Caxton Grill

(872 Reviews)
2 Caxton Street, London, SW1H 0QW
European
A la carte menu

Top offer

Fish & Fizz Fridays £29pp

This offer is available from November 8, 2019 until February 28, 2020, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer excludes service.

Average

Main course: £20
Food spend: £40

Opening hours

Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 17:30 - 22:30

Restaurant description

Caxton Grill based in St. Ermin’s Hotel in Westminster near St. James’s Park, takes top quality ingredients and cooks them to perfection.

The Caxton Grill menu offers choice cuts including USDA prime black Angus tenderloin and British Porterhouse steak, alongside the freshest of fish are cooked using a Josper Grill. This method of cooking retains moisture, preserves tenderness, so resulting in extra tasty food. Sides and salads are not mere accompaniments, but stars in themselves, with many being influenced by the fresh produce grown on their rooftop kitchen garden. This love of fresh seasonal ingredients extends to the Grill’s sauces, which are inspired by their herb garden.

Service is friendly and attentive, but unfussy. Caxton Grill in London is ideal for lunch, dinner, pre-theatre or post-theatre, serving great food, beautifully cooked.

St James’s Park Tube Station is a 2-minute walk away from Caxton Gril.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Caxton Grill
4.5
(based on 872 reviews)

94%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (63)
  • al fresco (11)
  • breakfast (35)
  • business (271)
  • child friendly (41)
  • dinner (670)
  • entertainment (46)
  • large parties (86)
  • lunch (332)
  • luxury (307)
  • private dining (225)
  • romantic (296)
  • trendy (148)
  • value (216)
  • views (13)
  • By Sam C from London
    5 November 2019

    Good food and friendly service.

  • By Ebba J from London
    21 October 2019

    Very good service by friendly and very attentive staff. We ordered from the grill section in the menu and the food was amazing. The dessert was very small, especially for the price, but it tasted amazing. Unfortunately the restaurant was a little sleepy, but we asked for a table closer to the other guests which they were happy to give us and overall it was a really great experience.

  • By Jane M from The Villages, FL
    19 October 2019

    We had a party of 11and had great service and food

  • By Richard B from Media, Pennsylvania USA
    19 October 2019

    We went to Caxton as an alternate choice to another restaurant we had booked before realizing that the large Brexit demonstrations in Westminster caused massive traffic problems making it difficult and expensive to taxi. I have to say, we were generally glad we did. The service was excellent and the food very well prepared and presented. The only small negative was the size of the pan-fried hand dived scallops for an appetizer. It only had two scallops, which while a good size, flavorful and well prepared, seemed to be a little 'skimpy' for £14. Other than that, the Rare Breed Pork Chop and Green beans with pickled shallots and chicory were excellent and reasonably priced. For dessert, both the Cream Cheese Mousse and Chocolate cremeux were thoroughly enjoyable.

  • By Mary jo J from Washington, DC
    13 October 2019

    Excellent food with interesting twists to the menu. Very good service. Have the pork chop!

  • By Cheryl J from Edinburgh
    8 October 2019

    Enjoyed the food and service

  • By Bridget R from London
    8 October 2019

    Friendly staff who remember us a regular group plus super food! Only quibble is seats could be more comfortable but with a cushion behind backs pretty good

  • By James C from Philadelphia
    7 October 2019

    Good preparations. Acceptable service. Pleasant ambience.

  • By Evangeline C from London
    3 October 2019

    We enjoyed our visit to the Caxton Grill. The wait staff were very helpful. My husband and I both ordered the beef filet medium. Mine was perfect but my husband's was a a bit overdone. We did discuss with our waiter that local definitions may have been at play. We certainly enjoyed our dinner and will return when we are back in London.

  • By Karen M from Incline Village
    2 September 2019

    We toured Westminster Abbey and chose this restaurant for the reviews and proximity to the Abbey. We dined early so it was not crowded but you could tell the staff was well trained and very attentive. They did not hover but were watching and ready when you wanted service. The food was delicious.

Restaurant Location Map
Caxton Grill
2 Caxton Street, London, SW1H 0QW

Available offers

  • Fish & Fizz Fridays £29pp
  • Christmas at Caxton: 2 courses £35, 3 courses £45
  • Christmas at Caxton: Sharing Family Style from £300 per group
  • New Year's Eve Tasting Menu with Unlimited Champagne £119 per person
  • Christmas Day Four Course Menu with a Glass of Champagne £85 per person
  • Victorian London 3-Course Menu £45pp - Add beer tasting £20pp

Similar Restaurants

  1. Tea Lounge at Grosvenor Hotel

    Tea Lounge at Grosvenor Hotel

    Afternoon Tea
    (2 Reviews)
    831m
    Tea Lounge at Grosvenor Hotel
  2. Wild Honey St James

    Wild Honey St James

    French
    (1 Reviews)
    976m
    Wild Honey St James
  3. Caffe Concerto - Whitehall

    Caffe Concerto - Whitehall

    European
    (0 Reviews)
    937m
    Caffe Concerto - Whitehall
  4. About Thyme

    About Thyme

    European
    (194 Reviews)
    809m
    About Thyme
  5. Arts Street Kitchen

    Arts Street Kitchen

    European
    (9 Reviews)
    799m
    Arts Street Kitchen