Café Rouge - Wellington Street

(227 Reviews)
34 Wellington Street Covent Garden, London, WC2E 7BD
French
View main menu

Top offer

Cheese Afternoon Tea £30 per person

£35 with wine, £30 without. Not valid with any other offer or promotion;can be used in conjunction with “£8.95 finish the bottle” of wine. Not valid at London Euston on any day. Not valid at 02, Cardiff or Edinburgh on event days.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Open from 09:00 to 23:00 Monday to Saturday, and 09:00 to 22:30 on Sunday.

Restaurant description

A stone's throw from both the Lyceum and Aldwych theatres, Café Rouge Wellington Street serves authentic French food in a prime London location.

Part of the UK-wide group of Café Rouge restaurants, a range of traditional French dishes such as steak frites, confit duck and beef bourgignon are on offer. Amongst the tempting lighter bites, try a tasty croque monsieur, breaded camembert with cranberry and redcurrant sauce, or a classic caesar salad. A good selection of French wines, many from lesser known producers, is on hand to accompany the dishes.

Breakfast at Café Rouge is also a classically French affair. Offering croissants, pain au chocolat and baguettes, as well as hot chocolate, tea and an array of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

A popular choice for pre or post-theatre dining, Covent Garden Café Rouge also boasts outdoor seating which provides the perfect spot to watch the world go by.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Wellington Street
3.9
(based on 227 reviews)

83%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (16)
  • al fresco (20)
  • breakfast (24)
  • business (30)
  • child friendly (47)
  • dinner (137)
  • entertainment (27)
  • large parties (34)
  • lunch (107)
  • luxury (4)
  • private dining (19)
  • romantic (54)
  • trendy (9)
  • value (58)
  • views (8)
  • By Colette B from Epsom
    30 November 2019

    The restaurant was very busy but service was very good, waiters all friendly and food was great. All in all a very good experience.

  • By Bob C C from London
    21 November 2019

    Good meal and friendly waitress. An enjoyable experience.

  • By Emma C from Watford
    13 October 2019

    The restaurant location was good as close proximity to where we were headed after eating. The deal was good value for money and the service was ok. My only problem was that the food was so obviously heated in a microwave that that ruined it for me and also that parts of it were stone cold. Would I eat there again? probably not!

  • By Amin R from London
    11 October 2019

    The moules marinieres and chicken caesar salad dish was delicious and so was the bread and butter pudding. Overall the food was amazingly good!!!

  • By Natalie B from London
    18 September 2019

    Had a lovely meal here, really enjoyed my starter of garlic mushrooms and my main of beef bourguignon. Service was quick - the bramble spritz cocktail was delicious!

  • By Kenneth P from Hampshire
    9 August 2019

    Great savory afternoon tea.

  • By Kim C from London
    10 July 2019

    Lovely location, staff were very friendly and attentive but not overpowering. Food was delicious and I will definitely be going back! I have been to Café Rouge before but other locations and I have never been disappointed but I particularly like the location of the Wellington Street one.

  • By Mo C from London
    7 March 2019

    Booking was easy. I had Steak and fries - very nice. My friend had a starter of avacardo and crab looked delicious which he said it was. The service was good too very nice man. When in London would go there again.

  • By Liz P from London
    22 February 2019

    Food was very ordinary and the souffle was a disaster.

  • By Karen C from Cambridge
    16 February 2019

    Our experience was 5* all the way Service,attentivness and food were all above our expectations.

Restaurant Location Map
Café Rouge - Wellington Street
34 Wellington Street Covent Garden, London, WC2E 7BD

Available offers

  • Cheese Afternoon Tea £30 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Le Restaurant de Paul

    Le Restaurant de Paul

    French
    (160 Reviews)
    295m
    Le Restaurant de Paul
  2. Brasserie Blanc - Chancery Lane
    696m
    Brasserie Blanc - Chancery Lane
  3. Ladurée - Covent Garden

    Ladurée - Covent Garden

    French
    (9 Reviews)
    182m
    Ladurée - Covent Garden
  4. Wild Honey St James

    Wild Honey St James

    French
    (2 Reviews)
    952m
    Wild Honey St James
  5. Café Rouge - Kingsway

    Café Rouge - Kingsway

    French
    (53 Reviews)
    443m
    Café Rouge - Kingsway