map placeholder

Café Rouge - Salisbury

Unit 1, 19 - 21 High Street, Salisbury, SP1 2NH

((((* French
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
  • Café Rouge - Salisbury - Wiltshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 08:00 - 22:00
Friday & Saturday: 08:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:00

Well prepared meal with excellent service

Derrick 28 February 2018
from Salisbury

View all 39 reviews

Situated on the High Street of this historic city, Café Rouge - Salisbury serves delicious French bistro-style cuisine in a cosy and welcoming ambience. The restaurant is close to the river, and just beside Old George Mall.

As part of the nationwide group of Café Rouge restaurants, this branch offers their range of classic French dishes such as confit duck, beef bourguignon, steak frites and mussels. Smaller dishes are also on offer for a lighter bite. Particularly good value for money are the set menus for lunch and dinner (available most days). To accompany the food there is also a good range of French wines, many from less well known producers.

In true French style, breakfast is also an important meal at Café Rouge. With croissants, pain au chocolat, omelettes and croques, as well as hot chocolate, tea and all types of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

Café Rouge - Salisbury is a 10-minute walk from Salisbury Rail Station.

Café Rouge - Salisbury

Unit 1, 19 - 21 High Street, Salisbury, SP1 2NH

Contact +44 1722330417
Website

Make a booking

See all Café Rouge Restaurants

See all restaurants in Wiltshire

See all restaurants in Salisbury

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Salisbury

3.8 ((((* (based on 39 reviews)
74% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (21)
  • lunch (21)
  • value (14)
  • al fresco (7)
  • child friendly (7)
  • private dining (7)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • large parties (4)
  • romantic (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • business (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • ((((* 20 December 2015 by Sarah from Salisbury

    The Christmas lunch menu was very tasty. However, the salad noisette was really disappointing...not as described no green beans and at best canned tuna...not tasty and over priced for what it was

  • ((((( 17 December 2015 by Jacqueline from Salisbury

    Very good waitress excellent service

  • ((*** 16 December 2015 by Christopher from Salisbury

    Very disappointing and very expensive! We often use Cafe Rouge, but lunch for three this Sunday cost almost sixty pounds and was anything but a treat. The server was very willing and apologetic, so he was an asset, and the starters and dessert were fine. However, the service was unbelievably slow at every stage, and the main course was a real let down, with burnt carrots and sprouts. I also thought the pigs in blankets were very unpleasant tasting but that may be just a matter of taste. My husband left most of his meal, and he is not at all picky. We have enjoyed food here before, though the service is always on the slow side: this time we waited at least forty minutes for our cold, already plated starters, and there's no excuse for that surely?

  • ((((( 14 December 2015 by Arlette from Poole

    We booked a table for two on what was a very, very busy Saturday in December and the service was superb, considering the staff were rushed off their feet. We went for the quick menu and the food was up to the usual delicious standard and our waiter was extremely personable and efficient. Plain, simple, tasty, French brasserie cooking (we had the onion soup and roast chicken). This is a formula which works well, every time.

  • ((((( 10 December 2015 by Peter from Salisbury

    Classy decor. Generous portions.

  • ((((( 29 November 2015 by Anne from Southampton

    Excellent table by window, quiet restaurant (we arrived early for lunch), beautiful meals (beef bourginon and poulet) good drinks (I had the lemon), polite staff, clean facilities. Very pleased overall, and we will be back!

  • ((((* 17 November 2015 by Anne from Sligo

    Great menu choice, ideal for family meal. Quick & friendly service

  • ((((( 17 November 2015 by Kevin from shenfield

    nice food,

  • ((((* 6 November 2015 by Cathy from Shaftesbury

    My sister and I had lunch recently at Cafe Rouge in Salisbury. It was very busy but we only had a short wait for our table (we had reserved). We were served promptly by a very friendly waitress. We both chose the 5oz rump steak with French fries. It was cooked just as we'd asked, medium rare. It was very good. Afterwards we each had a dessert. My sister had a creme brulee with raspberry/black pepper sorbet. She liked the creme brulee but wasn't wild about the sorbet with black pepper. I had a delicious tarte tartin with creme fraiche. Afterwards we each had an expresso coffee. We thought the prices were reasonable and the steak dish good value at £12. Considering that the restaurant was very busy (it was a Friday) we were impressed at how promptly we were served and enjoyed our lunch there a lot.
    We were given a corner table, for which we were grateful. I suspect we might not have enjoyed our meal quite so much if we'd had a table in a noisier part of the restaurant, but that is just our prererence - after all, we're no longer young and lively.

  • (((** 3 November 2015 by Richard from Andover

    No Non alcoholic beer available. We had a theatre ticket and told the waitress we had just one hour for two courses. She seemed horrified and said"it may not be possible on a Saturday" looking around there were only seven occupied tables. Our main course arrived as we were still eating our starters!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant