Reviews of Café Rouge - York

4.1
(based on 112 reviews)
The Adams House 52 Low Petergate, York, N Yorkshire, YO1 7HZ
112 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Helen P from Kingussie
    8 April 2019

    Excellent

  • By Alexander B from York
    16 February 2019

    Food was great, with a short wait time too. The restaurant is nice as well but we had a few problems. One of the chairs was broken but they swapped it for a newer one which was good. The table was wobbly and the poor staff looked incredibly stressed out. Maybe there were just a lot of people dining that night. Overall was a good restaurant though and I would go again.

  • By Helen S from kidderminster
    12 January 2019

    We waited for at least 15 minutes before being asked what drink we wanted. By the time we received our afternoon tea we had finished our drinks. Bearing in mind we had pre-booked so they knew what time it should have been ready for and i had a pot of tea which was finished before the meal came. When they bought the afternoon tea we asked for extra tea and coffee which never arrived so we had our meal without drinks. Nobody came to see if everything was ok, so when we had finished we stood at the bar to leave and eventually someone came to see us.

  • By Carol C from York
    25 December 2018

    Excellent food and service. We couldn't have asked for better especially on Christmas Day.

  • By Sarah H from York
    8 December 2018

    No greeting when entered restaurant just a rude “don’t stand there, a manager will be here soon”! Moules were powdery and served with no bread, chips soggy. Steak was ok, but no garnish at all! Couldn’t do a Croque salmon instead of ham? Wouldn’t go again.

  • By Stewart K from YORK
    8 December 2018

    Poor service. Grumpy waitress on arrival. Redeemed slightly by friendly waiter. Food delivered to wrong table and wasn't very hot. Last visit to Cafe Rouge for me. At least the price was reasonable and the starter was tasty.

  • By Paul S from Borders
    2 December 2018

    It was awful service. Over an hour until the food arrived! They had forgotten about us.

  • By Peter J from York
    22 October 2018

    Very good all round, service was Excellent, Emily our waitress was very attentive, polite and very friendly, always made sure we were okay. Shame they ran out of Minny Doughnuts.

  • By Peter R from York
    4 October 2018

    We had afternoon tea which happens to have been the best afternoon tea we’ve had everything was fresh the staff were very helpful. The only downside we got our coffee when we ordered so when the afternoon tea arrived we had to order more coffee

  • By Helen L from York
    23 August 2018

    Lovely afternoon tea