map placeholder

Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel

Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel, Alveston, BS35 2LA

(((() British
  •  - Bristol
  •  - Bristol
  •  - Bristol
  •  - Bristol
Average
Main course: £17
Food spend: £28

Excellent service; friendly, helpful and polite. Food delicious and well presented. We couldn’t fault food or service.

Eryl 28 October 2018
from Thornbury

View all 40 reviews

With an AA Rosette amongst its accolades, Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel brings diners a selection of traditional British dishes and the national institution of fine afternoon tea in classically elegant surroundings.

Taking pride in fresh, regional produce, the Alveston House Hotel restaurant menu offers a superb variety of classic recipes. Diners in the conservatory can choose between hearty favourites like Whitby scampi or grilled farmhouse sausages with mustard mash, or go for one of the Mediterranean twists like the vegetarian leek, spinach and mushroom lasagne. The main dining room offers accomplished British dishes such as seared Gressingham duck breast.

A cosy lounge bar at Carriages Restaurant Alveston is ideal for drinks and canapés, while the bright, airy conservatory is the perfect setting for the traditional afternoon tea served.

A timeless example of elegant British dining, Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel can also cater for private events.

Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel

Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel, Alveston, BS35 2LA

Contact +44 1454415050
Website

See all restaurants in Bristol

See all restaurants in Alveston

Customer reviews for Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel

4.4 (((() (based on 40 reviews)
95% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (23)
  • lunch (17)
  • dinner (15)
  • private dining (11)
  • value (9)
  • business (6)
  • luxury (6)
  • child friendly (5)
  • large parties (5)
  • romantic (5)
  • breakfast (3)
  • views (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • ((((( 4 April 2016 by Sarah from Bristol

    Lovely fresh sandwiches, tasty cakes and plenty of tea. Service was fab. Really enjoyable afternoon

  • ((((* 19 March 2016 by Beverley from Bristol

    Lovely afternoon tea for Mother's Day. Table layout was elegant and charming and both sandwiches and cakes were delicious.

  • ((((( 22 February 2016 by David from Trewern

    We booked the Carriages restaurant online, which was a very simple thing to do ! we arrived a few minutes before our booked meal time ( 8.30pm) and were sat down in the conservatory area. The nice young lady took our drinks order first and came back with our wine and gave us a few minutes to decide our starters and mains choices. Shortly after we were offered canapees ( olives and crisps ) in the conservatory. We both had the crab cakes starters followed by duck with spring rolls, noodles and pak choi. The food was excellently presented and tasted just as good ! The courses came at just the right time intervals. We didn't have desserts just coffee. Overall a very pleasurable experience. The price was slightly on the high side, but for an occasional treat this was not a problem. I would recommend definitely and my wife and I would certainly dine there again whenever in the area.

  • ((*** 2 February 2016 by Taylor from Bristol

    unfortunately we did not get the special tea I had booked. I felt white table cloths , and bone China would have been more attractive. Was surprised they used tea bags and not loose leaf tea. . Scones were nice. View of car park not very appealing. Overall disappointed. Staff offered to correct mistake re: booking but too late. Someone actually rang me to confirm which tea I wanted, bit of a waste of time.

  • ((((( 26 January 2016 by Brian from Chipping Sodbury

    Delicious food as usual, lovely helpful staff.

  • ((((* 12 January 2016 by Geoffrey from Alveston Bristol

    Excellent Sunday lunch
    Top class service

  • ((((( 4 January 2016 by David from Bristol

    The ambience in the lounge was perfect for afternoon tea which was delicious and beautifully served. Thoroughly recommended!

  • ((((( 1 July 2014 by Brian from Alveston

    Brilliant experience as always, lovely food and excellent friendly service.

  • ((((( 22 April 2014 by Alan from Bristol

    Wonderfully relaxed luncheon, the service was efficient without being fussy. the restaurant was very bright and airy with plenty of room between tables. I would probably describe the overall experience as genteel. The food was delicious and beautifully cooked to perfection. Coffee was taken in the very comfortable lounge on comfy settees'. The whole experience was good value for money and we will definitely be visiting again.

  • ((((( 18 April 2012 by Brubar from Almondsbury, Bristol

    We regulaly eat at their Carrages restaurant in preference to all other restaurants in the area, most of which we have tried, irrespective of their pricing. Their decore is tastefull, service friendly and their menu, that changes regularly, is well cooked and presented beautifully. Long may it last!

Unfortunately, you can't book Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant