Café Rouge - Salford Quays

(129 Reviews)
Unit G40B The Lowry Outlet Mall Salford Quays, Manchester, M50 3AZ
French
View main menu

Top offer

Cheese Afternoon Tea £30 per person

£35 with wine, £30 without. Not valid with any other offer or promotion;can be used in conjunction with “£8.95 finish the bottle” of wine. Not valid at London Euston on any day. Not valid at 02, Cardiff or Edinburgh on event days.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Restaurant description

Overlooking the Lowry, Café Rouge Salford Quays serves good value French cuisine in a prime Manchester location. With a terrace al fresco dining area, Café Rouge’s cosy interior complete with red banquettes has an authentic French atmosphere.

As part of the nationwide group of Café Rouge restaurants, this branch offers their range of classic French dishes such as confit duck, beef bourguignon, steak frites and mussels. Smaller dishes are also on offer for a lighter bite. Particularly good value for money are the set menus for lunch and dinner (available most days). To accompany the food there is also a good range of French wines, many from less well known producers.

In true French style, breakfast is also an important meal at Café Rouge. With croissants, pain au chocolat, omelettes and croques, as well as hot chocolate, tea and all types of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

A good choice for pre or post-theatre dining, Café Rouge Salford Quays offers affordable French cuisine in relaxed surroundings.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Salford Quays
4.0
(based on 129 reviews)

87%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (8)
  • al fresco (17)
  • breakfast (9)
  • business (12)
  • child friendly (22)
  • dinner (80)
  • entertainment (12)
  • large parties (13)
  • lunch (55)
  • luxury (4)
  • private dining (10)
  • romantic (24)
  • trendy (12)
  • value (39)
  • views (3)
  • By Esta C from `Salford
    4 December 2019

    It was delightful....

  • By victoria B from salford quays
    29 November 2019

    Staff were lovely very friendly Food lovely

  • By Richard H from Manchester
    12 October 2019

    Last minute booking and glad we did - there were 7 of us and all enjoyed the evening. Staff pleasant and welcoming and food lovely. Will definitely go again.

  • By Jean D from BOLTON
    3 October 2019

    Excellent meal and service. The choice of food was excellent and the service was perfect

  • By Aberdeen Angus B from Leeds
    19 January 2019

    Pleasant surroundings and friendly service. The standard Café Rouge menu was available but it took 55 minutes for the first (and only) course to be served. One person's salad was good but a beef bourgignon was congealed and sticky and another person's burger was dry and slightly over cooked.

  • By David M from Ribchester
    17 November 2018

    The evening started well. We had tried to book a table for 5.30, leaving plenty of time before the opera at the Lowry at 7.30, but the web-site offered us 5.45. We arrived at Cafe Rouge a few minutes early but a friendly staff member was able to find us a table. We were soon enjoying a drink and we placed the order for a two course meal in the first instance. The starters were brought to the table after only a short delay. After our plates had been removed, we then had to endure a three quarter of an hour delay before our main courses arrived. It was particularly frustrating that diners at near-by tables were being served even though they had arrived later than us. What was to have been a relaxed dinner became something of a scramble and we decided not to risk ordering desserts and coffee for fear of missing the start of the show. I should add that the staff were duly apologetic for the long delay and our bill was reduced by £10 by way of compensation. I cannot write that the Cafe Rouge experience spoiled our evening: it just took the edge of our initial enjoyment.

  • By Helen M from Preston
    3 November 2018

    All of the dishes were lovely, especially the desserts. The customer service was spot on.

  • By Anthony H from Salford Quays
    17 September 2018

    Prompt friendly service and good food

  • By Sue S from Tamworth
    29 April 2018

    we arrived 30 minutes early, and got seated without a problem, as the restaurant was less than half full. we ordered starters, they took about 15 minutes to come, however they mixed up the order, so 4 of us had to eat and were almost finished when the 5th arrived. The main course took 1 hour 15 minutes to arrive, no explanations or apologies untill we chased it twice. As we were on a deadline, this was quite stressful, and spoiled the occasion. We were offered free desserts, but we didn't have the time left to accept them, but they did take £20 off the bill. We would rather have had the meal on time.

  • By Adrian B from Warrington
    28 December 2017

    Overall the food was good but it was the detail that let them down. The camonbert starter had far too little fruit sauce. The pulled pork burger lacked impact and the Eton mess had no raspberries or coulis. Luckily the service was incredible and saved the meal experience.

Restaurant Location Map
Café Rouge - Salford Quays
Unit G40B The Lowry Outlet Mall Salford Quays, Manchester, M50 3AZ