Zafari Chessington is a colourful retreat. Family-friendly Zafari offers a fun ambience, with a life-size giraffe grazing nearby, and jazzy animal murals. The ‘little Africa’ menu offers a fun selection just for kids.

Within the renowned Chessington Resort, Zafari restaurant sits within the popular Wanyama Village. Chessington South Rail Station is found 4 minutes’ drive away.

Chessington World of Adventure Resort - Zafari Bar & Grill

Leatherhead Road, Chessington Safari Hotel, Chessington, KT9 2NE

Contact +44 1372734635
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Surrey

See all restaurants in Chessington

Customer reviews for Chessington World of Adventure Resort - Zafari Bar & Grill

3.8 ((((* (based on 78 reviews)
73% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (55)
  • child friendly (53)
  • views (33)
  • breakfast (29)
  • large parties (13)
  • lunch (11)
  • value (11)
  • romantic (9)
  • luxury (8)
  • entertainment (6)
  • trendy (6)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • private dining (4)
  • business (3)
  • al fresco (2)
  • ((((( 15 March 2016 by Deb from Prestatyn

    Amazing service by 'Julian' he was an absolute star. Megan and Amy we had dealing with too and they were also amazing staff coudont do enough to help us. Food was lovely. The Eton mess desert was gorgeous. Highly recommend

  • ((*** 1 March 2016 by Jemma from Bexhill

    Customer service was fab.
    Staff were really friendly and service was pretty quick.
    Was a little worried as had read previous reviews about it being unclean and slow,but was pretty spotless when we ate here.
    I'm afraid the food left a lot to be desired tho.
    My daughter had the kids penne pasta she enjoyed.
    I had the kids burger as was not that hungry.
    Was edible but came out Luke warm.
    Ordered side order of sweet potato chips which were stone cold.
    Prices were ridiculous really for what it was but then I already expected that.
    But £3.50 for a cup of tea and £3.50 for a coke I think is pretty steep.
    Think I spent more on beverages then the hotel room.
    Lol.
    Breakfast was a good selection and the pastries were very nice although the cooked breakfast my daughter had was just about warm.

  • ((((* 15 February 2016 by Vanessa from Walton on Thames

    Lovely, friendly staff at restaurant. Nice meal, very reasonably priced. Have stayed over at the resort many times but not eaten in this restaurant for over three years (apart from breakfast). The food and service is much better than it used to be there. Thank you, nice evening.

  • ((((( 14 February 2016 by Leticia from essex

    Great setting and the food was great also. The waiter, julien, was very helpful and friendly and made a real effort with our two children.

  • ((((( 31 January 2016 by Joanne from Watford

    What a great experience! All staff were amazing!!!

  • (((** 26 January 2016 by John from Cardiff

    Pros:
    Excellent friendly staff, promptly seated, tables not too closely placed, not too busy. Lovely kids hand breaded fish fingers
    Cons:
    Limited menu, very expensive, verging on bland food, decor dated.

    I gave 3 stars solely because the wait staff were excellent. There was nothing on the menu I actually wanted, I ordered a afrikan chicken burger which although cooked well was bland and nothing special (literally a piece of squished chicken in a roll, no trace of the supposed marinade). The prices were very expensive, £12 for said burger, and that was the cheapest adult main.
    The kids fun fish fingers were great, I'm sorry I didn't order them for myself! Lovely fresh fish coated in breadcrumbs, yum yum. I wouldn't return as they don't seem to have much variety on the menu and what they did have was very overpriced.

  • (((** 20 January 2016 by Diana from Southampton

    Expensive, small portions but very tasty & well cooked

  • ((*** 29 December 2015 by Maria from Sunbury

    We came for Christmas dinner as we were staying in the hotel was really looking forward to it but was so disappointed. The staff were fab tried their hardest the starter and dessert were lovely but the main meal was horrible also you didn't cater for the children at all. Don't think it was worth 65 pounds very upset and disappointed.

  • ((((( 20 December 2015 by Tracey from Hertfordshire

    Lovely restaurant, staff and food was brilliant. The safari theme was a lovely touch, we sat by the window and could see the animals it was well worth the visit. Kids loved that they could see the chefs cooking their food. My husband had the steak and it was full of flavour it melted in the mouth, the kids had chicken fingers and bangers and mash which came in large Yorkshire pudding, they were very generous porting. I had the curry and it was lovely the rice was fluffy and just enough to fill you up. We ordered the kilimanjaro dessert, I couldn't eat it all there was that much, 4 different flavoured ice creams, choux buns,marshmallow and I think chocolate cookie we will definitely be back again. Excellent service and excellent food.

  • ((((* 16 December 2015 by Kim from London

    the food was enjoyable especially the butternut squash soup with crusty bread although a little expensive . Our waiter was very helpful recommending the dishes that were better value for money .He was also very interactive with my granddaughter who is 3 talking to her and complementing us on her table manners .

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant