Reviews of Canvas & Cream

4.3
(based on 50 reviews)
18 London Road Forest Hill London, London, SE23 3HF
50 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Katie S from LONDON
    14 November 2019

    We had a wonderful time. The new menu is lovely. The service is polite if a little slow. A great place for lunch in Forest Hill.

  • By D A from London
    19 October 2019

    There was great table service They did take a while to collect our plates They let us sit and wait until we were ready to leave

  • By Andrew T from London
    20 July 2019

    Friendly staff, interesting spaces including quaint garden and art gallery all part of the same entity. Hearty, tasty food

  • By Sheena W from London
    26 May 2019

    We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff at the door and given the option of indoors or outside seating. We chose the gardena dn were given a choice of seats. Service was great, attentive but not annoying, and our drinks and food came quickly. The food (halloumi breakfast and bubble and squeak with bacon) was delicious and the eggs were cooked just as requested. The coffee was great but a little small. The staff made no fuss when we asked to move inside and were shown to some armchairs for some post-food relaxation. All in all a really lovely experience.

  • By Laura O from London
    27 April 2019

    I love how the restaurant felt like home, all warm and cozy. Loved the decorations and varied tables. I loved that the tea came in different tea cups. The food was yummy. I had the French Toast with Bacon and my husband had the American Pancakes and sausage. The French Toast was a little too soggy for my liking - but still delicious. And as an America, what you are calling American Pancakes are sort of close but not quite. I would love to bake you batch of fluffy buttermilk pancakes so that you would know the difference. But no worries, we ate the pancakes all up. The only sad thing about my experience is that it took forever to get you check. Our guy seem to disappear and get stuck making coffees for everyone. Another kind lady helped us out.

  • By Amy T from London
    16 December 2018

    Lovely meal and great ambience :)

  • By Bronx B from London
    27 October 2018

    Easy online booking. Pleasant interior, art gallery on the back. Very busy on weekends with local families. There is a adequate brunch menu, a limited (light) lunch menu and basic kids bruch menu. Overall plenty of choices. Food was quite good, chai was really nice, I expected the same with the cakes but I felt all three of them I tried were slightly dry/overbaked and a bit boring-couldn't really taste the flavour of the main ingredient. I suspect it was one of those unlucky days as I have been there before and cakes were much better. Prices were reasonable. We will certainly fine it another go when we're back at the Horniman.

  • By Vincent B B from London
    1 July 2018

    We had such a pleasant time at Canvas and Cream. Really nice location - and the garden is beautiful. We had burgers, only cheese was missing.

  • By Jan M from Beckenham
    27 May 2018

    Beautiful Eggs Florentine but choc.croissant dissapointung. Great coffee; and staff (as always) completely charming

  • By Rex O from BRIGHTON
    29 April 2018

    A great place for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Nice atmosphere, dog friendly. And good for vegetarians.