Reviews of Canvas & Cream

4.4
(based on 55 reviews)
18 London Road Forest Hill London, London, London, SE23 3HF
55 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Hannah S from London
    23 February 2020

    Overall ok - however when we got there, our table only had 3 chairs when we had booked for 6, and only had one set of cutlery. When our whole party arrived, we still hadn't been given other chairs, despite being told we would. We then had to go and fetch chairs ourselves from other people's tables across the restaurant which was a bit of a pain. The waiter also kept getting distracted, only giving half of us menus, then running off to see to the door halfway through, and not returning. Our second waiter was really friendly - however it took 20 mins for our drinks to arrive after ordering. Appreciate the restaurant was full at the time, but it was a long time to wait for a few simple drinks (only one cocktail in our order!) Brunch came 10 minutes after our drinks arrived, was generally good, my poached eggs were more boiled than poached which was a bit disappointing, but rest of the dish was great. Halloumi was a highlight.

  • By Tim B from London
    1 February 2020

    Excellent as always

  • By Liz M from London
    29 December 2019

    As usual, great breakfast - full English with quality ingredients, great service.

  • By Kat A from London
    28 December 2019

    Lovely as always- delicious food and friendly staff!

  • By Dan B from London
    23 November 2019

    Excellent as always! We are very fortunate to live opposite Canvas & Cream so we can enjoy it regularly. The food, service, prices and ambience are all fantastic. Don’t change a thing! Thank you :)

  • By Katie S from LONDON
    14 November 2019

    We had a wonderful time. The new menu is lovely. The service is polite if a little slow. A great place for lunch in Forest Hill.

  • By D A from London
    19 October 2019

    There was great table service They did take a while to collect our plates They let us sit and wait until we were ready to leave

  • By Andrew T from London
    20 July 2019

    Friendly staff, interesting spaces including quaint garden and art gallery all part of the same entity. Hearty, tasty food

  • By Sheena W from London
    26 May 2019

    We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff at the door and given the option of indoors or outside seating. We chose the gardena dn were given a choice of seats. Service was great, attentive but not annoying, and our drinks and food came quickly. The food (halloumi breakfast and bubble and squeak with bacon) was delicious and the eggs were cooked just as requested. The coffee was great but a little small. The staff made no fuss when we asked to move inside and were shown to some armchairs for some post-food relaxation. All in all a really lovely experience.

  • By Laura O from London
    27 April 2019

    I love how the restaurant felt like home, all warm and cozy. Loved the decorations and varied tables. I loved that the tea came in different tea cups. The food was yummy. I had the French Toast with Bacon and my husband had the American Pancakes and sausage. The French Toast was a little too soggy for my liking - but still delicious. And as an America, what you are calling American Pancakes are sort of close but not quite. I would love to bake you batch of fluffy buttermilk pancakes so that you would know the difference. But no worries, we ate the pancakes all up. The only sad thing about my experience is that it took forever to get you check. Our guy seem to disappear and get stuck making coffees for everyone. Another kind lady helped us out.