map placeholder

Caldesi in Campagna

Old Mill Lane, Bray, SL6 2BG

(((() Italian
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
Average
Main course: £14
Food spend: £40
Opening hours
Tuesday to Sunday: 12:00 - 15:00 & Tuesday to Saturday: 18:00 - 22:30

As always a pleasure to visit the restaurant

Dennis Hensby 08 September 2017
from Windsor

View all 266 reviews

A vibrant Italian eatery, Caldesi in Campagna is home to crackling log fires and a rustic wood burning oven. In the picturesque garden, diners can enjoy a luxury al fresco dinner.

With an abundance of Italian flavours, the Caldesi in Campagna menu features scrumptious fresh pappardelle pasta with Tuscan pork sausage &fennel seed ragu, along with homemade wild sea bass ravioli finished with a delicious lemon butter sauce. There is also an enticing Tuscan seafood stew, as well as mouth-watering wild boar marinated in red wine, and slow cooked in tomato sauce.

In a homely setting, Caldesi in Campagna Italian restaurant in Berkshire features exposed red brick fireplaces and a gallery of pictures dedicated to its Tuscan inspiration. The garden at Caldesi Italian restaurant is complete with rustic barrels and chic parasols for the summer.

In rural surroundings, Caldesi in Campagna Italian restaurant in Bray is situated on Old Mill Lane. Maidenhead Rail Station is a 9-minute drive away.

Caldesi in Campagna

Old Mill Lane, Bray, SL6 2BG

Contact +44 1628788500
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Berkshire

See all restaurants in Bray

Customer reviews for Caldesi in Campagna

4.7 (((() (based on 266 reviews)
96% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (203)
  • lunch (156)
  • romantic (132)
  • luxury (91)
  • private dining (84)
  • business (70)
  • al fresco (46)
  • large parties (38)
  • child friendly (37)
  • value (33)
  • entertainment (26)
  • trendy (10)
  • views (6)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • breakfast (2)
  • ((((( 29 May 2017 by Philip S from London

    We had a wonderful lunch in the beautiful garden. Amazing good and excellent Service.

  • ((((( 27 May 2017 by Nick Edwards from Marlow

    Amazing food, great service and a lovely atmosphere

  • ((((( 26 May 2017 by Mike Stephenson from Stoke Poges

    Lovely lunch in the garden. Pea starter excellent, Amalfi lemon chicken for main and great cheese.

  • ((((( 25 May 2017 by Adi Stephen from Maidenhead

    We visited Caldesi for our 20th Wedding Anniversary and it didn't disappoint. The food, ambience and service was first class. Wouldn't hesitate to go again and recommend to friends.

  • ((((( 17 May 2017 by Keir Lusby from Bracknell

    We have been to Caldesi in Campagna many times. This time was for our 47th Wedding Anniversary and we were not dissapointed. It was a lovely experience and we are about to book again for my wife's birthday. Thank you.

  • ((((* 11 May 2017 by Phil Lawton from Ascot

    Sat in the pretty village of Bray, Caldesi in Campagna is housed in a lovely looking building; part country house, part Italian villa in appearance, though sadly no Tuscan vistas or Venetian waterways to look out upon. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpfully attentive throughout. Spread across three adjoining rooms with only a few tables in each section, the restaurant décor is light and homely, giving a cosy and intimate atmosphere. I get the impression that the menu changes regularly. There were about seven different options for each course, with the emphasis on quality, seasonal produce.
    We had scallops and a seafood tagliolini for starters and while my squid felt a little tough, the fresh pasta and depth of flavour from the tomato, herb and chilli sauce was fantastic. For mains, we had tortelli filled with aubergine and the fegato burro (pan-fried calf's liver) which was divine and definitely my favourite dish of the day! For dessert, we had the bitter chocolate cake served with a lovely passion fruit ice cream and the bomboloni (Italian doghnuts) served with shot glasses of vanilla custard and Sambuca and berry jam for dipping. Yum!
    Add on some still water, two glasses of wine each, a Frangelico and a coffee for £54 and you're looking at a total bill of £90 per person (inclusive of an automatically added 12.5% service charge) so it's not cheap, costing about the same as Tom Kerridge's 2-Michelin starred Hand & Flowers in nearby Marlow, but it's definitely worth treating yourself once in a while.
    A real slice of honest, Italian cuisine; raised to the level of fine dining and something I've not tried anywhere else. Some authentic Italian recipes, some given a twist, but always great combinations and bursting with great flavours. I'd definitely go back for a special occasion (if only just to have the fegato burro again), but I'm also considering signing up for one of their cookery courses...see if I can start creating some of this amazing food for myself!

  • ((((( 8 May 2017 by Lara Atkins from Windsor

    A fantastic Birthday lunch for my mother, gorgeous surroundings, attentive lovely staff, and fantastic food.

  • ((((( 2 May 2017 by Jane Fejer from Middlesex

    We arrived a little early and was greeted with a very warm welcome and drinks at the bar. The service was incredible and the food exceptional. We had the veal our friends the sea bass. The starters and choices were fantastic and the desserts to die for. Everything we choose was from the fixed price lunch menu. The setting was also very good with lots of good Italian black and white photos creating a very good atmosphere. We are going back

  • ((((* 30 April 2017 by Alessio Celant from Windsor

    Food is always excellent and staff very nice and efficient.

  • ((((( 30 April 2017 by Magdalena Hodkova from Bray

    Lovely restaurant in picturesque village, great Italian food with friendly and attentive service, fully recommended!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant