Café Rouge - Coventry

(71 Reviews)
No. 2, Belgrade Plaza, Coventry, CV1 4AJ
French, European
View main menu

Top offer

Cheese Afternoon Tea £30 per person

£35 with wine, £30 without. Not valid with any other offer or promotion;can be used in conjunction with “£8.95 finish the bottle” of wine. Not valid at London Euston on any day. Not valid at 02, Cardiff or Edinburgh on event days.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Restaurant description

With tasty continental fare served all day, Café Rouge brings its relaxed brasserie-style dining to Coventry. Ideal to pop in for a leisurely breakfast or light lunch, Café Rouge also offers decadent evening meals and an impressive choice of wines.

As part of the nationwide group of Café Rouge restaurants, this branch offers their range of classic French dishes such as confit duck, beef bourguignon, steak frites and mussels. Smaller dishes are also on offer for a lighter bite. Particularly good value for money are the set menus for lunch and dinner (available most days). To accompany the food there is also a good range of French wines, many from less well known producers.

In true French style, breakfast is also an important meal at Café Rouge. With croissants, pain au chocolat, omelettes and croques, as well as hot chocolate, tea and all types of coffees, it makes a great start to the day.

In the smart surroundings of Belgrade Plaza, Café Rouge in Coventry is conveniently located for dining before or after a show at the Belgrade Theatre. Coventry Train Station is a 4-minute drive away.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Café Rouge - Coventry
4.1
(based on 71 reviews)

87%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (6)
  • al fresco (7)
  • breakfast (9)
  • business (10)
  • child friendly (16)
  • dinner (53)
  • entertainment (2)
  • large parties (17)
  • lunch (34)
  • luxury (2)
  • private dining (11)
  • romantic (11)
  • trendy (7)
  • value (16)
  • By Pauline R from leicestershire
    18 January 2019

    Booking rang to make sure we were coming as we were a big party - i mentioned it was my friends 50th birthday and they looked after us brilliantly.

  • By David P from Coventry
    22 October 2018

    restaurant was quiet, as was Monday night, good food great service

  • By Jaswin M from Coventry
    2 April 2018

    Enjoyed the food and service very much!

  • By Ellen L from Coventry
    29 March 2018

    A very nice set price menu. Couldn't resist the dessert so added

  • By Mair S from Coventry
    23 March 2018

    We have eaten at Cafe Rouge many many times and have always enjoyed the food,the ambience. However this time we were very disappointed indeed. The menu had been changed with no escargots, no soufflé. I had the duck and it was poor compared with previous visits. The service was not good either. I had to ask three times for a water glass and the service was very slow . We were very disapponted

  • By Linda J from Coventry
    17 February 2018

    I reserved a table for 3 people at 12:30pm on Saturday 17th February 2018, and we arrived on time. The booth that we were shown to had a red blanket across the seats, how odd we thought, picked the blanket up and the seats were worn through and should have been reupholstered months ago. We were asked if we wanted a drink, I said yes and chose a glass of Pinot however, they had none, they also didn't have Sauvingnon Blanc which was my 2nd choice. I was offered an alternative which I excepted. We then ordered our meal, which took 35 minutes to arrive. Whilst waiting for the plates to be cleared and to be offered the sweet menu we spotted our waitress going out the door with her jacket on, we thought she must have finished her shift, however she returned about 10 minutes later? Whilst our waitress was out we asked another member of staff for a sweet menu, and as it was now 13:30pm enquired if we would have enough time to order a sweet as we had a theatre booking at 2pm at the theatre next door to the restaurant. We were assured that we would have time, at 13:45pm no-one came to take our order, so we paid the bill and left. The whole experience was very disappointing and it wasn't even that the restaurant was full and there were plenty of staff milling around.

  • By Hayley B from Coventry
    10 February 2018

    Me and my partner dined with you on Saturday evening. Our table was booked for 6.30 which was not ready when we arrived so we were left waiting by the door until it was ready. Although the meal was very enjoyable once it eventually arrived we did wait nearly an hour for our meal. We found the service provided was very poor. However the waitress did offer us a dessert free of charge because of our long wait for our main meal. We also found that the service for drinks was very slow. The restaurant itself is lovely and pleasant and our waitress was friendly. Just unfortunately it seems nobody really rushes to keep customers happy.

  • By Ina M from Coventry
    27 January 2018

    Excellent...always! Delicious food, whatever you choose. Very drinkable house red and attentive friendly staff. Always a relaxing and enhoyable dining experience here.

  • By julie B from Coventry
    26 January 2018

    amazing

  • By Shelley H from Coventry
    13 January 2018

    Was our first experience eating at cafe rouge my husband and brother in law birthday treat ) Waited a long time for food to be served, table at 5.15, food came an hour later , 1 meal sent back , Steak was luke warm, grisly and tough.. took a while for 2nd steak to come, by then we had eaten our meals so my husband then had to eat on his own while we waited for him, we were booked in the belgrade theatre for 7 pm which we ended up being late to sit. The bill came to £132 including drinks, and most disappointing experience for us all.

Restaurant Location Map
Café Rouge - Coventry
No. 2, Belgrade Plaza, Coventry, CV1 4AJ

Available offers

  • Cheese Afternoon Tea £30 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Harvester - Skydome

    Harvester - Skydome

    British
    (6 Reviews)
    364m
    Harvester - Skydome
  2. Queens Road Mediterranean Kitchen

    Queens Road Mediterranean Kitchen

    Mediterranean
    (34 Reviews)
    601m
    Queens Road Mediterranean Kitchen
  3. Zizzi - Coventry

    Zizzi - Coventry

    Italian
    (2 Reviews)
    491m
    Zizzi - Coventry
  4. Bella Italia - Coventry

    Bella Italia - Coventry

    Italian
    (207 Reviews)
    197m
    Bella Italia - Coventry
  5. Miller & Carter - Coventry

    Miller & Carter - Coventry

    Steaks & Grills
    (74 Reviews)
    3.1km
    Miller & Carter - Coventry