Reviews of Canvas & Cream

4.4
(based on 64 reviews)
18 London Road Forest Hill London, London, London, SE23 3HF
64 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Becky P from London
    1 November 2020

    I was visiting the Horniman Museum and decided to book for brunch/lunch for my friend and I before our visit. I chose here because they showed wheat free options online. The cafe was nice and quirky inside and the service seemed quite quick. I asked if I could have the wheat free toast, but with the berries and cream topping that comes with the pancakes, as the pancakes aren't wheat free and I preferred that topping, compared to veggie sausages that originally come with the french toast. I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly the waitress said yes to my request. Usually when asking to change items in other places they have to speak to their manager first and kitchen and also work out if there would be a price change etc. My french toast dish was very nice, the only small complaint was for my friends dish that the hollandaise was cold, however they sorted this out by getting a new warm pot. My friend also got an oat milk hot chocolate, which was nice and frothy, they offer a good range of milk alternatives. Overall was a pleasant experience.

  • By Prina S from London
    28 October 2020

    The service was awful and food cold, but the decor inside and atmosphere was nice.

  • By Aida M from London
    11 October 2020

    Great like always. We ate a Sunday Roast, it was amazing, the portion and the quality is incredible. I highly recommended. We had a poryion of carrot cake also, one if the best ones I tried in London.

  • By BJ H from London
    10 October 2020

    Canvas and Cream were great. Good food, good space and very carefully cleaned after each customer .

  • By HK K from London
    4 October 2020

    Always cosy and welcoming atmosphere, nice food and very nice vegan dessert!

  • By Tony L from London
    5 September 2020

    Really lovely, high quality and healthy food. Staff take physical distancing very seriously. Would recommend to a friend.

  • By Helen A from Forest Hill
    1 September 2020

    The lovely decor adds to the dining experience, the food was nice but my avocado needed some seasoning and there wasn’t any available or offered I liked the menu choices especially the vegetarian options it’s the perfect place to go to for brunch and really well situated. The staff were welcoming to a point but I couldn’t help feeling that I was a bit of an inconvenience rather than a valued customer.

  • By NIcki B from London
    31 August 2020

    Quirky and casual setting and a fantastic brunch menu. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere.

  • By Sabina C from London
    17 August 2020

    Tasty food - looooove the halloumi breakfast! Staff were busy but keeping up and friendly. Thanks

  • By Hannah S from London
    23 February 2020

    Overall ok - however when we got there, our table only had 3 chairs when we had booked for 6, and only had one set of cutlery. When our whole party arrived, we still hadn't been given other chairs, despite being told we would. We then had to go and fetch chairs ourselves from other people's tables across the restaurant which was a bit of a pain. The waiter also kept getting distracted, only giving half of us menus, then running off to see to the door halfway through, and not returning. Our second waiter was really friendly - however it took 20 mins for our drinks to arrive after ordering. Appreciate the restaurant was full at the time, but it was a long time to wait for a few simple drinks (only one cocktail in our order!) Brunch came 10 minutes after our drinks arrived, was generally good, my poached eggs were more boiled than poached which was a bit disappointing, but rest of the dish was great. Halloumi was a highlight.