Reviews of Café Rouge - Loughton

3.6
(based on 41 reviews)
179-181 High Road, Loughton, Essex, IG10 4LF
41 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Peter F from London
    22 November 2019

    Better than expected esp as I had a Wowvjer

  • By Donna W from Carshalton
    7 June 2019

    A good choice of food and drinks. I asked for my steak to be cooked medium. It came up the same as my husbands who asked for his to be rare to medium. The waitress did offer to have it flashed fried, but I di not want to wait any longer. Consequently I did struggle with eating it. The mushrooms which I ordered as a side were sparse and soggy. However the wine that we chose was acceptable. This restaurant was overpriced for the quality of the food that we received. If you struggle with stairs it is a hike up to the toilets. I am sure that there is a disable one if needed.

  • By Natasha F from London
    17 February 2019

    Lovely dishes, lovely staff and a lovely day and atmosphere in general.

  • By Pam C from LOUGHTON
    16 October 2018

    Eat here quite a lot and find the vouchers very useful. They always do a good steak. Have a nice sunny garden to enjoy if just with a glass of wine.

  • By Andrea H from Loughton
    25 September 2018

    Lovely afternoon tea. Prosecco was lovely as was the scones and cakes. Could have been offered more tea. Waitress was bit unsure about the deal. Prehaps she should have asked for the details and code.

  • By Barry F from HARLOW-ESSEX
    30 June 2018

    A Cafe Rouge meal for two was purchased as a present through Buyagift.com. We had made our minds up what to have through the menu section online. However, when we presented the voucher, we were informed that we have to choose from another menu. I ordered Moules, but was then informed they were off. Not impressed.

  • By Pat P from Loughton
    19 January 2018

    Good experience this time, sometimes hit and miss. Food enjoyable apart from very undercooked vegetables. Young waiter Jack lovely.

  • By Michael S from Loughton
    9 December 2017

    Not impressed. Initial waitress was lovely then she disappeared without letting us know. Then we were served by whoever was passing at the time. Food was meagre. My companion asked for salmon to be well cooked but it wasn't. She also asked for vegetables to be separate from the salmon but the salmon was placed on top of the vegetables. The salmon was sent back and returned still unsatisfactory. A side order of roast butternut squash and beetroot was served looking as if it had been dropped! The restaurant was not very full and we became the only diners left. It was hard to hear my companions over the laughing and shouting from the remaining waiters who were obviously bored and waiting to go home. Not what I would call value for money at all! Big disappointment.

  • By Coral D from London
    25 August 2017

    Went for lunch and wasn't too busy so very relaxed and enjoyed the meal always had good food at this restaurant

  • By Sharon M from Loughton
    18 April 2017

    We went for breakfast with the family, we also went the week before. Sadly both times there weren't enough pastries - no almond croissant and then not enough pain au chocolate. The first week I had three pieces of bacon with our pancakes, yesterday we only got two. Plates were cold which makes breakfast cold - my husbands eggs were cold. We didn't say anything as we didn't want to have to wait. Drinks are always lukewarm. Service was great the first week, yesterday was ok. We do love Cafe Rouge so will continue to go there and with a few tweaks it can be lovely.