Reviews of Café Rouge - Exeter

4.1
(based on 130 reviews)
UNIT MSU5 24 Bedford Street Princesshay, Exeter, Devon, EX1 1LL
130 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Tree P from Exeter
    31 October 2019

    Yes it’s the 2nd time we have been here food was ok staff wasn’t all that friendly, not much food Choice on the 2 for one offer as I’m gluten-free and can’t have any spices it was very hard ; but order then that it was ok ;

  • By Oliver B from Exeter
    8 January 2019

    Food was brilliant, service wasn’t up there. I liked being able to add to burgers etc... however it was my girlfriends birthday, the pudding was messed up and nobody came over to explain we were sat for rather a long time with no insight to what was happening

  • By Eileen T from Exeter
    24 December 2018

    Original table was right by the door and this made us very cold. Given that we had booked we could have been better placed. Others with no booking were coming in and getting more suitable tables. However we were found a better spot after requesting to move.

  • By Kevin F from Exeter
    18 December 2018

    Fantastic once again. Staff very professional and attentive. Food exceptional value.

  • By Patricia W from Exeter
    13 December 2018

    Had s lovely meal. Service was great. We go to Cafe Rouge every year when we go to Exeter for our shopping trip because the food is good and we can use Tesco vouchers. Had the sharing platter to start which was good.

  • By Linda W from Paignton
    11 December 2018

    Welcoming atmosphere,excellent food and service

  • By Valorie M from Exeter
    15 October 2018

    The restaurant was very busy but we were still given a choice of table and a friendly welcome. Even though two of the main course choices were unavailable we had a most enjoyable meal and the trout pate was especially delicious. Mimi our waitress was attentive but not intrusive and the experience was altogether a happy choice. Hadn't been to Café Rouge for many years but will certainly go back again soon. The ambience was close to that in a Paris bistro so really enjoyed our visit. Just one thought, the tables were quite close to each other so it might not be east for those harder of hearing to converse comfortably.

  • By Lynne H from Exeter
    11 October 2018

    Very relaxed. Great service and quiet enough to able to enjoy our conversation.

  • By Holly H from Bampton
    29 August 2018

    Always love the fish dishes - please bring back bouillabaisse!

  • By Pippa & jez S from Exeter
    19 August 2018

    Great atmosphere. Varied menu. Friendly professional service. I had Confit de Canard (duck) and it was amazing. Authentic French flavours. Lots of offers on line too. 10 out of 10