Reviews of Café Rouge - Hertford

4.2
(based on 69 reviews)
3 Parliament Square, Hertford, Herts., SG14 1EX
69 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Steve W from Wareside
    6 December 2019

    Consistent as normal with a particularly good server in Jayde, efficient and fun. Good value for money.

  • By Jane B from Cheshunt.
    15 August 2018

    Always love going to Cafe Rouge. Nice staff and good food.

  • By William W from Bishop's Stortford
    7 June 2018

    Staff were eager for us to leave as we were the last in the restaurant by 21:30.Not very professional.

  • By Geoff G from Aston Stevenage
    14 January 2018

    We enjoyed this latest visit to CR making use of the 50% discount vouchers we had been given at our previous CR visit (Bury St Edmunds). The on-line booking was smooth but I needed to check one point on the phone re the validity of my voucher. On our visit I realised that this had been resolved by the manager himself who was charming, helpful and rather impressively remembered speaking to me on the phone. The staff who served us were also very pleasant, attentive and helpful. Couldn't fault them. We like eatling at CR generally and have visited a number locally. Because of the design they all can be a little draughty if you dine near the door. On this occasion we were given a choice and sat at the far end of the restaurant although midway through our meal a rather noisy party took the next table which rather destroyed the ambience of our romantic meal with their unnecessarily loud conversation. The menu provides a very good choice of breakfast, lunch or dinner and would be excellent any time of the day. The meal was unrushed but we felt there was a slightly long wait for attention after the main course, i.e. ordering and waiting for dessert and paying the bill. I like to have the bill promptly after it's clear we have finished eating without asking for it. I like the waitressing staff to ask if I would like the bill rather than having to chase this up. That can be frustrating and delay the end of even a leisurely meal. Overall we loved what we had and will certainly be returning in the next month. CR has become one of our preferred places to eat and whilst each one is slightly different the standards are consistent and without hesitation I recommend a visit.

  • By Jean D from Hertford
    11 November 2017

    As usual we had a very pleasant time at the Hertford restaurant on Saturday - the staff are very good and we like the atmosphere of the restaurant generally. We had your lovely sharing board to start and then both had boullliabase which is a treat as it would take ages to make at home. Everything was fin e.

  • By Lee C from Hertford
    26 August 2017

    Good menu selection, including vegetarian. Nice ambience, helpful staff.

  • By Sue B from Harlow
    27 July 2017

    Food was exceptional service quick and friendly

  • By Jo H from Hertford
    22 June 2017

    Lovely lunch with a friend. No pressure regarding time ( although it was a midweek lunch). Food was tasty and presented well. Staff efficient. Value for money. Nice wine!

  • By Sue S from Hertford
    7 April 2017

    Lovely food great server Jacob (Leo) x

  • By Ana G from Hertford
    26 March 2017

    Lovely staff, lovely service.