map placeholder

Caxton Grill

2 Caxton Street, London, SW1H 0QW

(((() European
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
  • Caxton Grill - London
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 14:30 17:30 - 22:30

We toured Westminster Abbey and chose this restaurant for the reviews and proximity to the Abbey. We dined early so it was not crowded but you could tell the staff was well trained and very attentive. They did not hover but were watching and ready when you wanted service. The food was delicious.

Karen 03 September 2019
from Incline Village

View all 870 reviews

Caxton Grill based in St. Ermin’s Hotel in Westminster near St. James’s Park, takes top quality ingredients and cooks them to perfection.

The Caxton Grill menu offers choice cuts including USDA prime black Angus tenderloin and British Porterhouse steak, alongside the freshest of fish are cooked using a Josper Grill. This method of cooking retains moisture, preserves tenderness, so resulting in extra tasty food. Sides and salads are not mere accompaniments, but stars in themselves, with many being influenced by the fresh produce grown on their rooftop kitchen garden. This love of fresh seasonal ingredients extends to the Grill’s sauces, which are inspired by their herb garden.

Service is friendly and attentive, but unfussy. Caxton Grill in London is ideal for lunch, dinner, pre-theatre or post-theatre, serving great food, beautifully cooked.

St James’s Park Tube Station is a 2-minute walk away from Caxton Gril.

Caxton Grill

2 Caxton Street, London, SW1H 0QW

Contact +44 8006521498
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for Caxton Grill

4.5 (((() (based on 870 reviews)
93% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (667)
  • lunch (331)
  • luxury (306)
  • romantic (295)
  • business (269)
  • private dining (225)
  • value (216)
  • trendy (147)
  • large parties (86)
  • afternoon tea (63)
  • entertainment (46)
  • child friendly (41)
  • breakfast (35)
  • views (13)
  • al fresco (11)
  • ((((( 26 May 2019 by David from Hitchin

    Really excellent quality food and friendly staff. About £60 ph with wine but value for money.
    Mixed grill gives a great taste of the menu and octopus is fantastic.

  • ((((* 7 May 2019 by Jennifer from London

    Those of us who ate the halibut thought it beautiful. I loved the parsnip soup too. The men seemed to enjoy their dessert with bacon in it, the staff were very good and the bar was comfortable. We will return later this year.

  • (((** 2 May 2019 by Sue from London

    Very pleasant restaurant and good value for money meal. Service was a little slow but the waiters were extremely apologetic and offered a complimentary glass of wine, hopefully this was a one off as there seemed to be a few mix ups in the kitchen. There are many comparable offers available with a slightly better set menu but I would try again. Negative is the toilets, they were communal and only one off the restaurant, you had to go through the hotel for another toilet. It is a large restaurant so I would expect better facilities. The outside seating area did, however, look delightful so I would wait until the Summer and try again, maybe afternoon tea.

  • (((** 20 April 2019 by Christopher from London

    Lovely staff, but resto v v quiet - only 2 other diners, I think. Great fresh bread. Sea bream carpaccio not as delicate as anticipated. Scallop fricassee had a slightly vinegary tang to end taste. Reasonable wine list, enjoyable, well priced (£35) Torrontes with starters and my fish main. Angus steak competently cooked on Josper, the texture of my halibut slightly marred as fish a bit overcooked. Sides good but unfortunately slathered in butter - this should be made known do that oil can be requested as alternative. Beautifully presented desserts Inc an unexpected Anniversary bonus ! Thank you ! Not sure if saffron flavour really works in ice cream, and the colour has affected my now not so white shirt ! Overall, great presentation not quite followed thru on delivery. A bit of a kerfuffle to get the 20% Victoria BID discount (10% given initially). Without discount, I'm not sure full price for 2 diners (£148) would have been justified. An example of an under utilised hotel resto, I think.

  • ((((( 19 March 2019 by Deborah from London

    Fish salmon flank steak was tough with large gristle

  • ((((* 16 January 2019 by Camille from Kent

    Lovely decorated restaurant - food was good. It was rather quiet for a Saturday night and a little chilly. But overall we had a good time.

  • ((((( 14 January 2019 by Sultan from Antwerpen

    Good service, tasty meal.

  • ((((( 5 January 2019 by Julie from Cincinnati

    My husband and I had Christmas Eve dinner at the Caxton Grill. The meal was very good -- appetizers well thought out with contrast in textures and flavors, the main course of Turkey was quite nice, dessert was also quite good. Portions were sized just right. There were few staff, but they were working very hard and attentive.

  • ((((* 18 December 2018 by Victoria from WARWICK

    Excellent food and service but staff were very eager for us to leave at 1045pm which i felt was very rude as we spent over £800 on food and drinks. The restaurant closed at 1030pm and was not busy.

  • (((** 14 December 2018 by Paul from Westminster

    Food was good but the service was not as slick as it should be

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant