map placeholder

Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel

Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel, Alveston, BS35 2LA

(((() British
  •  - Bristol
  •  - Bristol
  •  - Bristol
  •  - Bristol
Average
Main course: £17
Food spend: £28

Excellent service; friendly, helpful and polite. Food delicious and well presented. We couldn’t fault food or service.

Eryl 28 October 2018
from Thornbury

View all 40 reviews

With an AA Rosette amongst its accolades, Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel brings diners a selection of traditional British dishes and the national institution of fine afternoon tea in classically elegant surroundings.

Taking pride in fresh, regional produce, the Alveston House Hotel restaurant menu offers a superb variety of classic recipes. Diners in the conservatory can choose between hearty favourites like Whitby scampi or grilled farmhouse sausages with mustard mash, or go for one of the Mediterranean twists like the vegetarian leek, spinach and mushroom lasagne. The main dining room offers accomplished British dishes such as seared Gressingham duck breast.

A cosy lounge bar at Carriages Restaurant Alveston is ideal for drinks and canapés, while the bright, airy conservatory is the perfect setting for the traditional afternoon tea served.

A timeless example of elegant British dining, Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel can also cater for private events.

Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel

Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel, Alveston, BS35 2LA

Contact +44 1454415050
Website

See all restaurants in Bristol

See all restaurants in Alveston

Customer reviews for Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel

4.4 (((() (based on 40 reviews)
95% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (23)
  • lunch (17)
  • dinner (15)
  • private dining (11)
  • value (9)
  • business (6)
  • luxury (6)
  • child friendly (5)
  • large parties (5)
  • romantic (5)
  • breakfast (3)
  • views (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • ((((( 3 September 2017 by Alison from Bristol

    Lovely afternoon tea. Staff were friendly and the selection of sandwiches offered was lovely. Lots of cake options as well. Refills of tea were given. Attentive staff.

  • ((((( 30 August 2017 by Yvonne from Bristol

    My friend from Canada and myself had afternoon tea, not a meal, it was very nice.

  • ((((( 30 August 2017 by Samantha from Bristol

    Fantastic meal, probably the best meal ever. The food was amazing, perfect sized portions and the wine was just as good. Service was great. We were the only people eating in the restaurant which may be off putting for some people, but it was fine for us. The food more than made up for it. We will definitely be returning.

  • ((*** 16 August 2017 by Karen from Bristol

    Sandwiches were dry and scones very hard

  • ((((* 6 August 2017 by Pauline from Alveston House Hotel Bristol

    Welcomed and seated in conservatory very well! Ordered food from menu and showed to table when starters were ready, very nice and tasty. Main course arrived and husbands fillet steak was perfect but my dish was literally just warm but nicely presented. As we were celebrating my husbands b'day I didn't want to make a fuss but on the basis that it was not a cheap jack meal , I told the waiter who took it away to heat up more. It came back hotter but feel this should not have happened, especially as there were only two other diners in the restaurant so not exactly busy until a bit later! We chose cheese and biscuits afterwards as we didn't want deserts so the waitress gave a larger portion so we could share as I wasn't going to have anything. Not a cheap evening but we didn't mind that as it was a celebration . Just expected a hotter meal. Would still return as we love the place and service is excellent.

  • ((((* 26 June 2017 by David from filton

    very clean,pleasant and attentive staff but not over the top.enjoyable experience.

  • ((((( 18 May 2017 by Helen from Bristol

    Enjoyed the whole experience. Staff were attentive, polite, friendly & very helpful. Food was hot & restaurant was laid out beautifully

  • ((((( 8 May 2017 by Michele from Bristol

    We had Afternoon Tea and the experience was lovely, we had unlimited tea and coffee, the cakes and sandwiches were delicious and plenty of it. The staff were warm and friendly too. We were sat in a lovely alcove which was quite private for our little party. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • ((*** 2 May 2017 by Jenny from Powys

    -------- Original


    What a disappointment!

    Having had a good lunch for Mother's Day, we took my parents (aged mid eighties) there again for lunch on a Thursday.

    We were the only people in the restaurant and so were not happy that it took nearly an hour for our meals to be served. The service had been much better when the place was full to the brim for Mother's Day! The food was not very good either. Our chicken curries were mild to the point of being bland, there was no poppadum nor mango chutney served with them, and when asked for the mango chutney, the waitress brought some very sweet plum chutney - not quite the thing. My father's steak was chewy to the point of rubbery and very poor value for nearly £20.

    As my Mother is easily upset by any hassles, we did not make a fuss about these things and it was a relief that her scampi and chips was to her liking. The meal had taken so long that we could not wait to order pudding, but left after my Father had paid the bill, while my Mother was not at the table, and said that it had not been a good meal at all. Attractive place to eat and nice staff but let down by lateness and food.

  • ((((( 3 April 2017 by Charlene from Bristol

    Very impressed! I booked this as a mothersday gift and i could tell mum was very chuffed with her afternoon tea, mum is a slightly fussy eater but really enjoyed it! Will deffinatly reccomend to friends and family! Set in such a peaceful area! Service was brilliant making sure we had fresh tea!

Unfortunately, you can't book Carriages Restaurant at Alveston House Hotel online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant